REG · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Regency Centers Corp reported revenue of $1.6 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $5.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 62.8% went to dividends and 12.5% to acquisitions. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20251.6B
Operating margin72.3%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—7.9% on average over 4 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.0×net debt 4.6B
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016
2017Revenue 984.3MOperating income 258.5M
2018Revenue 1.1BOperating income 357.8M
2019Revenue 1.1BOperating income 333.6M
2020Revenue 1.0BOperating income 169.8M
2021Revenue 1.2BOperating income 464.4M
2022Revenue 1.2BOperating income 896.8M
2023Revenue 1.3BOperating income 951.3M
2024Revenue 1.5BOperating income 1.0B
2025Revenue 1.6BOperating income 1.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+8.3%
+8.9%
—
Operating income
+7.8%
+45.9%
—
Net income
+3.0%
+63.7%
+13.6%
Earnings per share
—
+61.2%
—
Dividend per share
—
+9.5%
—
Shares
—
+1.5%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%80.0%
2016
2017Operating 26.3%Net 17.9%
2018Operating 31.9%Net 22.2%
2019Operating 29.4%Net 21.1%
2020Operating 16.7%Net 4.4%
2021Operating 39.8%Net 31.0%
2022Operating 73.3%Net 39.4%
2023Operating 71.9%Net 27.6%
2024Operating 72.0%Net 27.5%
2025Operating 72.3%Net 34.0%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%2.5%5.0%7.5%10.0%
2016
2017Return on invested capital 2.3%
2018Return on invested capital 3.5%
2019Return on invested capital 3.3%
2020Return on invested capital 1.5%
2021Return on invested capital 4.7%
2022Return on invested capital 9.1%
2023Return on invested capital 8.5%
2024Return on invested capital 9.3%
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
7.6%
Return on assets
4.1%
Asset turnover
0.12×
Overheads (SG&A)
6.4% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Net income 167.0M
2017Net income 176.1M
2018Net income 249.1M
2019Net income 239.4M
2020Net income 44.9M
2021Net income 361.4M
2022Net income 482.9M
2023Net income 364.6M
2024Net income 400.4M
2025Net income 527.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
5.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 12%729.2M
Dividends 63%3.7B
Share buybacks 9%542.1M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 15%905.8M
Over the same years it paid 154.2M in stock. 387.9M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00
2016
2017Earnings per share $1.10Dividend per share $2.02
2018Earnings per share $1.46Dividend per share $2.21
2019Earnings per share $1.43Dividend per share $2.33
2020Earnings per share $0.26Dividend per share $1.77
2021
2022
2023Earnings per share $1.98Dividend per share $2.45
2024Earnings per share $2.21Dividend per share $2.70
2025Earnings per share $2.88Dividend per share $2.80
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
150.0M160.0M170.0M180.0M190.0M
2016
2017Diluted shares 160.0M
2018Diluted shares 170.1M
2019Diluted shares 167.8M
2020Diluted shares 169.5M
2021
2022
2023Diluted shares 184.6M
2024Diluted shares 181.4M
2025Diluted shares 182.9M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Net debt 1.6B
2017Net debt 3.5B
2018Net debt 3.7B
2019Net debt 3.8B
2020Net debt 3.5B
2021Net debt 3.6B
2022Net debt 3.7B
2023Net debt 4.1B
2024Net debt 4.3B
2025Net debt 4.6B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.0×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Net debt is 3.0 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$99,3671 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.