LOW · Consumer discretionary(retail-lumber & other building materials dealers) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-01-30
Lowes Companies Inc reported revenue of $86.3 billion in fiscal 2026, after growing 3.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 9.0% in 2017 to 11.8%, and it earned 25.8% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $78.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 72.1% went to buybacks and 24.5% to dividends; the share count fell 36.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.63 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is above the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 202686.3B+3.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin11.8%gross margin 33.5%
Return on invested capital25.8%38.0% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay7.4B8.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.1×net debt 38.8B
Piotroski F-score6/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
025.0B50.0B75.0B100.0B
2017Revenue 65.0BOperating income 5.8B
2018Revenue 68.6BOperating income 6.6B
2019Revenue 71.3BOperating income 4.0B
2020Revenue 72.1BOperating income 6.3B
2021Revenue 89.6BOperating income 9.6B
2022Revenue 96.2BOperating income 12.1B
2023Revenue 97.1BOperating income 10.2B
2024Revenue 86.4BOperating income 11.6B
2025Revenue 83.7BOperating income 10.5B
2026Revenue 86.3BOperating income 10.2B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-3.8%
-0.8%
+3.2%
Operating income
-0.0%
+1.0%
+6.3%
Net income
+1.1%
+2.7%
+8.9%
Earnings per share
+5.2%
+8.8%
+14.5%
Free cash flow per share
+8.4%
+2.1%
+11.7%
Dividend per share
+7.8%
+15.7%
+15.6%
Shares
-3.9%
-5.7%
-4.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 5.1%
0.0%200.0%400.0%600.0%
2017Return on invested capital 50.1%
2018Return on invested capital 59.0%
2019Return on invested capital 62.7%
2020Return on invested capital 122.8%
2021Return on invested capital 506.2%
2022Return on invested capital 46.8%
2023Return on invested capital 37.1%
2024Return on invested capital 42.4%
2025Return on invested capital 37.7%
2026Return on invested capital 25.8%
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Economic profit
Economic profit
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2017Economic profit 3.1B
2018Economic profit 3.8B
2019Economic profit 2.5B
2020Economic profit 4.6B
2021Economic profit 7.2B
2022Economic profit 8.1B
2023Economic profit 6.2B
2024Economic profit 7.7B
2025Economic profit 6.9B
2026Economic profit 6.2B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
—
Return on assets
12.3%
Asset turnover
1.59×
Overheads (SG&A)
19.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2017Net income 3.1BFree cash flow 4.5BAfter stock-based pay 4.4B
2018Net income 3.4BFree cash flow 3.9BAfter stock-based pay 3.8B
2019Net income 2.3BFree cash flow 5.0BAfter stock-based pay 4.9B
2020Net income 4.3BFree cash flow 2.8BAfter stock-based pay 2.7B
2021Net income 5.8BFree cash flow 9.3BAfter stock-based pay 9.1B
2022Net income 8.4BFree cash flow 8.3BAfter stock-based pay 8.0B
2023Net income 6.4BFree cash flow 6.8BAfter stock-based pay 6.5B
2024Net income 7.7BFree cash flow 6.2BAfter stock-based pay 6.0B
2025Net income 7.0BFree cash flow 7.7BAfter stock-based pay 7.5B
2026Net income 6.7BFree cash flow 7.7BAfter stock-based pay 7.4B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2026
78.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 21%16.5B
Acquisitions 16%13.0B
Dividends 25%19.3B
Share buybacks 72%56.6B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -34%-26.8B
Over the same years it paid 1.6B in stock. The share count fell 36.4%. 55.0B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2017Earnings per share $3.51Free cash flow per share $5.05Dividend per share $1.27
2018Earnings per share $4.10Free cash flow per share $4.69Dividend per share $1.53
2019Earnings per share $2.85Free cash flow per share $6.18Dividend per share $1.79
2020Earnings per share $5.50Free cash flow per share $3.61Dividend per share $2.08
2021Earnings per share $7.78Free cash flow per share $12.34Dividend per share $2.27
2022Earnings per share $12.08Free cash flow per share $11.82Dividend per share $2.84
2023Earnings per share $10.20Free cash flow per share $10.71Dividend per share $3.76
2024Earnings per share $13.23Free cash flow per share $10.58Dividend per share $4.33
2025Earnings per share $12.25Free cash flow per share $13.55Dividend per share $4.52
2026Earnings per share $11.88Free cash flow per share $13.66Dividend per share $4.71
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
500.0M600.0M700.0M800.0M900.0M
2017Diluted shares 881.0M
2018Diluted shares 840.0M
2019Diluted shares 812.0M
2020Diluted shares 778.0M
2021Diluted shares 750.0M
2022Diluted shares 699.0M
2023Diluted shares 631.0M
2024Diluted shares 584.0M
2025Diluted shares 568.0M
2026Diluted shares 560.0M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-20.0B020.0B40.0B
2017Net debt -48.0M
2018Net debt 549.0M
2019Net debt 211.0M
2020Net debt 1.2B
2021Net debt -4.7B
2022Net debt 23.2B
2023Net debt 32.4B
2024Net debt 34.8B
2025Net debt 33.6B
2026Net debt 38.8B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.1×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.08 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
53 days collects in 5d, stock 110d, pays in 62d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.63distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.03 × 6.56+0.18
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.20 × 3.26-0.65
Operating income ÷ assets 0.19 × 6.72+1.26
Equity ÷ liabilities -0.15 × 1.05-0.16
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
6.73above the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 11.24+10.35
Gross margin slipping 1.00+0.53
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.03+0.92
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.04-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.06-0.28
Leverage rising 0.87-0.29
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Receivables are growing 1060% against revenue growing 3%.
Benign
A shift towards larger customers on longer terms, or sales concentrated at the end of the period.
Worrying
Sales are being made on looser credit, or revenue has been booked that may never be collected.
Net debt is 3.1 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
77% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$411.60discounted at 5.1% a year · 77% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
34.6×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
21.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.1×
Free cash flow yield
3.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today61.3B
Everything after, today208.0B
The whole business269.3B
Minus net debt-38.8B
What belongs to shareholders230.5B
Divided among 560.0M shares: <strong>$411.60</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2017Reported 4.4B
2018Reported 3.8B
2019Reported 4.9B
2020Reported 2.7B
2021Reported 9.1B
2022Reported 8.0B
2023Reported 6.5B
2024Reported 6.0B
2025Reported 7.5B
2026Reported 7.4B
2027Projected 7.8B
2028Projected 7.7B
2029Projected 7.8B
2030Projected 7.8B
2031Projected 7.9B
2032Projected 7.9B
2033Projected 8.1B
2034Projected 8.2B
2035Projected 8.4B
2036Projected 8.6B
2017201920212023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
85.9B
85.7B
85.9B
86.3B
87.0B
88.0B
89.3B
91.0B
92.9B
95.3B
Growth
-0.5%
-0.2%
0.2%
0.5%
0.8%
1.2%
1.5%
1.8%
2.2%
2.5%
Cash margin
9.0%
9.0%
9.0%
9.0%
9.0%
9.0%
9.0%
9.0%
9.0%
9.0%
Free cash flow
7.8B
7.7B
7.8B
7.8B
7.9B
7.9B
8.1B
8.2B
8.4B
8.6B
Worth today
7.4B
7.0B
6.7B
6.4B
6.1B
5.9B
5.7B
5.5B
5.4B
5.2B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
4.1%
429
537
714
1,053
1,977
4.6%
349
421
527
700
1,033
5.1%
291
341
412
515
685
5.6%
247
285
334
403
506
6.1%
213
242
279
328
395
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-4.5%
-2.5%
-0.5%
1.5%
3.5%
7.2%
259
291
326
364
405
8.1%
294
330
369
411
456
9.0%
329
369
412
458
509
9.9%
364
407
454
505
561
10.8%
399
446
497
552
612
All the inputs moving at once
4,615 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$210.14
Median$391.56
90th percentile$783.24
$500.00$1,000.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$282.95</b> and <b>$557.03</b>; one in ten below $210.14, one in ten above $783.24.
Does the long run make sense?
25.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 25.0 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
77%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.