MA · Financials(services-business services, nec) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Mastercard Inc reported revenue of $32.8 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $86.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 71.8% went to buybacks and 17.3% to dividends. On the accounting screens, it passes 8 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 7.73 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202532.8B
Operating margin57.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital56.9%50.4% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay16.6B50.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.4×net debt 8.4B
Piotroski F-score8/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2018
2018Revenue 21.8BOperating income 7.3B
2019
2019Revenue 25.0BOperating income 9.7B
2020Revenue 23.6BOperating income 8.1B
2021Revenue 29.8BOperating income 10.1B
2022Revenue 22.2BOperating income 12.3B
2023Revenue 25.1BOperating income 14.0B
2024Revenue 28.2BOperating income 15.6B
2025Revenue 32.8BOperating income 18.9B
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+13.8%
+6.8%
—
Operating income
+15.5%
+18.5%
—
Net income
+14.7%
+18.5%
—
Earnings per share
+17.3%
+21.0%
—
Free cash flow per share
+19.6%
+22.6%
—
Dividend per share
+15.8%
+13.8%
—
Shares
-2.3%
-2.1%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2018
2018Operating 33.4%Net 26.8%Free cash flow 27.0%
2019
2019Operating 38.7%Net 32.5%Free cash flow 31.1%
2020Operating 34.2%Net 27.1%Free cash flow 29.2%
2021Operating 33.8%Net 29.1%Free cash flow 30.3%
2022Operating 55.2%Net 44.7%Free cash flow 48.4%
2023Operating 55.8%Net 44.6%Free cash flow 46.3%
2024Operating 55.3%Net 45.7%Free cash flow 50.8%
2025Operating 57.6%Net 45.6%Free cash flow 52.3%
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 5.9%
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 50.5%
2019
2019Return on invested capital 55.9%
2020Return on invested capital 35.0%
2021Return on invested capital 40.1%
2022Return on invested capital 51.1%
2023Return on invested capital 50.9%
2024Return on invested capital 53.2%
2025Return on invested capital 56.9%
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2018
2018Economic profit 5.2B
2019
2019Economic profit 7.2B
2020Economic profit 5.5B
2021Economic profit 7.2B
2022Economic profit 9.2B
2023Economic profit 10.2B
2024Economic profit 11.7B
2025Economic profit 13.6B
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
193.5%
Return on assets
27.6%
Asset turnover
0.61×
Overheads (SG&A)
34.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2018
2018Net income 5.9BFree cash flow 5.9BAfter stock-based pay 5.7B
2019
2019Net income 8.1BFree cash flow 7.8BAfter stock-based pay 7.5B
2020Net income 6.4BFree cash flow 6.9BAfter stock-based pay 6.6B
2021Net income 8.7BFree cash flow 9.1BAfter stock-based pay 8.8B
2022Net income 9.9BFree cash flow 10.8BAfter stock-based pay 10.5B
2023Net income 11.2BFree cash flow 11.6BAfter stock-based pay 11.1B
2024Net income 12.9BFree cash flow 14.3BAfter stock-based pay 13.8B
2025Net income 15.0BFree cash flow 17.2BAfter stock-based pay 16.6B
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2018–2025
86.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 4%3.3B
Acquisitions 11%9.7B
Dividends 17%15.0B
Share buybacks 72%62.3B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -4%-3.5B
Over the same years it paid 2.9B in stock. 59.4B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00$20.00
2018
2018Earnings per share $5.60Free cash flow per share $5.63Dividend per share $1.00
2019
2019Earnings per share $7.94Free cash flow per share $7.59Dividend per share $1.32
2020Earnings per share $6.37Free cash flow per share $6.84Dividend per share $1.60
2021Earnings per share $8.76Free cash flow per share $9.13Dividend per share $1.76
2022Earnings per share $10.23Free cash flow per share $11.07Dividend per share $1.96
2023Earnings per share $11.83Free cash flow per share $12.27Dividend per share $2.28
2024Earnings per share $13.89Free cash flow per share $15.43Dividend per share $2.64
2025Earnings per share $16.52Free cash flow per share $18.94Dividend per share $3.04
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
900.0M950.0M1.0B1.1B
2018
2018Diluted shares 1.0B
2019
2019Diluted shares 1.0B
2020Diluted shares 1.0B
2021Diluted shares 992.0M
2022Diluted shares 971.0M
2023Diluted shares 946.0M
2024Diluted shares 927.0M
2025Diluted shares 906.0M
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-5.0B05.0B10.0B
2018
2018Net debt -348.0M
2019
2019Net debt 1.5B
2020Net debt 2.6B
2021Net debt 6.5B
2022Net debt 7.0B
2023Net debt 7.1B
2024Net debt 9.8B
2025Net debt 8.4B
2018201820192019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.4×
Interest coverage
28× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.03 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 51d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
8of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
7.73safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.01 × 6.56+0.10
Retained earnings ÷ assets 1.57 × 3.26+5.12
Operating income ÷ assets 0.35 × 6.72+2.34
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.17 × 1.05+0.18
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.54below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.05+0.97
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.96+0.39
Sales growth 1.16+1.04
Slower depreciation 0.89+0.10
Overheads vs sales 0.95-0.16
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.23
Leverage rising 0.99-0.32
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (489M) is well below depreciation (1,143M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$587.40discounted at 5.9% a year · 73% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
35.6×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
27.0×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
16.5×
Free cash flow yield
3.1%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today144.4B
Everything after, today396.3B
The whole business540.6B
Minus net debt-8.4B
What belongs to shareholders532.2B
Divided among 906.0M shares: <strong>$587.40</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
010.0B20.0B30.0B
2018
2018Reported 5.7B
2019
2019Reported 7.5B
2020Reported 6.6B
2021Reported 8.8B
2022Reported 10.5B
2023Reported 11.1B
2024Reported 13.8B
2025Reported 16.6B
2026Projected 15.8B
2027Projected 16.8B
2028Projected 17.8B
2029Projected 18.8B
2030Projected 19.7B
2031Projected 20.6B
2032Projected 21.4B
2033Projected 22.2B
2034Projected 22.9B
2035Projected 23.4B
2018201920202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
35.1B
37.4B
39.6B
41.8B
43.9B
45.9B
47.7B
49.4B
50.8B
52.1B
Growth
7.0%
6.5%
6.0%
5.5%
5.0%
4.5%
4.0%
3.5%
3.0%
2.5%
Cash margin
45.0%
45.0%
45.0%
45.0%
45.0%
45.0%
45.0%
45.0%
45.0%
45.0%
Free cash flow
15.8B
16.8B
17.8B
18.8B
19.7B
20.6B
21.4B
22.2B
22.9B
23.4B
Worth today
14.9B
15.0B
15.0B
14.9B
14.8B
14.6B
14.3B
14.0B
13.6B
13.2B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
4.9%
610
705
839
1,044
1,394
5.4%
529
599
692
824
1,025
5.9%
466
519
587
679
808
6.4%
417
458
510
577
667
6.9%
377
410
450
501
567
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.0%
5.0%
7.0%
9.0%
11.0%
36.0%
404
442
483
527
575
40.5%
447
489
535
584
638
45.0%
491
537
587
642
700
49.5%
534
585
640
699
763
53.9%
577
632
692
756
826
All the inputs moving at once
4,914 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 6.7%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$383.42
Median$585.30
90th percentile$1,009.57
$500.00$1,000.00$1,500.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$465.89</b> and <b>$764.85</b>; one in ten below $383.42, one in ten above $1,009.57.
Does the long run make sense?
22.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 22.1 times that year's EBITDA.
79%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 3% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 79% on the new capital — it has earned 50% on average over the last five years.
73%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.