PLD · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Prologis, Inc. reported revenue of $8.8 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 14.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 26.4% in 2016 to 49.6%, and it earned 4.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $32.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 64.4% went to dividends; the share count rose 75.0%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20258.8B+14.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin49.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital4.7%5.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA4.9×net debt 33.9B
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2016Revenue 2.5BOperating income 668.4M
2017Revenue 2.6BOperating income 2.0B
2018Revenue 2.8BOperating income 1.7B
2019Revenue 3.3BOperating income 1.8B
2020Revenue 4.4BOperating income 2.1B
2021Revenue 4.8BOperating income 3.2B
2022Revenue 6.0BOperating income 3.5B
2023Revenue 8.0BOperating income 3.7B
2024Revenue 8.2BOperating income 4.4B
2025Revenue 8.8BOperating income 4.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+13.7%
+14.6%
+14.8%
Operating income
+7.9%
+15.5%
+23.2%
Net income
-0.4%
+17.6%
+11.9%
Earnings per share
-5.7%
+12.1%
+5.2%
Dividend per share
+8.6%
+11.5%
+10.3%
Shares
+5.6%
+4.9%
+6.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%80.0%
2016Operating 26.4%Net 47.8%Free cash flow 51.9%
2017Operating 74.6%Net 63.1%Free cash flow 60.2%
2018Operating 60.2%Net 58.8%Free cash flow 61.0%
2019Operating 55.5%Net 47.2%
2020Operating 47.7%Net 33.4%
2021Operating 67.4%Net 61.8%
2022Operating 58.0%Net 56.3%
2023Operating 46.2%Net 38.1%
2024Operating 53.8%Net 45.5%
2025Operating 49.6%Net 37.9%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%2.5%5.0%7.5%10.0%
2016Return on invested capital 2.5%
2017Return on invested capital 7.6%
2018Return on invested capital 4.9%
2019Return on invested capital 5.1%
2020Return on invested capital 4.0%
2021Return on invested capital 9.0%
2022Return on invested capital 4.3%
2023Return on invested capital 4.2%
2024Return on invested capital 5.0%
2025Return on invested capital 4.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
6.3%
Return on assets
3.4%
Asset turnover
0.09×
Overheads (SG&A)
5.3% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2016Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2017Net income 1.7BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2018Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 1.7BAfter stock-based pay 1.6B
2019Net income 1.6B
2020Net income 1.5B
2021Net income 2.9B
2022Net income 3.4B
2023Net income 3.1B
2024Net income 3.7B
2025Net income 3.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
32.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 1%305.4M
Acquisitions 1%170.9M
Dividends 64%21.0B
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 34%11.1B
Over the same years it paid 1.4B in stock. The share count rose 75.0%.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2016Earnings per share $2.21Free cash flow per share $2.41Dividend per share $1.63
2017Earnings per share $2.99Free cash flow per share $2.85Dividend per share $1.71
2018Earnings per share $2.79Free cash flow per share $2.90Dividend per share $1.90
2019Earnings per share $2.40Dividend per share $2.05
2020Earnings per share $1.96Dividend per share $2.28
2021Earnings per share $3.84Dividend per share $2.45
2022Earnings per share $4.15Dividend per share $3.07
2023Earnings per share $3.21Dividend per share $3.39
2024Earnings per share $3.91Dividend per share $3.74
2025Earnings per share $3.48Dividend per share $3.93
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
400.0M600.0M800.0M1.0B
2016Diluted shares 546.7M
2017Diluted shares 552.3M
2018Diluted shares 590.2M
2019Diluted shares 654.9M
2020Diluted shares 754.4M
2021Diluted shares 764.8M
2022Diluted shares 811.6M
2023Diluted shares 951.8M
2024Diluted shares 953.6M
2025Diluted shares 956.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-10.0B010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2016Net debt 9.8B
2017Net debt 9.0B
2018Net debt 10.7B
2019Net debt 10.8B
2020Net debt 16.3B
2021Net debt -340.7M
2022Net debt 23.6B
2023Net debt 28.5B
2024Net debt 29.6B
2025Net debt 33.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
4.9×
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is 5.4%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 4.9 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.