PYPL · Financials(services-business services, nec) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
PayPal Holdings, Inc. reported revenue of $33.2 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 13.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 14.6% in 2016 to 18.3%. Of the $51.8 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 64.2% went to buybacks and 17.2% to acquisitions; the share count fell 20.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 8 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.27 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202533.2B+13.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin18.3%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—11.5% on average over 2 years
Free cash flow after stock pay4.6B13.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.3×net debt 1.9B
Piotroski F-score8/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2016Revenue 10.8BOperating income 1.6B
2017Revenue 13.1BOperating income 2.1B
2018Revenue 15.5BOperating income 2.2B
2019Revenue 17.8BOperating income 2.7B
2020Revenue 21.5BOperating income 3.3B
2021Revenue 25.4BOperating income 4.3B
2022Revenue 27.5BOperating income 3.8B
2023Revenue 29.8BOperating income 5.0B
2024Revenue 31.8BOperating income 5.3B
2025Revenue 33.2BOperating income 6.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+6.4%
+9.1%
+13.2%
Operating income
+16.5%
+13.0%
+16.1%
Net income
+29.3%
+4.5%
+15.8%
Earnings per share
+37.3%
+8.8%
+18.8%
Free cash flow per share
+9.2%
+5.0%
+12.2%
Shares
-5.8%
-4.0%
-2.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%40.0%
2016Operating 14.6%Net 12.9%Free cash flow 23.0%
2017Operating 16.2%Net 13.7%Free cash flow 14.2%
2018Operating 14.2%Net 13.3%Free cash flow 30.1%
2019Operating 15.3%Net 13.8%Free cash flow 18.9%
2020Operating 15.3%Net 19.6%Free cash flow 25.0%
2021Operating 16.8%Net 16.4%Free cash flow 19.3%
2022Operating 13.9%Net 8.8%Free cash flow 18.6%
2023Operating 16.9%Net 14.3%Free cash flow 14.2%
2024Operating 16.7%Net 13.0%Free cash flow 21.3%
2025Operating 18.3%Net 15.8%Free cash flow 16.8%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018Return on invested capital 10.9%
2019Return on invested capital 10.2%
2020Return on invested capital 9.4%
2021Return on invested capital 14.1%
2022Return on invested capital 9.0%
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
25.8%
Return on assets
6.5%
Asset turnover
0.41×
Overheads (SG&A)
6.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 2.5BAfter stock-based pay 2.1B
2017Net income 1.8BFree cash flow 1.9BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2018Net income 2.1BFree cash flow 4.7BAfter stock-based pay 3.8B
2019Net income 2.5BFree cash flow 3.4BAfter stock-based pay 2.3B
2020Net income 4.2BFree cash flow 5.4BAfter stock-based pay 4.0B
2021Net income 4.2BFree cash flow 4.9BAfter stock-based pay 3.5B
2022Net income 2.4BFree cash flow 5.1BAfter stock-based pay 3.8B
2023Net income 4.2BFree cash flow 4.2BAfter stock-based pay 2.7B
2024Net income 4.1BFree cash flow 6.8BAfter stock-based pay 5.5B
2025Net income 5.2BFree cash flow 5.6BAfter stock-based pay 4.6B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
51.8B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 14%7.5B
Acquisitions 17%8.9B
Dividends 0%130.0M
Share buybacks 64%33.2B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 4%2.0B
Over the same years it paid 10.8B in stock. The share count fell 20.5%. 22.5B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00$8.00
2016Earnings per share $1.15Free cash flow per share $2.04
2017Earnings per share $1.47Free cash flow per share $1.53
2018Earnings per share $1.71Free cash flow per share $3.87
2019Earnings per share $2.07Free cash flow per share $2.83
2020Earnings per share $3.54Free cash flow per share $4.51
2021Earnings per share $3.52Free cash flow per share $4.12
2022Earnings per share $2.09Free cash flow per share $4.41
2023Earnings per share $3.84Free cash flow per share $3.81Dividend per share $0.00
2024Earnings per share $3.99Free cash flow per share $6.51Dividend per share $0.00
2025Earnings per share $5.41Free cash flow per share $5.75Dividend per share $0.13
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
900.0M1.0B1.1B1.2B1.3B
2016Diluted shares 1.2B
2017Diluted shares 1.2B
2018Diluted shares 1.2B
2019Diluted shares 1.2B
2020Diluted shares 1.2B
2021Diluted shares 1.2B
2022Diluted shares 1.2B
2023Diluted shares 1.1B
2024Diluted shares 1.0B
2025Diluted shares 968.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-7.5B-5.0B-2.5B02.5B5.0B
2016
2017
2018Net debt -5.6B
2019Net debt -2.4B
2020Net debt 4.1B
2021Net debt 2.9B
2022Net debt 2.6B
2023Net debt 595.0M
2024Net debt 3.2B
2025Net debt 1.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.3×
Interest coverage
14× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.29 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 9d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
8of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.27safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.17 × 6.56+1.09
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.40 × 3.26+1.32
Operating income ÷ assets 0.08 × 6.72+0.51
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.34 × 1.05+0.35
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.66below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.82+0.75
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.97+0.39
Sales growth 1.04+0.93
Slower depreciation 1.12+0.13
Overheads vs sales 0.88-0.15
Profit not in cash -0.01-0.07
Leverage rising 1.00-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.