AAMI · Financials(investment advice) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Acadian Asset Management Inc. reported revenue of $563.7 million in fiscal 2025. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025563.7M
Operating margin23.4%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—32.3% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt 75.6M
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
1-for-2 before fiscal 2022.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2016
2017Revenue 858.0MOperating income 71.0M
2018Revenue 905.0MOperating income 83.8M
2019Revenue 807.0MOperating income 222.2M
2020Revenue 697.9MOperating income 131.7M
2021Revenue 523.8MOperating income 145.8M
2022Revenue 417.2MOperating income 167.9M
2023Revenue 426.6MOperating income 106.0M
2024Revenue 505.6MOperating income 135.5M
2025Revenue 563.7MOperating income 132.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+10.6%
-4.2%
—
Operating income
-7.7%
+0.1%
—
Net income
-7.4%
-22.5%
—
Earnings per share
-1.8%
-20.6%
—
Shares
-5.7%
-2.5%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%50.0%100.0%150.0%200.0%
2016
2017Operating 8.3%Net 0.5%
2018Operating 9.3%Net 15.1%
2019Operating 27.5%Net 27.7%
2020Operating 18.9%Net 41.1%
2021Operating 27.8%Net 158.2%
2022Operating 40.2%Net 24.1%
2023Operating 24.8%Net 15.4%
2024Operating 26.8%Net 16.8%
2025Operating 23.4%Net 14.2%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2016
2017
2018Return on invested capital 15.3%
2019Return on invested capital 30.9%
2020Return on invested capital 12.1%
2021Return on invested capital 27.4%
2022Return on invested capital 46.0%
2023Return on invested capital 23.4%
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
—
Return on assets
11.8%
Asset turnover
0.83×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2016
2017Net income 4.2M
2018Net income 136.4M
2019Net income 223.9M
2020Net income 286.7M
2021Net income 828.4M
2022Net income 100.6M
2023Net income 65.8M
2024Net income 85.0M
2025Net income 80.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
513.8M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 100%513.8M
Over the same years it paid -70.8M in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$10.00$20.00$30.00
2016
2017Earnings per share $0.08
2018Earnings per share $2.53
2019Earnings per share $4.91
2020Earnings per share $6.99
2021Earnings per share $20.58
2022Earnings per share $2.33
2023Earnings per share $1.55
2024Earnings per share $2.22
2025Earnings per share $2.21
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
35.0M40.0M45.0M50.0M55.0M60.0M
2016
2017Diluted shares 55.7M
2018Diluted shares 53.8M
2019Diluted shares 45.6M
2020Diluted shares 41.0M
2021Diluted shares 40.2M
2022Diluted shares 43.2M
2023Diluted shares 42.5M
2024Diluted shares 38.3M
2025Diluted shares 36.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016
2017
2018Net debt 110.3M
2019Net debt 486.7M
2020Net debt 27.1M
2021Net debt 147.9M
2022Net debt 153.8M
2023Net debt 127.4M
2024Net debt 176.5M
2025Net debt 75.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
6× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✕Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zerofailed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (80M against -2M).
Benign
Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.
Worrying
Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$149.0M5 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.