DIS · Consumer discretionary(services-miscellaneous amusement & recreation) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-09-27
Walt Disney Co reported revenue of $94.4 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 6.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 26.8% in 2017 to 18.6%, and it earned 10.2% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $93.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 46.8% went back into the business and 20.7% to buybacks; the share count rose 14.8%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.58 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202594.4B+6.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin18.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital10.2%7.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay8.7B9.2% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.6×net debt 36.3B
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
025.0B50.0B75.0B100.0B
2017Revenue 55.1BOperating income 14.8B
2018Revenue 59.4BOperating income 15.7B
2018
2019Revenue 69.6BOperating income 14.8B
2020Revenue 65.4BOperating income 8.1B
2021Revenue 67.4BOperating income 7.8B
2022Revenue 82.7BOperating income 12.1B
2023Revenue 88.9BOperating income 12.9B
2024Revenue 91.4BOperating income 15.6B
2025Revenue 94.4BOperating income 17.6B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+4.5%
+7.6%
+6.2%
Operating income
+13.1%
+16.7%
+1.9%
Net income
+58.0%
—
+3.7%
Earnings per share
+58.5%
—
+2.1%
Free cash flow per share
+112.5%
+22.9%
+0.1%
Dividend per share
—
+2.6%
-4.8%
Shares
-0.3%
+0.0%
+1.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2017Operating 26.8%Net 16.3%Free cash flow 15.8%
2018Operating 26.4%Net 21.2%Free cash flow 16.5%
2018
2019Operating 21.3%Net 15.9%Free cash flow 1.6%
2020Operating 12.4%Net -4.4%Free cash flow 5.5%
2021Operating 11.5%Net 3.0%Free cash flow 2.9%
2022Operating 14.7%Net 3.8%Free cash flow 1.3%
2023Operating 14.5%Net 2.6%Free cash flow 5.5%
2024Operating 17.1%Net 5.4%Free cash flow 9.4%
2025Operating 18.6%Net 13.1%Free cash flow 10.7%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.6%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2017
2018Return on invested capital 20.0%
2018
2019Return on invested capital 8.6%
2020Return on invested capital 8.0%
2021Return on invested capital 5.4%
2022Return on invested capital 5.7%
2023Return on invested capital 6.3%
2024Return on invested capital 8.1%
2025Return on invested capital 10.2%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-5.0B05.0B10.0B
2017
2018Economic profit 7.9B
2018
2019Economic profit -99.5M
2020Economic profit -907.7M
2021Economic profit -4.6B
2022Economic profit -4.2B
2023Economic profit -3.4B
2024Economic profit -739.1M
2025Economic profit 2.4B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
11.3%
Return on assets
6.3%
Asset turnover
0.48×
Overheads (SG&A)
17.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-5.0B05.0B10.0B15.0B
2017Net income 9.0BFree cash flow 8.7BAfter stock-based pay 8.4B
2018Net income 12.6BFree cash flow 9.8BAfter stock-based pay 9.4B
2018
2019Net income 11.1BFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 397.0M
2020Net income -2.9BFree cash flow 3.6BAfter stock-based pay 3.1B
2021Net income 2.0BFree cash flow 2.0BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2022Net income 3.1BFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 82.0M
2023Net income 2.4BFree cash flow 4.9BAfter stock-based pay 3.8B
2024Net income 5.0BFree cash flow 8.6BAfter stock-based pay 7.2B
2025Net income 12.4BFree cash flow 10.1BAfter stock-based pay 8.7B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
93.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 47%43.9B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 13%12.6B
Share buybacks 21%19.4B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 19%17.8B
Over the same years it paid 7.4B in stock. The share count rose 14.8%. 12.0B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.50$0.00$2.50$5.00$7.50$10.00
2017Earnings per share $5.69Free cash flow per share $5.53Dividend per share $1.55
2018Earnings per share $8.36Free cash flow per share $6.52Dividend per share $1.67
2018
2019Earnings per share $6.64Free cash flow per share $0.67Dividend per share $1.74
2020Earnings per share $-1.58Free cash flow per share $1.99Dividend per share $0.88
2021Earnings per share $1.09Free cash flow per share $1.09Dividend per share $0.00
2022Earnings per share $1.72Free cash flow per share $0.58Dividend per share $0.00
2023Earnings per share $1.29Free cash flow per share $2.68Dividend per share $0.00
2024Earnings per share $2.72Free cash flow per share $4.67Dividend per share $0.75
2025Earnings per share $6.85Free cash flow per share $5.56Dividend per share $1.00
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
1.5B1.6B1.7B1.8B1.9B
2017Diluted shares 1.6B
2018Diluted shares 1.5B
2018
2019Diluted shares 1.7B
2020Diluted shares 1.8B
2021Diluted shares 1.8B
2022Diluted shares 1.8B
2023Diluted shares 1.8B
2024Diluted shares 1.8B
2025Diluted shares 1.8B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
020.0B40.0B60.0B
2017
2018Net debt 16.7B
2018
2019Net debt 41.6B
2020Net debt 40.7B
2021Net debt 38.4B
2022Net debt 36.8B
2023Net debt 32.2B
2024Net debt 39.8B
2025Net debt 36.3B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.6×
Interest coverage
10× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.71 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 51d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.58grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.05 × 6.56-0.33
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.31 × 3.26+1.00
Operating income ÷ assets 0.09 × 6.72+0.60
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.25 × 1.05+1.32
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.57below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.00+0.92
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.98+0.40
Sales growth 1.03+0.92
Slower depreciation 1.04+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.01-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.13
Leverage rising 0.94-0.31
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$88.73discounted at 8.6% a year · 58% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
13.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
8.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.1×
Free cash flow yield
5.4%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today83.3B
Everything after, today113.8B
The whole business197.0B
Minus net debt-36.3B
What belongs to shareholders160.7B
Divided among 1.8B shares: <strong>$88.73</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2017Reported 8.4B
2018Reported 9.4B
2018
2019Reported 397.0M
2020Reported 3.1B
2021Reported 1.4B
2022Reported 82.0M
2023Reported 3.8B
2024Reported 7.2B
2025Reported 8.7B
2026Projected 10.3B
2027Projected 11.0B
2028Projected 11.7B
2029Projected 12.4B
2030Projected 13.0B
2031Projected 13.6B
2032Projected 14.2B
2033Projected 14.7B
2034Projected 15.2B
2035Projected 15.6B
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
101.5B
108.6B
115.5B
122.2B
128.7B
134.8B
140.4B
145.4B
149.9B
153.6B
Growth
7.5%
6.9%
6.4%
5.8%
5.3%
4.7%
4.2%
3.6%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
10.1%
10.1%
10.1%
10.1%
10.1%
10.1%
10.1%
10.1%
10.1%
10.1%
Free cash flow
10.3B
11.0B
11.7B
12.4B
13.0B
13.6B
14.2B
14.7B
15.2B
15.6B
Worth today
9.5B
9.3B
9.1B
8.9B
8.6B
8.3B
8.0B
7.6B
7.2B
6.8B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.6%
92
101
110
122
137
8.1%
84
90
99
108
120
8.6%
76
82
89
97
106
9.1%
70
75
80
87
95
9.6%
64
68
73
79
85
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
8.1%
58
64
71
79
87
9.1%
65
72
80
89
98
10.1%
72
80
89
98
108
11.1%
79
88
97
108
119
12.2%
87
96
106
117
129
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$57.83
Median$88.75
90th percentile$135.80
$50.00$100.00$150.00$200.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$71.18</b> and <b>$110.79</b>; one in ten below $57.83, one in ten above $135.80.
Does the long run make sense?
7.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 7.0 times that year's EBITDA.
7%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 38% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 7% on the new capital — it has earned 7% on average over the last five years.
58%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.