IVZ · Financials(investment advice) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Invesco Ltd. reported revenue of $6.4 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 3.4% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 24.3% in 2016 to -10.9%, and it earned -7.6% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $10.8 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 37.6% went to dividends and 19.1% to acquisitions; the share count rose 9.6%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20256.4B+3.4% a year over 9 years
Operating margin-10.9%gross margin —
Return on invested capital-7.6%1.4% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.4B21.3% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA-1.5×net debt 787.6M
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Revenue 4.7BOperating income 1.2B
2017Revenue 5.2BOperating income 1.3B
2018Revenue 5.3BOperating income 1.2B
2019Revenue 6.1BOperating income 808.2M
2020Revenue 6.1BOperating income 920.4M
2021Revenue 6.9BOperating income 1.8B
2022Revenue 6.0BOperating income 1.3B
2023Revenue 5.7BOperating income -434.8M
2024Revenue 6.1BOperating income 832.1M
2025Revenue 6.4BOperating income -695.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+1.8%
+0.7%
+3.4%
Free cash flow per share
+41.8%
+5.6%
+11.2%
Dividend per share
+4.4%
+1.4%
-3.2%
Shares
-0.3%
-0.3%
+1.0%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20.0%-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Operating 24.3%Net 18.0%Free cash flow 10.7%
2017Operating 24.8%Net 21.8%Free cash flow 20.3%
2018Operating 22.7%Net 16.6%Free cash flow 13.7%
2019Operating 13.2%Net 9.2%Free cash flow 16.2%
2020Operating 15.0%Net 8.5%Free cash flow 18.1%
2021Operating 25.9%Net 20.2%Free cash flow 14.1%
2022Operating 21.8%Net 11.3%Free cash flow 8.4%
2023Operating -7.6%Net -5.8%Free cash flow 19.9%
2024Operating 13.7%Net 8.9%Free cash flow 18.5%
2025Operating -10.9%Net -2.7%Free cash flow 22.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
-10.0%-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%
2016Return on invested capital 8.6%
2017Return on invested capital 9.6%
2018Return on invested capital 8.5%
2019Return on invested capital 3.8%
2020Return on invested capital 4.2%
2021Return on invested capital 8.0%
2022Return on invested capital 5.9%
2023Return on invested capital -3.5%
2024Return on invested capital 4.0%
2025Return on invested capital -7.6%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
-1.4%
Return on assets
-0.6%
Asset turnover
0.24×
Overheads (SG&A)
9.0% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net income 854.2MFree cash flow 506.3MAfter stock-based pay 346.6M
2017Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 870.8M
2018Net income 882.8MFree cash flow 726.3MAfter stock-based pay 553.9M
2019Net income 564.7MFree cash flow 992.3MAfter stock-based pay 784.8M
2020Net income 524.8MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 926.8M
2021Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 969.3MAfter stock-based pay 829.2M
2022Net income 683.9MFree cash flow 510.3MAfter stock-based pay 404.1M
2023Net income -333.7MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2024Net income 538.0MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2025Net income -174.8MFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
10.8B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 11%1.2B
Acquisitions 19%2.1B
Dividends 38%4.1B
Share buybacks 13%1.4B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 19%2.0B
Over the same years it paid 1.4B in stock. The share count rose 9.6%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-1.00$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00$4.00
2016Earnings per share $2.06Free cash flow per share $1.22Dividend per share $1.11
2017Earnings per share $2.75Free cash flow per share $2.55Dividend per share $1.15
2018Earnings per share $2.14Free cash flow per share $1.76Dividend per share $1.19
2019Earnings per share $1.28Free cash flow per share $2.25Dividend per share $1.20
2020Earnings per share $1.13Free cash flow per share $2.41Dividend per share $0.77
2021Earnings per share $2.99Free cash flow per share $2.08Dividend per share $0.66
2022Earnings per share $1.49Free cash flow per share $1.11Dividend per share $0.73
2023Earnings per share $-0.73Free cash flow per share $2.49Dividend per share $0.78
2024Earnings per share $1.18Free cash flow per share $2.45Dividend per share $0.81
2025Earnings per share $-0.38Free cash flow per share $3.17Dividend per share $0.83
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
400.0M420.0M440.0M460.0M480.0M
2016Diluted shares 415.0M
2017Diluted shares 409.9M
2018Diluted shares 412.5M
2019Diluted shares 440.5M
2020Diluted shares 462.5M
2021Diluted shares 465.4M
2022Diluted shares 459.5M
2023Diluted shares 456.2M
2024Diluted shares 457.7M
2025Diluted shares 455.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-500.0M0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net debt 774.4M
2017Net debt 69.4M
2018Net debt 1.3B
2019Net debt 1.0B
2020Net debt 674.2M
2021Net debt 188.7M
2022Net debt 252.9M
2023Net debt 20.3M
2024Net debt -95.9M
2025Net debt 787.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-1.5×
Interest coverage
-8× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (84M) is well below depreciation (156M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
The effective tax rate is -53.9%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
With a free cash flow margin at or below zero in year ten, the business never generates cash for its owners and a DCF says nothing useful. Set a positive margin for year ten to see what it would take.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$7.2M5 sale(s) by 4 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.