MTZ · Industrials(water, sewer, pipeline, comm & power line construction) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Mastec Inc reported revenue of $14.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 12.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 3.6% from 2016. Of the $5.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 41.5% went to acquisitions and 30.6% back into the business; the share count fell 3.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 2.46 is in the grey zone; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202514.3B+12.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin3.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay251.7M1.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score7/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5.0B05.0B10.0B15.0B
2016Revenue 5.1BOperating income 225.8M
2017Revenue 6.6BOperating income 371.8M
2018Revenue 6.9BOperating income 365.3M
2019Revenue 7.2BOperating income 510.9M
2020Revenue 6.3BOperating income 425.2M
2021Revenue 8.0BOperating income 430.1M
2022Revenue 9.8BOperating income 43.1M
2023Revenue 12.0BOperating income -82.7M
2024Revenue 12.3BOperating income 251.0M
2025Revenue 14.3BOperating income 515.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+13.5%
+17.7%
+12.1%
Operating income
+128.7%
+3.9%
+9.6%
Net income
+128.7%
+4.3%
+13.1%
Earnings per share
+126.3%
+3.0%
+13.6%
Free cash flow per share
+46.0%
-18.0%
+14.3%
Shares
+1.1%
+1.3%
-0.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016Operating 4.4%Net 2.6%Free cash flow 1.7%
2017Operating 5.6%Net 5.3%Free cash flow 0.3%
2018Operating 5.3%Net 3.8%Free cash flow 5.1%
2019Operating 7.1%Net 5.5%Free cash flow 5.9%
2020Operating 6.7%Net 5.1%Free cash flow 11.4%
2021Operating 5.4%Net 4.1%Free cash flow 7.8%
2022Operating 0.4%Net 0.3%Free cash flow 0.9%
2023Operating -0.7%Net -0.4%Free cash flow 4.1%
2024Operating 2.0%Net 1.3%Free cash flow 7.9%
2025Operating 3.6%Net 2.8%Free cash flow 2.0%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
12.2%
Return on assets
4.0%
Asset turnover
1.44×
Overheads (SG&A)
5.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2016Net income 131.3MFree cash flow 88.5MAfter stock-based pay 73.4M
2017Net income 347.2MFree cash flow 20.7MAfter stock-based pay 5.0M
2018Net income 259.7MFree cash flow 349.5MAfter stock-based pay 336.0M
2019Net income 392.3MFree cash flow 423.8MAfter stock-based pay 407.4M
2020Net income 322.8MFree cash flow 723.5MAfter stock-based pay 701.6M
2021Net income 328.8MFree cash flow 623.0MAfter stock-based pay 598.2M
2022Net income 33.4MFree cash flow 88.9MAfter stock-based pay 61.5M
2023Net income -49.9MFree cash flow 494.3MAfter stock-based pay 461.0M
2024Net income 162.8MFree cash flow 972.8MAfter stock-based pay 940.1M
2025Net income 399.0MFree cash flow 285.7MAfter stock-based pay 251.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
5.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 31%1.8B
Acquisitions 41%2.4B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 10%600.0M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 18%1.0B
Over the same years it paid 234.8M in stock. The share count fell 3.3%. 365.2M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2016Earnings per share $1.61Free cash flow per share $1.09
2017Earnings per share $4.22Free cash flow per share $0.25
2018Earnings per share $3.26Free cash flow per share $4.38
2019Earnings per share $5.17Free cash flow per share $5.59
2020Earnings per share $4.38Free cash flow per share $9.81
2021Earnings per share $4.45Free cash flow per share $8.43
2022Earnings per share $0.44Free cash flow per share $1.17
2023Earnings per share $-0.64Free cash flow per share $6.38
2024Earnings per share $2.06Free cash flow per share $12.33
2025Earnings per share $5.07Free cash flow per share $3.63
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
72.5M75.0M77.5M80.0M82.5M
2016Diluted shares 81.4M
2017Diluted shares 82.3M
2018Diluted shares 79.8M
2019Diluted shares 75.8M
2020Diluted shares 73.7M
2021Diluted shares 73.9M
2022Diluted shares 76.2M
2023Diluted shares 77.5M
2024Diluted shares 78.9M
2025Diluted shares 78.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.32 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 39d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.46grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.11 × 6.56+0.70
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.27 × 3.26+0.89
Operating income ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.72+0.35
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.49 × 1.05+0.52
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (260M) is well below depreciation (427M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$156.81discounted at 10.2% a year · 54% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
30.9×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
13.1×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.9×
Free cash flow yield
2.0%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today5.7B
Everything after, today6.6B
The whole business12.3B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders12.3B
Divided among 78.7M shares: <strong>$156.81</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Reported 73.4M
2017Reported 5.0M
2018Reported 336.0M
2019Reported 407.4M
2020Reported 701.6M
2021Reported 598.2M
2022Reported 61.5M
2023Reported 461.0M
2024Reported 940.1M
2025Reported 251.7M
2026Projected 598.3M
2027Projected 693.0M
2028Projected 791.2M
2029Projected 890.1M
2030Projected 986.5M
2031Projected 1.1B
2032Projected 1.2B
2033Projected 1.2B
2034Projected 1.3B
2035Projected 1.3B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
16.8B
19.5B
22.2B
25.0B
27.7B
30.2B
32.5B
34.4B
35.8B
36.7B
Growth
17.5%
15.8%
14.2%
12.5%
10.8%
9.2%
7.5%
5.8%
4.2%
2.5%
Cash margin
3.6%
3.6%
3.6%
3.6%
3.6%
3.6%
3.6%
3.6%
3.6%
3.6%
Free cash flow
598.3M
693.0M
791.2M
890.1M
986.5M
1.1B
1.2B
1.2B
1.3B
1.3B
Worth today
543.0M
571.0M
591.7M
604.2M
607.8M
602.3M
587.7M
564.6M
533.8M
496.6M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
162
172
182
195
210
9.7%
151
159
169
179
192
10.2%
142
149
157
166
176
10.7%
133
139
146
154
163
11.2%
126
131
137
144
152
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
13.5%
15.5%
17.5%
19.5%
21.5%
2.9%
113
122
132
143
154
3.2%
124
134
144
156
168
3.6%
134
145
157
169
183
3.9%
145
157
169
183
198
4.3%
155
168
181
196
212
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$67.97
Median$156.79
90th percentile$265.41
$0.00$100.00$200.00$300.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$108.13</b> and <b>$209.56</b>; one in ten below $67.97, one in ten above $265.41.
Does the long run make sense?
7.2×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 7.2 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
54%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 18.1%) = <strong>5.46%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.