ARES · Financials(investment advice) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Ares Management Corp reported revenue of $5.6 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 21.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 32.7% in 2016 to 23.0%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 5 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20255.6B+21.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin23.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score4/5tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Revenue 964.8MOperating income 315.9M
2017Revenue 1.5BOperating income 171.1M
2018Revenue 958.5MOperating income 184.3M
2019Revenue 1.8BOperating income 425.2M
2020Revenue 1.8BOperating income 404.4M
2021Revenue 4.2BOperating income 1.1B
2022Revenue 3.1BOperating income 582.2M
2023Revenue 3.6BOperating income 1.3B
2024Revenue 3.9BOperating income 1.3B
2025Revenue 5.6BOperating income 1.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+22.4%
+26.0%
+21.6%
Operating income
+30.3%
+26.1%
+16.9%
Net income
+46.6%
+28.2%
+18.8%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-150.0%-100.0%-50.0%0.0%50.0%
2016Operating 32.7%Net 11.6%Free cash flow -66.1%
2017Operating 11.6%Net 5.1%Free cash flow -128.1%
2018Operating 19.2%Net 5.9%Free cash flow -149.8%
2019Operating 24.1%Net 8.4%
2020Operating 22.9%Net 8.6%
2021Operating 26.2%Net 9.7%
2022Operating 19.1%Net 5.5%
2023Operating 36.7%Net 13.1%
2024Operating 32.8%Net 11.9%
2025Operating 23.0%Net 9.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
12.3%
Return on assets
1.8%
Asset turnover
0.20×
Overheads (SG&A)
17.8% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-2.0B-1.0B01.0B
2016Net income 111.8MFree cash flow -637.6MAfter stock-based pay -676.6M
2017Net income 76.2MFree cash flow -1.9BAfter stock-based pay -2.0B
2018Net income 57.0MFree cash flow -1.4BAfter stock-based pay -1.5B
2019Net income 148.9M
2020Net income 152.1M
2021Net income 408.8M
2022Net income 167.5M
2023Net income 474.3M
2024Net income 463.7M
2025Net income 527.4M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-15.00$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00
2016
2017
2018Earnings per share $0.56Free cash flow per share $-14.13
2019Earnings per share $1.29
2020Earnings per share $0.59
2021Earnings per share $1.41
2022Earnings per share $0.57
2023Earnings per share $1.54
2024Earnings per share $1.48
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2016
2017Diluted shares 0
2018Diluted shares 101.6M
2019Diluted shares 115.2M
2020Diluted shares 259.6M
2021Diluted shares 290.5M
2022Diluted shares 294.6M
2023Diluted shares 307.6M
2024Diluted shares 313.2M
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 5 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–No new sharesShare count did not grow — not reportedno data
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.