LAZ · Financials(investment advice) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Lazard, Inc. reported revenue of $3.2 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 3.3% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 21.7% in 2016 to 10.3%, and it earned 9.8% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $6.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 46.0% went to buybacks and 35.7% to dividends; the share count fell 19.8%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20253.2B+3.3% a year over 9 years
Operating margin10.3%gross margin —
Return on invested capital9.8%5.8% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow after stock pay127.7M4.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.6×net debt 218.7M
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2016Revenue 2.4BOperating income 517.5M
2017Revenue 2.7BOperating income 825.4M
2018Revenue 2.9BOperating income 680.8M
2019Revenue 2.7BOperating income 392.7M
2020Revenue 2.6BOperating income 502.1M
2021Revenue 3.3BOperating income 723.8M
2022Revenue 2.9BOperating income 516.8M
2023Revenue 2.6BOperating income -80.0M
2024Revenue 3.1BOperating income 386.5M
2025Revenue 3.2BOperating income 327.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+3.7%
+3.8%
+3.3%
Operating income
-14.1%
-8.2%
-5.0%
Net income
-12.8%
-10.1%
-5.3%
Earnings per share
-14.3%
-8.9%
-3.0%
Free cash flow per share
-16.1%
+0.3%
+0.3%
Dividend per share
-0.9%
+0.3%
-4.0%
Shares
+1.7%
-1.3%
-2.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%
2016Operating 21.7%Net 16.3%Free cash flow 24.9%
2017Operating 30.6%Net 9.4%Free cash flow 37.1%
2018Operating 23.6%Net 18.3%Free cash flow 22.5%
2019Operating 14.7%Net 10.7%Free cash flow 23.8%
2020Operating 19.0%Net 15.2%Free cash flow 19.3%
2021Operating 22.1%Net 16.1%Free cash flow 25.2%
2022Operating 18.1%Net 12.5%Free cash flow 27.5%
2023Operating -3.1%Net -2.9%Free cash flow 5.3%
2024Operating 12.3%Net 8.9%Free cash flow 22.2%
2025Operating 10.3%Net 7.4%Free cash flow 15.3%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023Return on invested capital -4.9%
2024Return on invested capital 12.3%
2025Return on invested capital 9.8%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
27.1%
Return on assets
4.8%
Asset turnover
0.64×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net income 387.7MFree cash flow 593.9MAfter stock-based pay 332.4M
2017Net income 253.6MFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 728.5M
2018Net income 527.1MFree cash flow 649.4MAfter stock-based pay 381.9M
2019Net income 286.5MFree cash flow 635.2MAfter stock-based pay 381.9M
2020Net income 402.5MFree cash flow 511.6MAfter stock-based pay 293.2M
2021Net income 528.1MFree cash flow 826.4MAfter stock-based pay 592.4M
2022Net income 357.5MFree cash flow 784.5MAfter stock-based pay 543.8M
2023Net income -75.5MFree cash flow 136.4MAfter stock-based pay -114.2M
2024Net income 279.9MFree cash flow 697.3MAfter stock-based pay 419.6M
2025Net income 236.8MFree cash flow 487.4MAfter stock-based pay 127.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
6.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 6%418.0M
Acquisitions 0%10.5M
Dividends 36%2.4B
Share buybacks 46%3.1B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 12%807.6M
Over the same years it paid 2.6B in stock. The share count fell 19.8%. 463.8M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.50$0.00$2.50$5.00$7.50$10.00
2016Earnings per share $2.92Free cash flow per share $4.48Dividend per share $2.53
2017Earnings per share $1.91Free cash flow per share $7.56Dividend per share $2.58
2018Earnings per share $4.06Free cash flow per share $5.00Dividend per share $2.77
2019Earnings per share $2.47Free cash flow per share $5.47Dividend per share $2.20
2020Earnings per share $3.55Free cash flow per share $4.51Dividend per share $1.73
2021Earnings per share $4.65Free cash flow per share $7.27Dividend per share $1.72
2022Earnings per share $3.54Free cash flow per share $7.77Dividend per share $1.80
2023Earnings per share $-0.85Free cash flow per share $1.53Dividend per share $1.94
2024Earnings per share $2.73Free cash flow per share $6.81Dividend per share $1.75
2025Earnings per share $2.23Free cash flow per share $4.58Dividend per share $1.75
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
80.0M100.0M120.0M140.0M
2016Diluted shares 132.6M
2017Diluted shares 132.5M
2018Diluted shares 129.8M
2019Diluted shares 116.1M
2020Diluted shares 113.5M
2021Diluted shares 113.7M
2022Diluted shares 101.0M
2023Diluted shares 89.0M
2024Diluted shares 102.4M
2025Diluted shares 106.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B
2016Net debt 29.8M
2017Net debt -293.5M
2018Net debt 187.7M
2019Net debt 448.0M
2020Net debt 292.9M
2021Net debt 220.2M
2022Net debt 452.9M
2023Net debt 718.9M
2024Net debt 378.8M
2025Net debt 218.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.6×
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$5.4M1 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans100%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.