LAD · Consumer discretionary(retail-auto dealers & gasoline stations) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Lithia Motors Inc reported revenue of $37.6 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 15.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 4.2% from 2017. Of the $3.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 308.2% went to acquisitions and 78.3% to buybacks. On the accounting screens, it passes 3 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.95 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202537.6B+15.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin4.2%gross margin 15.2%
Return on invested capital—16.9% on average over 1 years
Free cash flow after stock pay-54.5M-0.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score3/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2017Revenue 10.1BOperating income 409.0M
2018Revenue 11.8BOperating income 447.0M
2019
2019Revenue 12.7BOperating income 495.0M
2020Revenue 13.1BOperating income 692.7M
2021Revenue 22.8BOperating income 1.7B
2022Revenue 28.2BOperating income 1.9B
2023Revenue 31.0BOperating income 1.7B
2024Revenue 36.2BOperating income 1.6B
2025Revenue 37.6BOperating income 1.6B
2017201820192019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+10.1%
+23.4%
+15.8%
Operating income
-6.3%
+18.1%
+16.3%
Net income
-13.1%
+11.7%
+14.3%
Earnings per share
-10.0%
+10.6%
+14.2%
Free cash flow per share
—
-57.1%
-20.2%
Dividend per share
+10.9%
+12.5%
+8.4%
Shares
-3.5%
+1.1%
+0.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2017Return on invested capital 15.5%
2018Return on invested capital 16.6%
2019
2019Return on invested capital 12.8%
2020Return on invested capital 10.5%
2021Return on invested capital 16.9%
2022
2023
2024
2025
2017201820192019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2017Economic profit 99.2M
2018Economic profit 135.9M
2019
2019Economic profit 73.3M
2020Economic profit 17.1M
2021Economic profit 475.5M
2022
2023
2024
2025
2017201820192019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
12.4%
Return on assets
3.3%
Asset turnover
1.50×
Overheads (SG&A)
10.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.0B01.0B2.0B
2017Net income 245.2MFree cash flow 43.5MAfter stock-based pay 32.2M
2018Net income 265.7MFree cash flow 361.7MAfter stock-based pay 348.4M
2019
2019Net income 271.5MFree cash flow 399.6MAfter stock-based pay 383.4M
2020Net income 470.3MFree cash flow 376.8MAfter stock-based pay 353.6M
2021Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2022Net income 1.3BFree cash flow -913.2MAfter stock-based pay -954.3M
2023Net income 1.0BFree cash flow -702.6MAfter stock-based pay -743.4M
2024Net income 796.7MFree cash flow 73.7MAfter stock-based pay 15.3M
2025Net income 819.6MFree cash flow 5.8MAfter stock-based pay -54.5M
2017201820192019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
3.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 63%2.1B
Acquisitions 308%10.0B
Dividends 11%359.5M
Share buybacks 78%2.5B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -361%-11.7B
Over the same years it paid 299.3M in stock. The share count rose 1.2%. 2.2B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-50.00$-25.00$0.00$25.00$50.00$75.00
2017Earnings per share $9.77Free cash flow per share $1.73Dividend per share $1.06
2018Earnings per share $10.84Free cash flow per share $14.76Dividend per share $1.13
2019
2019Earnings per share $11.60Free cash flow per share $17.08Dividend per share $1.18
2020Earnings per share $19.51Free cash flow per share $15.63Dividend per share $1.21
2021Earnings per share $36.56Free cash flow per share $52.99Dividend per share $1.34
2022Earnings per share $44.20Free cash flow per share $-32.27Dividend per share $1.60
2023Earnings per share $36.26Free cash flow per share $-25.46Dividend per share $1.91
2024Earnings per share $29.40Free cash flow per share $2.72Dividend per share $2.08
2025Earnings per share $32.27Free cash flow per share $0.23Dividend per share $2.18
2017201820192019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
22.0M24.0M26.0M28.0M30.0M
2017Diluted shares 25.1M
2018Diluted shares 24.5M
2019
2019Diluted shares 23.4M
2020Diluted shares 24.1M
2021Diluted shares 29.0M
2022Diluted shares 28.3M
2023Diluted shares 27.6M
2024Diluted shares 27.1M
2025Diluted shares 25.4M
2017201820192019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2017Net debt 725.2M
2018Net debt 894.9M
2019
2019Net debt 1.2B
2020Net debt 2.0B
2021Net debt 2.2B
2022
2023
2024
2025
2017201820192019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
6× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.17 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
77 days collects in 11d, stock 70d, pays in 4d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
3of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.95grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.56+0.30
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.26 × 3.26+0.85
Operating income ÷ assets 0.06 × 6.72+0.43
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.36 × 1.05+0.38
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.44below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.88+0.81
Gross margin slipping 1.01+0.53
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.04+0.93
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.01-0.17
Profit not in cash 0.02+0.09
Leverage rising 0.94-0.31
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (820M against 357M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$181.38discounted at 10.2% a year · 56% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
5.6×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
2.4×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.1×
Free cash flow yield
-1.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today2.0B
Everything after, today2.6B
The whole business4.6B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders4.6B
Divided among 25.4M shares: <strong>$181.38</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1.0B01.0B2.0B
2017Reported 32.2M
2018Reported 348.4M
2019
2019Reported 383.4M
2020Reported 353.6M
2021Reported 1.5B
2022Reported -954.3M
2023Reported -743.4M
2024Reported 15.3M
2025Reported -54.5M
2026Projected 186.7M
2027Projected 226.2M
2028Projected 268.8M
2029Projected 313.2M
2030Projected 357.5M
2031Projected 399.9M
2032Projected 437.8M
2033Projected 469.2M
2034Projected 491.9M
2035Projected 504.2M
2017201920202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
46.5B
56.3B
66.9B
78.0B
89.0B
99.5B
109.0B
116.8B
122.5B
125.5B
Growth
23.5%
21.2%
18.8%
16.5%
14.2%
11.8%
9.5%
7.2%
4.8%
2.5%
Cash margin
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
0.4%
Free cash flow
186.7M
226.2M
268.8M
313.2M
357.5M
399.9M
437.8M
469.2M
491.9M
504.2M
Worth today
169.5M
186.4M
201.0M
212.6M
220.3M
223.6M
222.3M
216.2M
205.7M
191.4M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
188
199
212
227
244
9.7%
175
185
196
208
223
10.2%
164
172
181
192
204
10.7%
153
161
169
178
189
11.2%
144
151
158
166
175
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
19.5%
21.5%
23.5%
25.5%
27.5%
0.3%
131
141
152
163
176
0.4%
143
154
166
179
193
0.4%
156
168
181
196
211
0.4%
168
181
195
211
227
0.5%
180
194
210
226
244
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$-755.39
Median$188.16
90th percentile$1,134.62
$-1,000.00$0.00$1,000.00$2,000.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$-289.44</b> and <b>$683.00</b>; one in ten below $-755.39, one in ten above $1,134.62.
Does the long run make sense?
1.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 1.1 times that year's EBITDA.
3%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 87% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 3% on the new capital — it has earned 17% on average over the last five years.
56%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 25.5%) = <strong>4.97%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$304,7075 sale(s) by 4 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans40%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.