KIM · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Kimco Realty Corp reported revenue of $2.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 6.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 33.6% in 2016 to 36.0%, and it earned 4.2% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $7.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 70.2% went to dividends and 8.6% back into the business; the share count rose 60.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 7 Piotroski tests; 3 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20252.1B+6.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin36.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital4.2%2.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.1B49.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA5.4×net debt 7.5B
Piotroski F-score6/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01B2B3B
2016Revenue 1.2BOperating income 393.6M
2017Revenue 1.2BOperating income 431.0M
2018Revenue 1.2BOperating income 582.4M
2019Revenue 1.2BOperating income 477.6M
2020Revenue 1.1BOperating income 332.6M
2021Revenue 1.4BOperating income 424.3M
2022Revenue 1.7BOperating income 565.5M
2023Revenue 1.8BOperating income 638.8M
2024Revenue 2.0BOperating income 629.1M
2025Revenue 2.1BOperating income 770.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+7.4%
+15.1%
+6.9%
Operating income
+10.9%
+18.3%
+7.8%
Net income
+66.8%
-10.2%
+4.9%
Earnings per share
+61.9%
-17.9%
-0.5%
Free cash flow per share
—
—
+4.8%
Dividend per share
+6.1%
+3.7%
-0.8%
Shares
+3.0%
+9.4%
+5.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0%25%50%75%100%
2016Operating 33.6%Net 32.4%Free cash flow 38.3%
2017Operating 35.9%Net 35.5%Free cash flow 33.9%
2018Operating 50.0%Net 42.7%Free cash flow 29.8%
2019Operating 41.2%Net 35.4%
2020Operating 31.4%Net 94.6%
2021Operating 31.1%Net 61.9%
2022Operating 32.7%Net 7.3%
2023Operating 35.8%Net 36.7%
2024Operating 30.9%Net 20.2%
2025Operating 36.0%Net 27.3%Free cash flow 51.5%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.1%
-2.5%0.0%2.5%5.0%7.5%10.0%
2016Return on invested capital 2.2%
2017Return on invested capital 4.3%
2018Return on invested capital 6.0%
2019Return on invested capital 4.9%
2020Return on invested capital 3.1%
2021Return on invested capital 2.5%
2022Return on invested capital -1.0%
2023Return on invested capital 3.4%
2024Return on invested capital 3.1%
2025Return on invested capital 4.2%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.5B-1.0B-0.5B0
2016Economic profit -542.9M
2017Economic profit -380.2M
2018Economic profit -207.3M
2019Economic profit -313.3M
2020Economic profit -531.0M
2021Economic profit -949.4M
2022Economic profit -1.5B
2023Economic profit -782.3M
2024Economic profit -925.2M
2025Economic profit -698.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
5.6%
Return on assets
3.0%
Asset turnover
0.11×
Overheads (SG&A)
6.2% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
00.5B1.0B1.5B
2016Net income 378.9MFree cash flow 448.6MAfter stock-based pay 429.5M
2017Net income 426.1MFree cash flow 407.4MAfter stock-based pay 385.8M
2018Net income 497.8MFree cash flow 347.1MAfter stock-based pay 328.8M
2019Net income 410.6M
2020Net income 1.0B
2021Net income 844.1M
2022Net income 126.0M
2023Net income 654.3M
2024Net income 410.8M
2025Net income 584.7MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
7.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 9%659.6M
Acquisitions 3%264.0M
Dividends 70%5.4B
Share buybacks 3%195.5M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 15%1.2B
Over the same years it paid 253.7M in stock. The share count rose 60.9%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$1$2$3
2016Earnings per share $0.90Free cash flow per share $1.07Dividend per share $1.13
2017Earnings per share $1.00Free cash flow per share $0.96Dividend per share $1.19
2018Earnings per share $1.18Free cash flow per share $0.82Dividend per share $1.26
2019Earnings per share $0.97Dividend per share $1.26
2020Earnings per share $2.32Dividend per share $0.88
2021Earnings per share $1.65Dividend per share $0.75
2022Earnings per share $0.20Dividend per share $0.88
2023Earnings per share $1.06Dividend per share $1.06
2024Earnings per share $0.61Dividend per share $1.02
2025Earnings per share $0.87Free cash flow per share $1.63Dividend per share $1.05
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
400M500M600M700M
2016Diluted shares 419.7M
2017Diluted shares 424.0M
2018Diluted shares 421.4M
2019Diluted shares 421.8M
2020Diluted shares 431.6M
2021Diluted shares 511.4M
2022Diluted shares 617.9M
2023Diluted shares 618.2M
2024Diluted shares 672.1M
2025Diluted shares 675.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02B4B6B8B
2016Net debt 3.8B
2017Net debt 4.4B
2018Net debt 4.2B
2019Net debt 4.7B
2020Net debt 4.8B
2021Net debt 6.7B
2022Net debt 6.6B
2023Net debt 6.5B
2024Net debt 7.3B
2025Net debt 7.5B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
5.4×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (18M) is well below depreciation (627M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
The effective tax rate is 0.2%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 5.4 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$50.08discounted at 8.1% a year · 63% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
57.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
29.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
19.3×
Free cash flow yield
3.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today15.4B
Everything after, today25.9B
The whole business41.3B
Minus net debt-7.5B
What belongs to shareholders33.8B
Divided among 675.3M shares: <strong>$50.08</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
01B2B3B4B
2016Reported 429.5M
2017Reported 385.8M
2018Reported 328.8M
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025Reported 1.1B
2026Projected 1.5B
2027Projected 1.8B
2028Projected 2.0B
2029Projected 2.2B
2030Projected 2.4B
2031Projected 2.6B
2032Projected 2.8B
2033Projected 2.9B
2034Projected 3.0B
2035Projected 3.1B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
2.5B
2.8B
3.1B
3.5B
3.8B
4.1B
4.4B
4.6B
4.8B
4.9B
Growth
15.0%
13.6%
12.2%
10.8%
9.4%
8.1%
6.7%
5.3%
3.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
62.8%
62.8%
62.8%
62.8%
62.8%
62.8%
62.8%
62.8%
62.8%
62.8%
Free cash flow
1.5B
1.8B
2.0B
2.2B
2.4B
2.6B
2.8B
2.9B
3.0B
3.1B
Worth today
1.4B
1.5B
1.6B
1.6B
1.6B
1.6B
1.6B
1.6B
1.5B
1.4B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.1%
52
58
64
72
83
7.6%
47
51
56
63
71
8.1%
42
46
50
55
62
8.6%
38
41
45
49
54
9.1%
35
37
40
44
48
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
11.0%
13.0%
15.0%
17.0%
19.0%
50.3%
32
36
40
44
49
56.5%
37
41
45
50
55
62.8%
41
45
50
55
61
69.1%
45
50
55
61
67
75.4%
49
55
60
66
73
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 9.4%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$33.48
Median$50.05
90th percentile$77.55
$25.00$50.00$75.00$100.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$40.48</b> and <b>$62.43</b>; one in ten below $33.48, one in ten above $77.55.
Does the long run make sense?
17.6×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 17.6 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
63%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.