COF · Financials(national commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Capital ONE Financial Corp reported revenue of $8.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after shrinking 12.0% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 29.4% in 2016 to 560.1%, and it earned 36.0% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $164.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 20.6% went to acquisitions and 15.9% to buybacks; the share count rose 6.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 3 of 7 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20258.1B-12.0% a year over 9 years
Operating margin560.1%gross margin —
Return on invested capital36.0%30.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay25.4B314.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash61.0B more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score3/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
020.0B40.0B60.0B
2016Revenue 25.5BOperating income 7.5B
2017Revenue 27.2BOperating income 8.3B
2018Revenue 3.4BOperating income 11.6B
2019Revenue 3.8BOperating income 12.0B
2020Revenue 3.7BOperating income 6.3B
2021Revenue 4.8BOperating income 17.4B
2022Revenue 5.4BOperating income 13.4B
2023Revenue 5.6BOperating income 18.7B
2024Revenue 5.9BOperating income 37.1B
2025Revenue 8.1BOperating income 45.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+14.2%
+16.6%
-12.0%
Operating income
+50.1%
+48.2%
+22.1%
Net income
-30.7%
-2.0%
-4.6%
Earnings per share
-37.7%
-5.2%
-5.2%
Free cash flow per share
+13.8%
+6.7%
+9.3%
Dividend per share
+5.0%
+22.8%
+6.5%
Shares
+11.2%
+3.4%
+0.7%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2016Return on invested capital 10.6%
2017Return on invested capital 6.5%
2018Return on invested capital 15.7%
2019Return on invested capital 14.8%
2020Return on invested capital 8.8%
2021Return on invested capital 22.1%
2022Return on invested capital 19.9%
2023Return on invested capital 25.8%
2024Return on invested capital 48.6%
2025Return on invested capital 36.0%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-10.0B010.0B20.0B30.0B
2016Economic profit 210.7M
2017Economic profit -1.8B
2018Economic profit 3.3B
2019Economic profit 3.0B
2020Economic profit -844.0M
2021Economic profit 7.3B
2022Economic profit 5.2B
2023Economic profit 9.2B
2024Economic profit 23.6B
2025Economic profit 29.6B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
2.2%
Return on assets
0.4%
Asset turnover
0.01×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
010.0B20.0B30.0B
2016Net income 3.8BFree cash flow 11.1BAfter stock-based pay 10.8B
2017Net income 2.0BFree cash flow 13.2BAfter stock-based pay 12.9B
2018Net income 6.0BFree cash flow 12.1BAfter stock-based pay 11.9B
2019Net income 5.5BFree cash flow 15.8BAfter stock-based pay 15.5B
2020Net income 2.7BFree cash flow 16.0BAfter stock-based pay 15.8B
2021Net income 12.4BFree cash flow 11.6BAfter stock-based pay 11.3B
2022Net income 7.4BFree cash flow 12.9BAfter stock-based pay 12.6B
2023Net income 4.9BFree cash flow 19.6BAfter stock-based pay 19.1B
2024Net income 4.8BFree cash flow 17.0BAfter stock-based pay 16.4B
2025Net income 2.5BFree cash flow 26.1BAfter stock-based pay 25.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
164.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 6%9.6B
Acquisitions 21%33.9B
Dividends 5%9.1B
Share buybacks 16%26.2B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 52%86.2B
Over the same years it paid 3.6B in stock. The share count rose 6.2%. 22.6B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$20.00$40.00$60.00
2016Earnings per share $7.36Free cash flow per share $21.73Dividend per share $1.59
2017Earnings per share $4.06Free cash flow per share $26.94Dividend per share $1.60
2018Earnings per share $12.45Free cash flow per share $25.05Dividend per share $1.60
2019Earnings per share $11.80Free cash flow per share $33.52Dividend per share $1.60
2020Earnings per share $5.91Free cash flow per share $34.84Dividend per share $1.00
2021Earnings per share $27.89Free cash flow per share $26.14Dividend per share $2.58
2022Earnings per share $18.72Free cash flow per share $32.74Dividend per share $2.42
2023Earnings per share $12.75Free cash flow per share $51.16Dividend per share $2.43
2024Earnings per share $12.38Free cash flow per share $44.20Dividend per share $2.43
2025Earnings per share $4.53Free cash flow per share $48.29Dividend per share $2.80
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
350.0M400.0M450.0M500.0M550.0M
2016Diluted shares 509.8M
2017Diluted shares 488.6M
2018Diluted shares 483.1M
2019Diluted shares 469.9M
2020Diluted shares 458.9M
2021Diluted shares 444.2M
2022Diluted shares 393.2M
2023Diluted shares 383.4M
2024Diluted shares 383.6M
2025Diluted shares 541.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-80.0B-60.0B-40.0B-20.0B0
2016Net debt -11.5B
2017Net debt -13.8B
2018Net debt -4.1B
2019Net debt -6.4B
2020Net debt -40.1B
2021Net debt -21.2B
2022Net debt -30.4B
2023Net debt -43.2B
2024Net debt -43.1B
2025Net debt -61.0B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-1.2×
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
3of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (1,578M) is well below depreciation (5,260M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
The effective tax rate is 8.5%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$1,741.95discounted at 10.2% a year · 53% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
384.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
17.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
109.4×
Free cash flow yield
2.7%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today411.3B
Everything after, today470.6B
The whole business881.9B
Plus net cash61.0B
What belongs to shareholders942.9B
Divided among 541.3M shares: <strong>$1,741.95</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
025.0B50.0B75.0B100.0B
2016Reported 10.8B
2017Reported 12.9B
2018Reported 11.9B
2019Reported 15.5B
2020Reported 15.8B
2021Reported 11.3B
2022Reported 12.6B
2023Reported 19.1B
2024Reported 16.4B
2025Reported 25.4B
2026Projected 44.2B
2027Projected 50.9B
2028Projected 57.7B
2029Projected 64.5B
2030Projected 71.1B
2031Projected 77.3B
2032Projected 82.9B
2033Projected 87.5B
2034Projected 91.1B
2035Projected 93.3B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
9.4B
10.8B
12.2B
13.7B
15.1B
16.4B
17.6B
18.6B
19.3B
19.8B
Growth
16.5%
14.9%
13.4%
11.8%
10.3%
8.7%
7.2%
5.6%
4.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
471.0%
471.0%
471.0%
471.0%
471.0%
471.0%
471.0%
471.0%
471.0%
471.0%
Free cash flow
44.2B
50.9B
57.7B
64.5B
71.1B
77.3B
82.9B
87.5B
91.1B
93.3B
Worth today
40.1B
41.9B
43.1B
43.7B
43.8B
43.2B
42.0B
40.2B
38.0B
35.3B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
1,797
1,894
2,005
2,134
2,285
9.7%
1,686
1,769
1,864
1,973
2,099
10.2%
1,587
1,660
1,742
1,835
1,942
10.7%
1,499
1,563
1,634
1,715
1,806
11.2%
1,421
1,477
1,539
1,609
1,688
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
12.5%
14.5%
16.5%
18.5%
20.5%
376.8%
1,291
1,385
1,486
1,594
1,710
423.9%
1,399
1,503
1,614
1,734
1,862
471.0%
1,506
1,620
1,742
1,873
2,013
518.1%
1,614
1,737
1,870
2,012
2,164
565.2%
1,722
1,855
1,998
2,151
2,315
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 70.7%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$598.74
Median$682.82
90th percentile$793.27
$600.00$700.00$800.00$900.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$636.26</b> and <b>$736.11</b>; one in ten below $598.74, one in ten above $793.27.
Does the long run make sense?
10.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 10.0 times that year's EBITDA.
31%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 8% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 31% on the new capital — it has earned 30% on average over the last five years.
53%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 13.18% × (1 − 8.5%) = <strong>12.06%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.20%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.