SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Murphy USA Inc.

MUSA · Consumer discretionary (retail-auto dealers & gasoline stations) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Murphy USA Inc. reported revenue of $19.4 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 3.7% from 2016. Of the $6.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 63.0% went to buybacks and 49.0% back into the business; the share count fell 50.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 3.81 is in the safe zone; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 19.4B +5.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin 3.7% gross margin —
Return on invested capital —  
Free cash flow after stock pay 345.7M 1.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA — net debt —
Piotroski F-score 5/7 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue-6.1%+11.5%+5.9%
Operating income-9.5%+5.1%+7.1%
Net income-11.2%+4.0%+8.7%
Earnings per share-5.0%+13.0%+17.6%
Free cash flow per share-12.7%+11.2%+29.3%
Dividend per share+19.4%+55.5%—
Shares-6.6%-7.9%-7.6%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital Cost of capital today · 10.2%

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
75.5%
Return on assets
10.0%
Asset turnover
4.10×
Overheads (SG&A)
1.2% of revenue

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025

6.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 49% 3.0B
  • Acquisitions 11% 641.1M
  • Dividends 3% 175.8M
  • Share buybacks 63% 3.8B
  • More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -25% -1.5B

Over the same years it paid 154.5M in stock. The share count fell 50.7%. 3.7B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
6× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.80 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 5d

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

5of 7 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before failed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reported no data
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before passed
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before failed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

3.81safe zone
  • Working capital ÷ assets -0.04 × 6.56-0.25
  • Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.88 × 3.26+2.88
  • Operating income ÷ assets 0.15 × 6.72+1.02
  • Equity ÷ liabilities 0.15 × 1.05+0.16

Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +11.5% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

no interest line: the risk-free rate + 1.5 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 22.8%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

Value per share, with these assumptions $346.30 discounted at 10.2% a year · 52% of it from after year 10
$-21.0980% of 5,000 simulations$765.51
Cautious $222.41 7.5% growth · 1.5% margin · 11.2% discount · 2.0% forever
Your assumptions $346.30 11.5% growth · 1.8% margin · 10.2% discount · 2.5% forever
Generous $564.32 15.5% growth · 2.1% margin · 9.2% discount · 3.0% forever

Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.

What the value implies, in the usual multiples

At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings14.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA6.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue0.3×
Free cash flow yield5.1%

From cash flows to a value per share

10 years of cash flow, today3.3B
Everything after, today3.5B
The whole business6.8B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders6.8B

Divided among 19.5M shares: <strong>$346.30</strong> each.

The projection next to its history

Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.

ReportedProjected
Year by year
2026202720282029203020312032203320342035
Revenue21.6B23.9B26.2B28.4B30.5B32.5B34.3B35.8B37.1B38.0B
Growth11.5%10.5%9.5%8.5%7.5%6.5%5.5%4.5%3.5%2.5%
Cash margin1.8%1.8%1.8%1.8%1.8%1.8%1.8%1.8%1.8%1.8%
Free cash flow393.2M434.5M475.8M516.2M555.0M591.0M623.5M651.6M674.4M691.3M
Worth today356.9M358.0M355.8M350.4M341.9M330.5M316.5M300.2M282.1M262.4M

If the least-known inputs move

Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.

The discount rate and growth forever

discount ↓ · forever →1.5%2.0%2.5%3.0%3.5%
9.2% 358 378 401 428 460
9.7% 335 352 372 395 421
10.2% 314 329 346 366 388
10.7% 296 309 324 341 360
11.2% 280 291 304 319 335

Year-one growth and the final margin

margin ↓ · growth →7.5%9.5%11.5%13.5%15.5%
1.5% 251 272 294 317 342
1.6% 273 296 320 346 374
1.8% 295 320 346 375 405
2.0% 318 344 373 404 437
2.2% 340 368 399 432 468

All the inputs moving at once

5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.

Half of the simulations land between <b>$152.83</b> and <b>$559.80</b>; one in ten below $-21.09, one in ten above $765.51.

Does the long run make sense?

  • 4.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 4.7 times that year's EBITDA.
  • 7%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 36% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 7% on the new capital.
  • 52%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
The discount rate, taken apart
  1. What shareholders demand (CAPM): 5.17% risk-free + 1.00 beta × 5.0% premium = <strong>10.17%</strong>.
  2. What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 22.8%) = <strong>5.15%</strong>.
  3. Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$604,7962 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines30 awards · 2 option exercises · 0 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
3 Sep 2026 Bartko Eric J.SVP & Chief Customer Officer Sold on the open market 100 $523.60 $52,360 252
20 Aug 2026 Turner RosemaryDirector Sold on the open market 966 $571.88 $552,436 449
17 Aug 2026 Turner RosemaryDirector Exercised options 617 — — 966
17 Aug 2026 Turner RosemaryDirector Exercised options 449 — — 1,415
11 Aug 2026 Keyes James WDirector Gave as a gift 2,000 — — 13,366

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Which large funds report holding it

From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.

FundSharesValueShare of the fundSince the quarter before
Norges Bank (Norway's sovereign fund) 30 Jun 2026 275,214 $148.3M 0.0% New
Bridgewater Associates 30 Jun 2026 24,628 $13.3M 0.1% Added to
Tudor Investment 30 Jun 2026 8,074 $4.4M 0.0% New

All the funds and what they reported ›

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (retail-auto dealers & gasoline stations) first, then the rest of consumer discretionary.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue11.6B12.8B14.4B14.0B11.3B17.4B23.4B21.5B20.2B19.4B
Revenue growth—+10.6%+12.0%-2.3%-19.7%+54.1%+35.1%-8.2%-6.0%-4.2%
Operating income388.1M283.3M325.1M268.5M559.0M604.0M968.4M826.0M742.9M718.5M
Net income221.5M245.3M213.6M154.8M386.1M396.9M672.9M556.8M502.5M470.6M
Margins
Gross margin83.0%84.5%————————
Operating margin3.3%2.2%2.3%1.9%5.0%3.5%4.1%3.8%3.7%3.7%
Net margin1.9%1.9%1.5%1.1%3.4%2.3%2.9%2.6%2.5%2.4%
Free cash flow margin0.6%0.2%1.4%0.8%3.0%2.7%2.9%2.1%1.9%1.9%
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue1.1%1.1%0.9%1.0%1.5%1.1%1.0%1.1%1.2%1.2%
Cash
Free cash flow75.3M25.3M194.4M108.5M333.0M462.7M689.4M448.4M389.5M374.3M
Stock-based pay9.3M7.5M9.2M10.5M14.3M14.4M16.0M21.8M22.9M28.6M
Free cash flow after stock pay66.0M17.8M185.2M98.0M318.7M448.3M673.4M426.6M366.6M345.7M
Free cash flow to the firm80.6M64.9M230.6M112.6M306.8M357.1M539.6M442.2M370.6M373.1M
Free cash flow ÷ net income0.3×0.1×0.9×0.7×0.9×1.2×1.0×0.8×0.8×0.8×
Capex ÷ revenue2.3%2.0%1.4%1.5%2.0%1.6%1.3%1.6%2.3%2.3%
Returns
Return on invested capital——————————
Return on equity31.8%33.2%26.5%19.3%49.2%49.2%105.0%67.2%59.8%75.5%
Return on assets10.6%10.5%9.0%5.8%14.4%9.8%16.3%12.8%11.1%10.0%
Asset turnover5.6×5.5×6.1×5.2×4.2×4.3×5.7×5.0×4.5×4.1×
Economic profit——————————
Per share
Earnings per share$5.59$6.78$6.48$4.86$13.08$14.92$28.10$25.49$24.11$24.10
Free cash flow per share$1.90$0.70$5.89$3.41$11.28$17.39$28.78$20.53$18.69$19.17
Dividend per share——$0.00$0.00$0.23$1.03$1.25$1.53$1.77$2.13
Payout ratio——0.0%0.0%1.8%6.9%4.4%6.0%7.3%8.8%
Book value per share$17.58$20.42$24.48$25.21$26.56$30.34$26.75$37.95$40.31$31.93
Diluted shares39.6M36.2M33.0M31.9M29.5M26.6M23.9M21.8M20.8M19.5M
Balance sheet
Net debt——————————
Net debt ÷ EBITDA——————————
Interest coverage9.8×6.1×6.1×4.9×10.9×7.3×11.4×8.4×7.7×6.5×
Current ratio1.0×1.2×1.2×1.4×1.2×1.1×0.9×0.9×0.8×0.8×
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—665556545
Altman Z''2.952.923.393.274.183.123.753.923.743.81
Beneish M—-2.43-3.05-1.52——————

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.