MSCI · Industrials(services-business services, nec) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Msci Inc. reported revenue of $3.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 11.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 42.4% in 2016 to 54.7%, and it earned 38.9% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $9.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 90.1% went to buybacks and 32.5% to dividends; the share count fell 20.6%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.58 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20253.1B+11.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin54.7%gross margin —
Return on invested capital38.9%31.2% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.4B45.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.3×net debt 5.7B
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2016Revenue 1.2BOperating income 488.1M
2017Revenue 1.3BOperating income 579.8M
2018Revenue 1.4BOperating income 686.9M
2019Revenue 1.6BOperating income 755.7M
2020Revenue 1.7BOperating income 884.8M
2021Revenue 2.0BOperating income 1.1B
2022Revenue 2.2BOperating income 1.2B
2023Revenue 2.5BOperating income 1.4B
2024Revenue 2.9BOperating income 1.5B
2025Revenue 3.1BOperating income 1.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+11.7%
+13.1%
+11.8%
Operating income
+12.4%
+14.1%
+15.0%
Net income
+11.4%
+14.8%
+18.5%
Earnings per share
+13.5%
+17.1%
+21.6%
Free cash flow per share
+14.9%
+16.7%
+18.9%
Dividend per share
+16.5%
+20.0%
+24.7%
Shares
-1.9%
-1.9%
-2.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 4.2%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%40.0%
2016Return on invested capital 13.8%
2017Return on invested capital 15.2%
2018Return on invested capital 23.0%
2019Return on invested capital 23.6%
2020Return on invested capital 26.5%
2021Return on invested capital 22.7%
2022Return on invested capital 28.7%
2023Return on invested capital 30.8%
2024Return on invested capital 35.0%
2025Return on invested capital 38.9%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Economic profit 230.2M
2017Economic profit 274.1M
2018Economic profit 453.4M
2019Economic profit 581.2M
2020Economic profit 654.1M
2021Economic profit 740.9M
2022Economic profit 861.1M
2023Economic profit 1.0B
2024Economic profit 1.1B
2025Economic profit 1.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
—
Return on assets
21.1%
Asset turnover
0.55×
Research & development
5.7% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
5.7% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Net income 260.9MFree cash flow 410.1MAfter stock-based pay 378.1M
2017Net income 304.0MFree cash flow 371.0MAfter stock-based pay 334.4M
2018Net income 507.9MFree cash flow 582.5MAfter stock-based pay 543.6M
2019Net income 563.6MFree cash flow 680.4MAfter stock-based pay 639.2M
2020Net income 601.8MFree cash flow 789.3MAfter stock-based pay 738.2M
2021Net income 726.0MFree cash flow 922.6MAfter stock-based pay 867.6M
2022Net income 870.6MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2023Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2024Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2025Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
9.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 3%269.6M
Acquisitions 18%1.7B
Dividends 33%3.0B
Share buybacks 90%8.4B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -44%-4.1B
Over the same years it paid 591.0M in stock. The share count fell 20.6%. 7.8B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$10.00$20.00$30.00
2016Earnings per share $2.70Free cash flow per share $4.25Dividend per share $1.00
2017Earnings per share $3.31Free cash flow per share $4.04Dividend per share $1.30
2018Earnings per share $5.66Free cash flow per share $6.49Dividend per share $1.91
2019Earnings per share $6.59Free cash flow per share $7.95Dividend per share $2.61
2020Earnings per share $7.12Free cash flow per share $9.34Dividend per share $2.92
2021Earnings per share $8.70Free cash flow per share $11.05Dividend per share $3.62
2022Earnings per share $10.72Free cash flow per share $13.32Dividend per share $4.59
2023Earnings per share $14.39Free cash flow per share $15.20Dividend per share $5.52
2024Earnings per share $14.05Free cash flow per share $18.59Dividend per share $6.45
2025Earnings per share $15.69Free cash flow per share $20.21Dividend per share $7.26
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
75.0M80.0M85.0M90.0M95.0M100.0M
2016Diluted shares 96.5M
2017Diluted shares 91.9M
2018Diluted shares 89.7M
2019Diluted shares 85.5M
2020Diluted shares 84.5M
2021Diluted shares 83.5M
2022Diluted shares 81.2M
2023Diluted shares 79.8M
2024Diluted shares 79.0M
2025Diluted shares 76.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Net debt 1.3B
2017Net debt 1.2B
2018Net debt 1.7B
2019Net debt 1.6B
2020Net debt 2.1B
2021Net debt 2.7B
2022Net debt 3.5B
2023Net debt 4.0B
2024Net debt 4.1B
2025Net debt 5.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.3×
Interest coverage
8× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.90 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.58safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.03 × 6.56-0.21
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.95 × 3.26+3.10
Operating income ÷ assets 0.30 × 6.72+2.02
Equity ÷ liabilities -0.32 × 1.05-0.33
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.81below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.92
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.94+0.38
Sales growth 1.10+0.98
Slower depreciation 0.91+0.11
Overheads vs sales 0.90-0.15
Profit not in cash -0.07-0.32
Leverage rising 1.26-0.41
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Net debt is 3.3 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
87% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$1,577.83discounted at 4.2% a year · 87% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
100.6×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
72.9×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
40.4×
Free cash flow yield
1.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today16.9B
Everything after, today109.7B
The whole business126.6B
Minus net debt-5.7B
What belongs to shareholders120.9B
Divided among 76.6M shares: <strong>$1,577.83</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Reported 378.1M
2017Reported 334.4M
2018Reported 543.6M
2019Reported 639.2M
2020Reported 738.2M
2021Reported 867.6M
2022Reported 1.0B
2023Reported 1.1B
2024Reported 1.4B
2025Reported 1.4B
2026Projected 1.4B
2027Projected 1.6B
2028Projected 1.8B
2029Projected 2.0B
2030Projected 2.1B
2031Projected 2.3B
2032Projected 2.4B
2033Projected 2.5B
2034Projected 2.6B
2035Projected 2.7B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
3.5B
4.0B
4.4B
4.8B
5.2B
5.6B
5.9B
6.2B
6.4B
6.6B
Growth
13.0%
11.8%
10.7%
9.5%
8.3%
7.2%
6.0%
4.8%
3.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
40.8%
40.8%
40.8%
40.8%
40.8%
40.8%
40.8%
40.8%
40.8%
40.8%
Free cash flow
1.4B
1.6B
1.8B
2.0B
2.1B
2.3B
2.4B
2.5B
2.6B
2.7B
Worth today
1.4B
1.5B
1.6B
1.7B
1.7B
1.8B
1.8B
1.8B
1.8B
1.8B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
3.2%
1,641
2,340
4,083
16,076
—
3.7%
1,238
1,608
2,294
4,002
15,758
4.2%
987
1,215
1,578
2,252
3,935
4.7%
814
967
1,189
1,544
2,203
5.2%
689
798
947
1,165
1,514
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
9.0%
11.0%
13.0%
15.0%
17.0%
32.7%
1,049
1,153
1,266
1,388
1,520
36.7%
1,179
1,296
1,422
1,559
1,706
40.8%
1,308
1,438
1,578
1,729
1,892
44.9%
1,438
1,580
1,733
1,899
2,078
49.0%
1,568
1,723
1,890
2,070
2,264
All the inputs moving at once
3,712 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 6.1%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$720.29
Median$1,290.23
90th percentile$2,271.10
$1,000.00$2,000.00$3,000.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$939.90</b> and <b>$1,761.71</b>; one in ten below $720.29, one in ten above $2,271.10.
Does the long run make sense?
45.3×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 45.3 times that year's EBITDA.
35%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 7% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 35% on the new capital — it has earned 31% on average over the last five years.
87%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.