CPRT · Consumer discretionary(retail-auto dealers & gasoline stations) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-07-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Copart Inc reported revenue of $4.6 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 13.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 31.9% in 2017 to 36.5%. Of the $9.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 40.7% went back into the business; the share count rose 3.1%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 17.96 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20254.6B+13.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin36.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—22.7% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.2B25.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
4-for-1 before fiscal 2021.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Revenue 1.4BOperating income 461.3M
2018Revenue 1.8BOperating income 584.3M
2018
2019Revenue 2.0BOperating income 716.5M
2020Revenue 2.2BOperating income 816.1M
2021Revenue 2.7BOperating income 1.1B
2022Revenue 3.5BOperating income 1.4B
2023Revenue 3.9BOperating income 1.5B
2024Revenue 4.2BOperating income 1.6B
2025Revenue 4.6BOperating income 1.7B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+9.9%
+16.1%
+13.8%
Operating income
+7.3%
+15.8%
+15.6%
Net income
+12.5%
+17.3%
+16.5%
Earnings per share
+12.0%
+16.7%
+16.1%
Free cash flow per share
+13.1%
+29.8%
+15.8%
Shares
+0.4%
+0.5%
+0.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2017Return on invested capital 23.9%
2018Return on invested capital 21.9%
2018
2019Return on invested capital 27.6%
2020Return on invested capital 24.7%
2021Return on invested capital 24.1%
2022Return on invested capital 24.2%
2023Return on invested capital 19.7%
2024
2025
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2017Economic profit 237.4M
2018Economic profit 232.8M
2018
2019Economic profit 379.8M
2020Economic profit 419.4M
2021Economic profit 549.1M
2022Economic profit 647.4M
2023Economic profit 573.7M
2024
2025
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
16.9%
Return on assets
15.4%
Asset turnover
0.46×
Overheads (SG&A)
8.7% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2017Net income 394.2MFree cash flow 319.9MAfter stock-based pay 299.0M
2018Net income 417.9MFree cash flow 247.2MAfter stock-based pay 223.9M
2018
2019Net income 591.7MFree cash flow 272.8MAfter stock-based pay 249.3M
2020Net income 699.9MFree cash flow 325.9MAfter stock-based pay 302.6M
2021Net income 936.5MFree cash flow 527.9MAfter stock-based pay 487.0M
2022Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 839.2MAfter stock-based pay 800.3M
2023Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 847.6MAfter stock-based pay 807.9M
2024Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 961.6MAfter stock-based pay 926.3M
2025Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
9.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 41%3.8B
Acquisitions 3%294.9M
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 4%365.0M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 52%4.9B
Over the same years it paid 283.6M in stock. The share count rose 3.1%. 81.4M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$0.50$1.00$1.50$2.00
2017Earnings per share $0.42Free cash flow per share $0.34
2018Earnings per share $0.43Free cash flow per share $0.26
2018
2019Earnings per share $0.62Free cash flow per share $0.28
2020Earnings per share $0.73Free cash flow per share $0.34
2021Earnings per share $0.97Free cash flow per share $0.55
2022Earnings per share $1.13Free cash flow per share $0.87
2023Earnings per share $1.28Free cash flow per share $0.88
2024Earnings per share $1.40Free cash flow per share $0.99
2025Earnings per share $1.59Free cash flow per share $1.26
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
940.0M950.0M960.0M970.0M980.0M
2017Diluted shares 948.1M
2018Diluted shares 967.5M
2018
2019Diluted shares 961.8M
2020Diluted shares 954.6M
2021Diluted shares 961.2M
2022Diluted shares 964.6M
2023Diluted shares 966.6M
2024Diluted shares 974.8M
2025Diluted shares 977.6M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.5B-1.0B-500.0M0500.0M
2017Net debt 420.9M
2018Net debt 125.5M
2018
2019Net debt 213.7M
2020Net debt -77.7M
2021Net debt -648.3M
2022Net debt -1.4B
2023Net debt -946.4M
2024
2025
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
8.42 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 60d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
17.96safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.50 × 6.56+3.30
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.80 × 3.26+2.61
Operating income ÷ assets 0.17 × 6.72+1.13
Equity ÷ liabilities 10.40 × 1.05+10.92
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.71below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.88+0.81
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.74+0.30
Sales growth 1.10+0.98
Slower depreciation 1.00+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.10-0.19
Profit not in cash -0.02-0.11
Leverage rising 0.91-0.30
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$21.39discounted at 10.2% a year · 53% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
13.5×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
10.9×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
4.5×
Free cash flow yield
5.7%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today9.8B
Everything after, today11.1B
The whole business20.9B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders20.9B
Divided among 977.6M shares: <strong>$21.39</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2017Reported 299.0M
2018Reported 223.9M
2018
2019Reported 249.3M
2020Reported 302.6M
2021Reported 487.0M
2022Reported 800.3M
2023Reported 807.9M
2024Reported 926.3M
2025Reported 1.2B
2026Projected 1.1B
2027Projected 1.2B
2028Projected 1.4B
2029Projected 1.5B
2030Projected 1.7B
2031Projected 1.8B
2032Projected 2.0B
2033Projected 2.1B
2034Projected 2.1B
2035Projected 2.2B
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
5.4B
6.2B
7.0B
7.8B
8.6B
9.3B
9.9B
10.5B
10.9B
11.2B
Growth
16.0%
14.5%
13.0%
11.5%
10.0%
8.5%
7.0%
5.5%
4.0%
2.5%
Cash margin
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
19.7%
Free cash flow
1.1B
1.2B
1.4B
1.5B
1.7B
1.8B
2.0B
2.1B
2.1B
2.2B
Worth today
962.7M
1.0B
1.0B
1.0B
1.0B
1.0B
991.9M
949.8M
896.7M
834.2M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
22
23
25
27
29
9.7%
21
22
23
24
26
10.2%
19
20
21
23
24
10.7%
18
19
20
21
22
11.2%
17
18
19
20
21
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
12.0%
14.0%
16.0%
18.0%
20.0%
15.7%
15
17
18
19
21
17.7%
17
18
20
21
23
19.7%
18
20
21
23
25
21.6%
20
21
23
25
27
23.6%
21
23
25
27
29
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 3.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$16.26
Median$21.41
90th percentile$28.91
$20.00$30.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$18.46</b> and <b>$24.89</b>; one in ten below $16.26, one in ten above $28.91.
Does the long run make sense?
6.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.4 times that year's EBITDA.
7%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 34% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 7% on the new capital — it has earned 23% on average over the last five years.
53%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 18.3%) = <strong>5.45%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$3.0M2 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans50%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.