YUMC · Consumer discretionary(retail-eating places) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Yum China Holdings, Inc. reported revenue of $11.8 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 9.0% in 2016 to 10.9%, and it earned 17.4% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $12.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 45.5% went back into the business and 34.6% to buybacks. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.61 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202511.8B+5.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin10.9%gross margin —
Return on invested capital17.4%12.7% on average over 4 years
Free cash flow after stock pay798.0M6.8% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash476.0M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05B10B15B
2016Revenue 7.1BOperating income 634.0M
2017Revenue 7.8BOperating income 778.0M
2018Revenue 8.4BOperating income 941.0M
2019Revenue 8.8BOperating income 901.0M
2020Revenue 8.3BOperating income 961.0M
2021Revenue 9.9BOperating income 1.4B
2022Revenue 9.6BOperating income 629.0M
2023Revenue 11.0BOperating income 1.1B
2024Revenue 11.3BOperating income 1.2B
2025Revenue 11.8BOperating income 1.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+7.2%
+7.4%
+5.8%
Operating income
+27.1%
+6.1%
+8.2%
Net income
+28.1%
+3.5%
+7.2%
Earnings per share
+34.0%
+5.1%
+7.1%
Free cash flow per share
+9.4%
+5.5%
+7.7%
Dividend per share
+26.0%
+32.1%
—
Shares
-4.4%
-1.6%
+0.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.3%
0%5%10%15%20%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022Return on invested capital 6.8%
2023Return on invested capital 12.3%
2024Return on invested capital 14.5%
2025Return on invested capital 17.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-400M-200M0200M400M
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022Economic profit -225.6M
2023Economic profit 135.0M
2024Economic profit 250.7M
2025Economic profit 384.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
17.3%
Return on assets
8.6%
Asset turnover
1.09×
Research & development
0.1% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
4.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
00.25B0.50B0.75B1.00B
2016Net income 498.0MFree cash flow 430.0MAfter stock-based pay 414.0M
2017Net income 398.0MFree cash flow 469.0MAfter stock-based pay 443.0M
2018Net income 708.0MFree cash flow 863.0MAfter stock-based pay 839.0M
2019Net income 713.0MFree cash flow 750.0MAfter stock-based pay 724.0M
2020Net income 784.0MFree cash flow 695.0MAfter stock-based pay 659.0M
2021Net income 990.0MFree cash flow 442.0MAfter stock-based pay 401.0M
2022Net income 442.0MFree cash flow 734.0MAfter stock-based pay 692.0M
2023Net income 827.0MFree cash flow 763.0MAfter stock-based pay 699.0M
2024Net income 911.0MFree cash flow 714.0MAfter stock-based pay 673.0M
2025Net income 929.0MFree cash flow 840.0MAfter stock-based pay 798.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
12.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 45%5.6B
Acquisitions 4%542.0M
Dividends 14%1.7B
Share buybacks 35%4.3B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 2%206.0M
Over the same years it paid 358.0M in stock. The share count rose 0.5%. 3.9B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$1$2$3
2016Earnings per share $1.35Free cash flow per share $1.17
2017Earnings per share $1.00Free cash flow per share $1.18Dividend per share $0.10
2018Earnings per share $1.79Free cash flow per share $2.18Dividend per share $0.41
2019Earnings per share $1.84Free cash flow per share $1.93Dividend per share $0.47
2020Earnings per share $1.95Free cash flow per share $1.73Dividend per share $0.24
2021Earnings per share $2.28Free cash flow per share $1.02Dividend per share $0.47
2022Earnings per share $1.04Free cash flow per share $1.73Dividend per share $0.48
2023Earnings per share $1.97Free cash flow per share $1.82Dividend per share $0.51
2024Earnings per share $2.34Free cash flow per share $1.83Dividend per share $0.64
2025Earnings per share $2.50Free cash flow per share $2.26Dividend per share $0.95
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
360M380M400M420M440M
2016Diluted shares 369.0M
2017Diluted shares 398.0M
2018Diluted shares 395.0M
2019Diluted shares 388.0M
2020Diluted shares 402.0M
2021Diluted shares 434.0M
2022Diluted shares 425.0M
2023Diluted shares 420.0M
2024Diluted shares 390.0M
2025Diluted shares 371.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.5B-1.0B-0.5B0
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022Net debt -1.1B
2023Net debt -960.0M
2024Net debt -596.0M
2025Net debt -476.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.3×
Interest coverage
14× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.05 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 3d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.61safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.01 × 6.56+0.07
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.16 × 3.26+0.53
Operating income ÷ assets 0.12 × 6.72+0.80
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.15 × 1.05+1.21
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.52below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.15+1.06
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.01+0.41
Sales growth 1.04+0.93
Slower depreciation 1.10+0.13
Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.23
Leverage rising 1.01-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Receivables are growing 20% against revenue growing 4%.
Benign
A shift towards larger customers on longer terms, or sales concentrated at the end of the period.
Worrying
Sales are being made on looser credit, or revenue has been booked that may never be collected.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$28.48discounted at 10.3% a year · 50% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
11.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
5.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.9×
Free cash flow yield
7.6%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today5.0B
Everything after, today5.1B
The whole business10.1B
Plus net cash476.0M
What belongs to shareholders10.6B
Divided among 371.0M shares: <strong>$28.48</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
00.5B1.0B1.5B
2016Reported 414.0M
2017Reported 443.0M
2018Reported 839.0M
2019Reported 724.0M
2020Reported 659.0M
2021Reported 401.0M
2022Reported 692.0M
2023Reported 699.0M
2024Reported 673.0M
2025Reported 798.0M
2026Projected 670.9M
2027Projected 717.5M
2028Projected 763.4M
2029Projected 807.9M
2030Projected 850.5M
2031Projected 890.7M
2032Projected 927.8M
2033Projected 961.3M
2034Projected 990.7M
2035Projected 1.0B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
12.7B
13.6B
14.4B
15.3B
16.1B
16.8B
17.5B
18.2B
18.7B
19.2B
Growth
7.5%
6.9%
6.4%
5.8%
5.3%
4.7%
4.2%
3.6%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
5.3%
Free cash flow
670.9M
717.5M
763.4M
807.9M
850.5M
890.7M
927.8M
961.3M
990.7M
1.0B
Worth today
608.5M
590.2M
569.5M
546.7M
522.0M
495.8M
468.4M
440.2M
411.4M
382.5M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.3%
29
31
33
35
37
9.8%
28
29
30
32
34
10.3%
26
27
28
30
32
10.8%
25
26
27
28
29
11.3%
23
24
25
26
28
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
4.2%
21
23
24
26
28
4.8%
23
25
26
28
31
5.3%
24
26
28
31
33
5.8%
26
28
31
33
36
6.3%
28
30
33
35
38
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$17.94
Median$28.46
90th percentile$42.05
$20.00$40.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$22.69</b> and <b>$35.10</b>; one in ten below $17.94, one in ten above $42.05.
Does the long run make sense?
4.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 4.7 times that year's EBITDA.
7%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 34% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 7% on the new capital — it has earned 13% on average over the last five years.
50%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 13.26% × (1 − 27.2%) = <strong>9.66%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.26%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 9 filings by 9 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.