TNC · Industrials(refrigeration & service industry machinery) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Tennant Co reported revenue of $1.2 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 4.5% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 8.4% in 2016 to 5.7%, and it earned 5.9% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $785.2 million its operations generated over 10 years, 52.9% went to acquisitions and 31.1% back into the business; the share count rose 3.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.51 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20251.2B+4.5% a year over 9 years
Operating margin5.7%gross margin 40.2%
Return on invested capital5.9%10.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay32.9M2.7% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.5×net debt 167.6M
Piotroski F-score5/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
00.5B1.0B1.5B
2016Revenue 808.6MOperating income 68.3M
2017Revenue 1.0BOperating income 33.0M
2018Revenue 1.1BOperating income 58.0M
2019Revenue 1.1BOperating income 71.8M
2020Revenue 1.0BOperating income 63.7M
2021Revenue 1.1BOperating income 93.7M
2022Revenue 1.1BOperating income 87.2M
2023Revenue 1.2BOperating income 138.6M
2024Revenue 1.3BOperating income 114.3M
2025Revenue 1.2BOperating income 68.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+3.3%
+3.8%
+4.5%
Operating income
-7.8%
+1.4%
+0.0%
Net income
-12.9%
+5.4%
-0.7%
Earnings per share
-12.7%
+5.4%
-1.1%
Free cash flow per share
—
-16.0%
+3.3%
Dividend per share
+5.3%
+6.1%
+4.5%
Shares
-0.2%
-0.1%
+0.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.6%
0%20%40%60%
2016Return on invested capital 17.0%
2017Return on invested capital 48.1%
2018Return on invested capital 15.9%
2019Return on invested capital 15.6%
2020Return on invested capital 7.2%
2021Return on invested capital 11.6%
2022Return on invested capital 9.4%
2023Return on invested capital 15.6%
2024Return on invested capital 11.1%
2025Return on invested capital 5.9%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-50M050M100M150M
2016Economic profit 23.5M
2017Economic profit 129.1M
2018Economic profit 24.8M
2019Economic profit 27.3M
2020Economic profit -10.5M
2021Economic profit 21.2M
2022Economic profit 5.7M
2023Economic profit 54.9M
2024Economic profit 20.4M
2025Economic profit -23.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
7.3%
Return on assets
3.5%
Asset turnover
0.95×
Research & development
3.4% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
31.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-100M0100M200M
2016Net income 46.6MFree cash flow 31.4MAfter stock-based pay 27.5M
2017Net income -6.2MFree cash flow 33.8MAfter stock-based pay 27.9M
2018Net income 33.4MFree cash flow 61.2MAfter stock-based pay 52.9M
2019Net income 45.8MFree cash flow 33.5MAfter stock-based pay 22.1M
2020Net income 33.7MFree cash flow 103.9MAfter stock-based pay 97.9M
2021Net income 64.9MFree cash flow 50.0MAfter stock-based pay 40.5M
2022Net income 66.3MFree cash flow -50.1MAfter stock-based pay -57.9M
2023Net income 109.5MFree cash flow 165.6MAfter stock-based pay 154.0M
2024Net income 83.7MFree cash flow 68.8MAfter stock-based pay 56.9M
2025Net income 43.8MFree cash flow 43.3MAfter stock-based pay 32.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
785.2M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 31%243.8M
Acquisitions 53%415.6M
Dividends 23%176.7M
Share buybacks 21%162.6M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -27%-213.5M
Over the same years it paid 86.7M in stock. The share count rose 3.4%. 75.9M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$5$0$5$10
2016Earnings per share $2.59Free cash flow per share $1.74Dividend per share $0.80
2017Earnings per share $-0.35Free cash flow per share $1.91Dividend per share $0.85
2018Earnings per share $1.82Free cash flow per share $3.34Dividend per share $0.83
2019Earnings per share $2.48Free cash flow per share $1.82Dividend per share $0.87
2020Earnings per share $1.81Free cash flow per share $5.58Dividend per share $0.87
2021Earnings per share $3.44Free cash flow per share $2.65Dividend per share $0.93
2022Earnings per share $3.55Free cash flow per share $-2.68Dividend per share $1.01
2023Earnings per share $5.83Free cash flow per share $8.82Dividend per share $1.07
2024Earnings per share $4.38Free cash flow per share $3.60Dividend per share $1.12
2025Earnings per share $2.36Free cash flow per share $2.33Dividend per share $1.18
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
17.5M18.0M18.5M19.0M19.5M
2016Diluted shares 18.0M
2017Diluted shares 17.7M
2018Diluted shares 18.3M
2019Diluted shares 18.5M
2020Diluted shares 18.6M
2021Diluted shares 18.8M
2022Diluted shares 18.7M
2023Diluted shares 18.8M
2024Diluted shares 19.1M
2025Diluted shares 18.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-100M0100M200M300M
2016Net debt -54.6M
2017Net debt -27.5M
2018Net debt -58.6M
2019Net debt -43.3M
2020Net debt 181.5M
2021Net debt 148.2M
2022Net debt 228.1M
2023Net debt 89.9M
2024Net debt 101.0M
2025Net debt 167.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.5×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.05 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
114 days collects in 78d, stock 101d, pays in 65d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.51safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.24 × 6.56+1.59
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.49 × 3.26+1.61
Operating income ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.72+0.36
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.90 × 1.05+0.95
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.56below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.06+0.97
Gross margin slipping 1.06+0.56
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 0.94+0.83
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.02-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.02-0.08
Leverage rising 1.08-0.35
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (22M) is well below depreciation (45M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$81.16discounted at 8.6% a year · 56% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
34.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
14.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.4×
Free cash flow yield
2.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today729.0M
Everything after, today946.4M
The whole business1.7B
Minus net debt-167.6M
What belongs to shareholders1.5B
Divided among 18.6M shares: <strong>$81.16</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-100M0100M200M
2016Reported 27.5M
2017Reported 27.9M
2018Reported 52.9M
2019Reported 22.1M
2020Reported 97.9M
2021Reported 40.5M
2022Reported -57.9M
2023Reported 154.0M
2024Reported 56.9M
2025Reported 32.9M
2026Projected 97.9M
2027Projected 101.6M
2028Projected 105.3M
2029Projected 109.0M
2030Projected 112.7M
2031Projected 116.2M
2032Projected 119.7M
2033Projected 123.1M
2034Projected 126.4M
2035Projected 129.6M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
1.3B
1.3B
1.3B
1.4B
1.4B
1.5B
1.5B
1.6B
1.6B
1.7B
Growth
4.0%
3.8%
3.7%
3.5%
3.3%
3.2%
3.0%
2.8%
2.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
7.8%
7.8%
7.8%
7.8%
7.8%
7.8%
7.8%
7.8%
7.8%
7.8%
Free cash flow
97.9M
101.6M
105.3M
109.0M
112.7M
116.2M
119.7M
123.1M
126.4M
129.6M
Worth today
90.1M
86.1M
82.2M
78.3M
74.5M
70.7M
67.1M
63.5M
60.0M
56.6M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.6%
84
91
99
109
121
8.1%
77
83
89
97
107
8.6%
71
76
81
88
95
9.1%
66
70
74
80
86
9.6%
61
64
68
73
78
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
0.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
8.0%
6.3%
55
61
67
74
81
7.0%
61
67
74
81
89
7.8%
67
74
81
89
97
8.6%
73
80
88
97
106
9.4%
79
87
95
105
114
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$52.55
Median$81.23
90th percentile$123.74
$50.00$100.00$150.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$64.98</b> and <b>$101.12</b>; one in ten below $52.55, one in ten above $123.74.
Does the long run make sense?
13.9×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 13.9 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
56%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$849,2403 purchase(s) by 3 insider(s)
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.