PNC · Financials(national commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
PNC Financial Services Group, Inc. reported revenue of $23.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 3.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 44.1% in 2017 to 99.1%, and it earned 16.0% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $64.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 29.4% went to dividends and 28.1% to buybacks; the share count fell 18.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202523.1B+3.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin99.1%gross margin —
Return on invested capital16.0%12.5% on average over 4 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.7×net debt 17.4B
Piotroski F-score6/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
010.0B20.0B30.0B
2017Revenue 16.3BOperating income 7.2B
2018
2018Revenue 16.2BOperating income 8.3B
2019Revenue 16.8BOperating income 9.3B
2020Revenue 16.9BOperating income 4.8B
2021Revenue 19.2BOperating income 7.5B
2022Revenue 21.1BOperating income 9.9B
2023Revenue 21.5BOperating income 17.1B
2024Revenue 21.6BOperating income 20.7B
2025Revenue 23.1BOperating income 22.9B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+3.0%
+6.4%
+3.9%
Operating income
+32.3%
+36.7%
+13.7%
Net income
+4.6%
-1.5%
+2.9%
Earnings per share
+6.0%
-0.0%
+5.3%
Dividend per share
+4.7%
+7.5%
+11.0%
Shares
-1.3%
-1.5%
-2.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%25.0%50.0%75.0%100.0%
2017Operating 44.1%Net 33.0%
2018
2018Operating 51.6%Net 33.0%
2019Operating 55.2%Net 32.2%
2020Operating 28.3%Net 44.7%
2021Operating 38.9%Net 29.8%
2022Operating 46.9%Net 28.9%
2023Operating 79.7%Net 26.3%
2024Operating 96.2%Net 27.6%
2025Operating 99.1%Net 30.3%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2017
2018
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022Return on invested capital 7.7%
2023Return on invested capital 11.6%
2024Return on invested capital 14.7%
2025Return on invested capital 16.0%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
11.5%
Return on assets
1.2%
Asset turnover
0.04×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2017Net income 5.4B
2018
2018Net income 5.3B
2019Net income 5.4B
2020Net income 7.6B
2021Net income 5.7B
2022Net income 6.1B
2023Net income 5.6B
2024Net income 6.0B
2025Net income 7.0B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
64.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 19%11.9B
Dividends 29%18.8B
Share buybacks 28%18.0B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 24%15.4B
Over the same years it paid 200.0M in stock. The share count fell 18.5%. 17.8B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00$20.00
2017Earnings per share $11.09Dividend per share $2.60
2018
2018Earnings per share $11.37Dividend per share $3.41
2019Earnings per share $12.09Dividend per share $4.23
2020Earnings per share $17.70Dividend per share $4.64
2021Earnings per share $13.44Dividend per share $4.83
2022Earnings per share $14.84Dividend per share $5.80
2023Earnings per share $14.08Dividend per share $6.14
2024Earnings per share $14.88Dividend per share $6.34
2025Earnings per share $17.67Dividend per share $6.65
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
375.0M400.0M425.0M450.0M475.0M500.0M
2017Diluted shares 486.0M
2018
2018Diluted shares 470.0M
2019Diluted shares 448.0M
2020Diluted shares 427.0M
2021Diluted shares 426.0M
2022Diluted shares 412.0M
2023Diluted shares 401.0M
2024Diluted shares 400.0M
2025Diluted shares 396.0M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
010.0B20.0B30.0B
2017
2018
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022Net debt 24.4B
2023Net debt 22.0B
2024Net debt 15.4B
2025Net debt 17.4B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.7×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (6,997M against 4,384M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.