AMP · Financials(investment advice) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Ameriprise Financial Inc reported revenue of $18.9 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.3% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 13.4% in 2016 to 23.8%. Of the $40.8 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 48.3% went to buybacks and 12.9% to dividends; the share count fell 41.6%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 6 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202518.9B+5.3% a year over 9 years
Operating margin23.8%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay8.0B42.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2016Revenue 11.8BOperating income 1.6B
2017Revenue 12.2BOperating income 2.2B
2018Revenue 12.9BOperating income 2.5B
2019Revenue 13.1BOperating income 2.2B
2020Revenue 12.0BOperating income 1.8B
2021Revenue 13.4BOperating income 4.2B
2022Revenue 14.3BOperating income 3.9B
2023Revenue 16.1BOperating income 3.2B
2024Revenue 17.9BOperating income 4.3B
2025Revenue 18.9BOperating income 4.5B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+9.7%
+9.6%
+5.3%
Operating income
+4.6%
+19.7%
+12.3%
Net income
+4.2%
+18.4%
+11.7%
Earnings per share
+9.4%
+24.3%
+18.6%
Free cash flow per share
+30.8%
+18.5%
+22.6%
Dividend per share
+8.9%
+8.9%
+8.8%
Shares
-4.8%
-4.8%
-5.8%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2016Operating 13.4%Net 11.1%Free cash flow 18.9%
2017Operating 18.2%Net 12.2%Free cash flow 11.2%
2018Operating 19.2%Net 16.2%Free cash flow 18.8%
2019Operating 17.0%Net 14.4%Free cash flow 16.8%
2020Operating 15.3%Net 12.8%Free cash flow 37.4%
2021Operating 31.3%Net 25.5%Free cash flow 23.9%
2022Operating 27.4%Net 22.0%Free cash flow 29.5%
2023Operating 20.1%Net 15.9%Free cash flow 28.0%
2024Operating 23.8%Net 19.0%Free cash flow 35.8%
2025Operating 23.8%Net 18.8%Free cash flow 43.2%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
54.4%
Return on assets
1.9%
Asset turnover
0.10×
Overheads (SG&A)
20.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2016Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 2.2BAfter stock-based pay 2.1B
2017Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2018Net income 2.1BFree cash flow 2.4BAfter stock-based pay 2.3B
2019Net income 1.9BFree cash flow 2.2BAfter stock-based pay 2.1B
2020Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 4.5BAfter stock-based pay 4.3B
2021Net income 3.4BFree cash flow 3.2BAfter stock-based pay 3.1B
2022Net income 3.1BFree cash flow 4.2BAfter stock-based pay 4.1B
2023Net income 2.6BFree cash flow 4.5BAfter stock-based pay 4.3B
2024Net income 3.4BFree cash flow 6.4BAfter stock-based pay 6.2B
2025Net income 3.6BFree cash flow 8.2BAfter stock-based pay 8.0B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
40.8B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 4%1.5B
Acquisitions 1%610.0M
Dividends 13%5.2B
Share buybacks 48%19.7B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 34%13.7B
Over the same years it paid 1.6B in stock. The share count fell 41.6%. 18.1B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$25.00$50.00$75.00$100.00
2016Earnings per share $7.81Free cash flow per share $13.31Dividend per share $2.85
2017Earnings per share $9.44Free cash flow per share $8.69Dividend per share $3.13
2018Earnings per share $14.20Free cash flow per share $16.49Dividend per share $3.43
2019Earnings per share $13.92Free cash flow per share $16.16Dividend per share $3.71
2020Earnings per share $12.20Free cash flow per share $35.61Dividend per share $3.95
2021Earnings per share $28.48Free cash flow per share $26.71Dividend per share $4.26
2022Earnings per share $27.70Free cash flow per share $37.16Dividend per share $4.70
2023Earnings per share $23.71Free cash flow per share $41.75Dividend per share $5.10
2024Earnings per share $33.05Free cash flow per share $62.38Dividend per share $5.58
2025Earnings per share $36.28Free cash flow per share $83.11Dividend per share $6.07
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
80.0M100.0M120.0M140.0M160.0M180.0M
2016Diluted shares 168.2M
2017Diluted shares 156.7M
2018Diluted shares 147.7M
2019Diluted shares 136.0M
2020Diluted shares 125.7M
2021Diluted shares 120.0M
2022Diluted shares 113.7M
2023Diluted shares 107.8M
2024Diluted shares 102.9M
2025Diluted shares 98.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$569.92discounted at 10.2% a year · 51% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
15.7×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
12.0×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
3.0×
Free cash flow yield
14.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today27.3B
Everything after, today28.6B
The whole business56.0B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders56.0B
Divided among 98.2M shares: <strong>$569.92</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Reported 2.1B
2017Reported 1.2B
2018Reported 2.3B
2019Reported 2.1B
2020Reported 4.3B
2021Reported 3.1B
2022Reported 4.1B
2023Reported 4.3B
2024Reported 6.2B
2025Reported 8.0B
2026Projected 3.5B
2027Projected 3.8B
2028Projected 4.1B
2029Projected 4.4B
2030Projected 4.6B
2031Projected 4.9B
2032Projected 5.1B
2033Projected 5.3B
2034Projected 5.5B
2035Projected 5.7B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
20.7B
22.5B
24.3B
26.0B
27.7B
29.3B
30.7B
31.9B
33.0B
33.8B
Growth
9.5%
8.7%
7.9%
7.2%
6.4%
5.6%
4.8%
4.1%
3.3%
2.5%
Cash margin
16.7%
16.7%
16.7%
16.7%
16.7%
16.7%
16.7%
16.7%
16.7%
16.7%
Free cash flow
3.5B
3.8B
4.1B
4.4B
4.6B
4.9B
5.1B
5.3B
5.5B
5.7B
Worth today
3.1B
3.1B
3.0B
3.0B
2.9B
2.7B
2.6B
2.5B
2.3B
2.1B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
589
621
659
703
754
9.7%
551
579
611
648
691
10.2%
518
542
570
601
638
10.7%
488
509
534
561
592
11.2%
461
480
501
525
552
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
13.5%
13.4%
413
446
483
522
564
15.1%
449
486
526
569
616
16.7%
486
526
570
617
667
18.4%
522
566
613
664
719
20.1%
558
606
657
712
771
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.5%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$435.37
Median$571.43
90th percentile$767.03
$400.00$600.00$800.00$1,000.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$493.02</b> and <b>$661.07</b>; one in ten below $435.37, one in ten above $767.03.
Does the long run make sense?
9.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 9.1 times that year's EBITDA.
22%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 11% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 22% on the new capital.
51%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 20.9%) = <strong>5.28%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.