HLI · Financials(investment advice) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-03-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Houlihan Lokey, Inc. reported revenue of $2.6 billion in fiscal 2026, after growing 11.7% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 22.3% in 2018 to 20.1%. Of the $4.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 25.3% went to dividends and 20.2% to buybacks; the share count rose 3.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 6 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20262.6B+11.7% a year over 9 years
Operating margin20.1%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay480.5M18.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score4/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2018Revenue 963.4MOperating income 214.4M
2019Revenue 1.1BOperating income 219.1M
2020Revenue 1.2BOperating income 229.6M
2020
2021Revenue 1.5BOperating income 408.2M
2022Revenue 2.3BOperating income 612.9M
2023Revenue 1.8BOperating income 341.7M
2024Revenue 1.9BOperating income 373.2M
2025Revenue 2.4BOperating income 502.6M
2026Revenue 2.6BOperating income 527.0M
2018201920202020202120222023202420252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+13.1%
+11.4%
+11.7%
Operating income
+15.5%
+5.2%
+10.5%
Net income
+18.7%
+6.4%
+10.6%
Earnings per share
+18.3%
+6.4%
+10.2%
Free cash flow per share
+98.9%
+3.9%
+11.8%
Dividend per share
+7.0%
+13.7%
+13.9%
Shares
+0.4%
-0.1%
+0.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%40.0%
2018Operating 22.3%Net 17.9%Free cash flow 25.2%
2019Operating 20.2%Net 14.7%Free cash flow 20.1%
2020Operating 19.8%Net 15.9%Free cash flow 23.0%
2020
2021Operating 26.8%Net 20.5%Free cash flow 37.1%
2022Operating 27.0%Net 19.3%Free cash flow 32.1%
2023Operating 18.9%Net 14.0%Free cash flow 4.7%
2024Operating 19.5%Net 14.6%Free cash flow 13.7%
2025Operating 21.0%Net 16.7%Free cash flow 33.9%
2026Operating 20.1%Net 16.3%Free cash flow 26.0%
2018201920202020202120222023202420252026
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2018Return on invested capital 19.6%
2019Return on invested capital 16.8%
2020Return on invested capital 17.5%
2020
2021Return on invested capital 21.7%
2022
2023
2024
2025
2026
2018201920202020202120222023202420252026
Economic profit
Economic profit
050.0M100.0M150.0M200.0M
2018Economic profit 81.6M
2019Economic profit 61.6M
2020Economic profit 75.2M
2020
2021Economic profit 165.6M
2022
2023
2024
2025
2026
2018201920202020202120222023202420252026
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
18.2%
Return on assets
9.9%
Asset turnover
0.61×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-250.0M0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2018Net income 172.3MFree cash flow 242.9MAfter stock-based pay 195.8M
2019Net income 159.1MFree cash flow 217.5MAfter stock-based pay 161.0M
2020Net income 183.8MFree cash flow 266.9MAfter stock-based pay 202.6M
2020
2021Net income 312.8MFree cash flow 565.7MAfter stock-based pay 503.3M
2022Net income 437.8MFree cash flow 727.9MAfter stock-based pay 636.0M
2023Net income 254.2MFree cash flow 85.5MAfter stock-based pay -71.4M
2024Net income 280.3MFree cash flow 261.7MAfter stock-based pay 95.1M
2025Net income 399.7MFree cash flow 808.9MAfter stock-based pay 640.5M
2026Net income 425.7MFree cash flow 681.8MAfter stock-based pay 480.5M
2018201920202020202120222023202420252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2018–2026
4.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 6%237.5M
Acquisitions 13%545.8M
Dividends 25%1.0B
Share buybacks 20%825.8M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 35%1.5B
Over the same years it paid 1.0B in stock. The share count rose 3.2%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2018Earnings per share $2.60Free cash flow per share $3.66Dividend per share $0.79
2019Earnings per share $2.42Free cash flow per share $3.30Dividend per share $1.02
2020Earnings per share $2.80Free cash flow per share $4.06Dividend per share $1.23
2020
2021Earnings per share $4.55Free cash flow per share $8.24Dividend per share $1.34
2022Earnings per share $6.41Free cash flow per share $10.66Dividend per share $1.68
2023Earnings per share $3.76Free cash flow per share $1.27Dividend per share $2.08
2024Earnings per share $4.11Free cash flow per share $3.84Dividend per share $2.18
2025Earnings per share $5.82Free cash flow per share $11.78Dividend per share $2.41
2026Earnings per share $6.22Free cash flow per share $9.96Dividend per share $2.54
2018201920202020202120222023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
65.0M66.0M67.0M68.0M69.0M
2018Diluted shares 66.3M
2019Diluted shares 65.8M
2020Diluted shares 65.7M
2020
2021Diluted shares 68.7M
2022Diluted shares 68.3M
2023Diluted shares 67.6M
2024Diluted shares 68.2M
2025Diluted shares 68.7M
2026Diluted shares 68.4M
2018201920202020202120222023202420252026
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-800.0M-600.0M-400.0M-200.0M0
2018Net debt -194.9M
2019Net debt -254.6M
2020Net debt -343.7M
2020
2021Net debt -791.0M
2022
2023
2024
2025
2026
2018201920202020202120222023202420252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (22M) is well below depreciation (43M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$52.01discounted at 10.2% a year · 52% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
8.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
6.2×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.4×
Free cash flow yield
13.5%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today1.7B
Everything after, today1.8B
The whole business3.6B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders3.6B
Divided among 68.4M shares: <strong>$52.01</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2018Reported 195.8M
2019Reported 161.0M
2020Reported 202.6M
2020
2021Reported 503.3M
2022Reported 636.0M
2023Reported -71.4M
2024Reported 95.1M
2025Reported 640.5M
2026Reported 480.5M
2027Projected 207.0M
2028Projected 228.7M
2029Projected 250.5M
2030Projected 271.7M
2031Projected 292.1M
2032Projected 311.1M
2033Projected 328.2M
2034Projected 343.0M
2035Projected 355.0M
2036Projected 363.9M
2018202020212023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
2.9B
3.2B
3.5B
3.8B
4.1B
4.4B
4.6B
4.8B
5.0B
5.1B
Growth
11.5%
10.5%
9.5%
8.5%
7.5%
6.5%
5.5%
4.5%
3.5%
2.5%
Cash margin
7.1%
7.1%
7.1%
7.1%
7.1%
7.1%
7.1%
7.1%
7.1%
7.1%
Free cash flow
207.0M
228.7M
250.5M
271.7M
292.1M
311.1M
328.2M
343.0M
355.0M
363.9M
Worth today
187.9M
188.4M
187.3M
184.5M
180.0M
174.0M
166.6M
158.0M
148.5M
138.1M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
54
57
60
64
69
9.7%
50
53
56
59
63
10.2%
47
49
52
55
58
10.7%
44
46
49
51
54
11.2%
42
44
46
48
50
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
13.5%
15.5%
5.7%
38
41
44
48
51
6.4%
41
44
48
52
56
7.1%
44
48
52
56
61
7.8%
48
52
56
61
66
8.5%
51
55
60
65
70
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$35.31
Median$52.01
90th percentile$74.40
$40.00$60.00$80.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$42.78</b> and <b>$62.85</b>; one in ten below $35.31, one in ten above $74.40.
Does the long run make sense?
4.4×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 4.4 times that year's EBITDA.
5%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 53% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 5% on the new capital.
52%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 24.6%) = <strong>5.03%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$500,5701 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$140,1501 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.