BAC · Financials(national commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Bank OF America Corp reported revenue of $113.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 3.4% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 41.8% in 2016 to 86.5%, and it earned 12.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $201.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 70.6% went to buybacks and 37.3% to dividends; the share count fell 30.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025113.1B+3.4% a year over 9 years
Operating margin86.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital12.7%10.9% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.9×net debt 86.0B
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
050.0B100.0B150.0B
2016Revenue 83.7BOperating income 35.0B
2017Revenue 87.1BOperating income 41.6B
2018Revenue 91.0BOperating income 53.2B
2019Revenue 91.2BOperating income 55.1B
2020Revenue 85.5BOperating income 27.2B
2021Revenue 89.1BOperating income 38.7B
2022Revenue 95.0BOperating income 51.1B
2023Revenue 102.8BOperating income 105.9B
2024Revenue 105.9BOperating income 89.3B
2025Revenue 113.1BOperating income 97.8B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+6.0%
+5.7%
+3.4%
Operating income
+24.2%
+29.1%
+12.1%
Net income
+3.5%
+11.3%
+6.2%
Earnings per share
+5.6%
+14.3%
+10.5%
Dividend per share
+5.8%
+7.2%
+14.1%
Shares
-2.0%
-2.7%
-4.0%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%50.0%100.0%150.0%
2016Operating 41.8%Net 21.3%
2017Operating 47.7%Net 20.9%
2018Operating 58.4%Net 30.9%
2019Operating 60.4%Net 30.1%
2020Operating 31.8%Net 20.9%
2021Operating 43.4%Net 35.9%
2022Operating 53.8%Net 29.0%
2023Operating 103.0%Net 25.6%
2024Operating 84.3%Net 25.5%
2025Operating 86.5%Net 27.0%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016Return on invested capital 5.2%
2017Return on invested capital 5.2%
2018Return on invested capital 8.8%
2019Return on invested capital 9.1%
2020Return on invested capital 4.8%
2021Return on invested capital 6.6%
2022Return on invested capital 8.3%
2023Return on invested capital 14.4%
2024Return on invested capital 12.6%
2025Return on invested capital 12.7%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
10.1%
Return on assets
0.9%
Asset turnover
0.03×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
010.0B20.0B30.0B40.0B
2016Net income 17.8B
2017Net income 18.2B
2018Net income 28.1B
2019Net income 27.4B
2020Net income 17.9B
2021Net income 32.0B
2022Net income 27.5B
2023Net income 26.3B
2024Net income 27.0B
2025Net income 30.5B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
201.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 37%75.2B
Share buybacks 71%142.5B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -8%-16.0B
Over the same years it paid 24.8B in stock. The share count fell 30.5%. 117.7B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00$4.00
2016Earnings per share $1.61Dividend per share $0.38
2017Earnings per share $1.69Dividend per share $0.53
2018Earnings per share $2.75Dividend per share $0.67
2019Earnings per share $2.90Dividend per share $0.63
2020Earnings per share $2.03Dividend per share $0.88
2021Earnings per share $3.74Dividend per share $0.94
2022Earnings per share $3.37Dividend per share $1.05
2023Earnings per share $3.26Dividend per share $1.12
2024Earnings per share $3.40Dividend per share $1.20
2025Earnings per share $3.97Dividend per share $1.25
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
7.0B8.0B9.0B10.0B11.0B12.0B
2016Diluted shares 11.0B
2017Diluted shares 10.8B
2018Diluted shares 10.2B
2019Diluted shares 9.4B
2020Diluted shares 8.8B
2021Diluted shares 8.6B
2022Diluted shares 8.2B
2023Diluted shares 8.1B
2024Diluted shares 7.9B
2025Diluted shares 7.7B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-200.0B-100.0B0100.0B
2016Net debt 69.1B
2017Net debt 70.0B
2018Net debt 52.0B
2019Net debt 79.3B
2020Net debt -117.5B
2021Net debt -68.1B
2022Net debt 45.8B
2023Net debt -30.9B
2024Net debt -6.8B
2025Net debt 86.0B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.9×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (30,509M against 12,613M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.