CVNA · Consumer discretionary(retail-auto dealers & gasoline stations) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Carvana Co. reported revenue of $20.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 56.3% a year over the previous 9 years. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.86 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202520.3B+56.3% a year over 9 years
Operating margin9.3%gross margin 20.6%
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay793.0M3.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt 2.7B
Piotroski F-score5/9tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
2-for-1 before fiscal 2023.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-10.0B010.0B20.0B30.0B
2016Revenue 365.1M
2017Revenue 858.9M
2018Revenue 2.0B
2019Revenue 3.9B
2020Revenue 5.6B
2021Revenue 12.8B
2022Revenue 13.6BOperating income -2.4B
2023Revenue 10.8BOperating income -80.0M
2024Revenue 13.7BOperating income 990.0M
2025Revenue 20.3BOperating income 1.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+14.3%
+29.5%
+56.3%
Shares
+3.6%
+11.5%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
40.9%
Return on assets
10.7%
Asset turnover
1.54×
Overheads (SG&A)
11.4% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-4.0B-2.0B02.0B
2016Net income -93.1MFree cash flow -279.8MAfter stock-based pay -280.3M
2017Net income -62.8MFree cash flow -278.4MAfter stock-based pay -284.0M
2018Net income -55.5MFree cash flow -558.0MAfter stock-based pay -582.1M
2019Net income -115.0MFree cash flow -988.0MAfter stock-based pay -1.0B
2020Net income -171.0MFree cash flow -968.0MAfter stock-based pay -993.0M
2021Net income -135.0MFree cash flow -3.2BAfter stock-based pay -3.2B
2022Net income -1.6BFree cash flow -1.8BAfter stock-based pay -1.9B
2023Net income 450.0MFree cash flow 716.0MAfter stock-based pay 643.0M
2024Net income 210.0MFree cash flow 827.0MAfter stock-based pay 736.0M
2025Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 889.0MAfter stock-based pay 793.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-20.00$-10.00$0.00$10.00
2016
2017
2018
2019Earnings per share $-1.23Free cash flow per share $-10.54
2020Earnings per share $-1.32Free cash flow per share $-7.45
2021Earnings per share $-0.82Free cash flow per share $-19.03
2022Earnings per share $-7.87Free cash flow per share $-9.10
2023Earnings per share $2.24Free cash flow per share $3.57
2024Earnings per share $1.59Free cash flow per share $6.26
2025Earnings per share $6.27Free cash flow per share $3.96
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
50.0M100.0M150.0M200.0M250.0M
2016
2017
2018
2019Diluted shares 93.7M
2020Diluted shares 130.0M
2021Diluted shares 165.6M
2022Diluted shares 201.7M
2023Diluted shares 200.6M
2024Diluted shares 132.2M
2025Diluted shares 224.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016
2017
2018Net debt 554.6M
2019Net debt 1.4B
2020Net debt 1.4B
2021Net debt 5.0B
2022Net debt 7.8B
2023Net debt 5.7B
2024Net debt 3.8B
2025Net debt 2.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
4.31 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
54 days collects in 4d, stock 54d, pays in 5d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.86safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.38 × 6.56+2.50
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.00 × 3.26-0.00
Operating income ÷ assets 0.14 × 6.72+0.96
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.38 × 1.05+0.40
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.17below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.54+0.50
Gross margin slipping 1.02+0.54
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.49+1.33
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.83-0.14
Profit not in cash 0.03+0.13
Leverage rising 0.62-0.20
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (1,407M against 1,036M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.