ARMK · Consumer discretionary(retail-eating places) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-10-03
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Aramark reported revenue of $18.5 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 2.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 4.3% from 2016. Of the $7.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 58.7% went back into the business and 46.8% to acquisitions; the share count rose 7.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.82 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202518.5B+2.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin4.3%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—9.8% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow after stock pay373.2M2.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score6/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5B05B10B15B20B
2016Revenue 14.4BOperating income 746.3M
2017Revenue 14.6BOperating income 801.6M
2018Revenue 15.8BOperating income 818.4M
2019Revenue 16.2BOperating income 891.2M
2020Revenue 12.8BOperating income -264.9M
2021Revenue 12.1BOperating income 191.4M
2022Revenue 13.7BOperating income 415.4M
2023Revenue 16.1BOperating income 625.0M
2024Revenue 17.4BOperating income 706.5M
2025Revenue 18.5BOperating income 791.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+10.6%
+7.6%
+2.8%
Operating income
+24.0%
—
+0.7%
Net income
+18.8%
—
+1.4%
Earnings per share
+17.6%
—
+0.6%
Free cash flow per share
+3.0%
—
+1.4%
Dividend per share
-1.7%
-1.2%
+1.3%
Shares
+1.1%
+1.2%
+0.8%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
-20%-10%0%10%20%30%
2016Return on invested capital 22.6%
2017Return on invested capital 22.7%
2018Return on invested capital 21.3%
2019Return on invested capital 21.2%
2020Return on invested capital -12.0%
2021Return on invested capital 9.0%
2022Return on invested capital 11.0%
2023Return on invested capital 9.3%
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.0B-0.5B00.5B
2016Economic profit 273.1M
2017Economic profit 316.3M
2018Economic profit 337.5M
2019Economic profit 371.4M
2020Economic profit -631.5M
2021Economic profit -34.9M
2022Economic profit 24.3M
2023Economic profit -47.8M
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
10.4%
Return on assets
2.5%
Asset turnover
1.39×
Overheads (SG&A)
1.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-0.5B00.5B1.0B
2016Net income 287.8MFree cash flow 354.8MAfter stock-based pay 297.8M
2017Net income 373.9MFree cash flow 500.1MAfter stock-based pay 434.9M
2018Net income 567.9MFree cash flow 423.3MAfter stock-based pay 335.0M
2019Net income 448.5MFree cash flow 481.1MAfter stock-based pay 425.9M
2020Net income -461.5MFree cash flow -241.8MAfter stock-based pay -272.2M
2021Net income -90.8MFree cash flow 249.3MAfter stock-based pay 178.2M
2022Net income 194.5MFree cash flow 382.6MAfter stock-based pay 300.3M
2023Net income 674.1MFree cash flow 382.9MAfter stock-based pay 306.6M
2024Net income 262.5MFree cash flow 299.1MAfter stock-based pay 236.5M
2025Net income 326.4MFree cash flow 431.8MAfter stock-based pay 373.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
7.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 59%4.6B
Acquisitions 47%3.7B
Dividends 13%1.1B
Share buybacks 5%389.6M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -24%-1.9B
Over the same years it paid 646.9M in stock. The share count rose 7.5%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$2$0$2$4
2016Earnings per share $1.16Free cash flow per share $1.43Dividend per share $0.37
2017Earnings per share $1.49Free cash flow per share $1.99Dividend per share $0.40
2018Earnings per share $2.24Free cash flow per share $1.67Dividend per share $0.41
2019Earnings per share $1.78Free cash flow per share $1.91Dividend per share $0.43
2020Earnings per share $-1.83Free cash flow per share $-0.96Dividend per share $0.44
2021Earnings per share $-0.36Free cash flow per share $0.98Dividend per share $0.44
2022Earnings per share $0.75Free cash flow per share $1.48Dividend per share $0.44
2023Earnings per share $2.57Free cash flow per share $1.46Dividend per share $0.44
2024Earnings per share $0.99Free cash flow per share $1.12Dividend per share $0.38
2025Earnings per share $1.22Free cash flow per share $1.62Dividend per share $0.41
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
245M250M255M260M265M270M
2016Diluted shares 248.8M
2017Diluted shares 251.6M
2018Diluted shares 253.4M
2019Diluted shares 252.0M
2020Diluted shares 251.8M
2021Diluted shares 254.7M
2022Diluted shares 259.1M
2023Diluted shares 262.6M
2024Diluted shares 266.2M
2025Diluted shares 267.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-3B-2B-1B0
2016Net debt -106.1M
2017Net debt -160.6M
2018Net debt -184.1M
2019Net debt -176.7M
2020Net debt -2.4B
2021Net debt -473.7M
2022Net debt -240.7M
2023Net debt -330.1M
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.99 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 44d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.82distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.00 × 6.56-0.01
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.03 × 3.26+0.11
Operating income ÷ assets 0.06 × 6.72+0.40
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.31 × 1.05+0.33
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.56below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.99+0.91
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.00+0.40
Sales growth 1.06+0.95
Slower depreciation 1.01+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.92-0.16
Profit not in cash -0.04-0.21
Leverage rising 0.80-0.26
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$36.66discounted at 10.2% a year · 50% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
30.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
7.7×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
0.5×
Free cash flow yield
3.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today4.9B
Everything after, today4.9B
The whole business9.8B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders9.8B
Divided among 267.3M shares: <strong>$36.66</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-0.5B00.5B1.0B
2016Reported 297.8M
2017Reported 434.9M
2018Reported 335.0M
2019Reported 425.9M
2020Reported -272.2M
2021Reported 178.2M
2022Reported 300.3M
2023Reported 306.6M
2024Reported 236.5M
2025Reported 373.2M
2026Projected 650.3M
2027Projected 695.4M
2028Projected 739.8M
2029Projected 783.0M
2030Projected 824.3M
2031Projected 863.2M
2032Projected 899.2M
2033Projected 931.7M
2034Projected 960.2M
2035Projected 984.2M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
19.9B
21.3B
22.6B
24.0B
25.2B
26.4B
27.5B
28.5B
29.4B
30.1B
Growth
7.5%
6.9%
6.4%
5.8%
5.3%
4.7%
4.2%
3.6%
3.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
3.3%
3.3%
3.3%
3.3%
3.3%
3.3%
3.3%
3.3%
3.3%
3.3%
Free cash flow
650.3M
695.4M
739.8M
783.0M
824.3M
863.2M
899.2M
931.7M
960.2M
984.2M
Worth today
589.9M
572.2M
552.2M
530.2M
506.3M
481.0M
454.5M
427.1M
399.3M
371.3M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
38
40
42
45
48
9.7%
35
37
39
42
44
10.2%
33
35
37
39
41
10.7%
31
33
34
36
38
11.2%
30
31
32
34
36
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
3.5%
5.5%
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
2.6%
27
29
31
34
36
2.9%
29
31
34
37
40
3.3%
31
34
37
40
43
3.6%
34
36
39
43
46
3.9%
36
39
42
46
50
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$15.03
Median$36.68
90th percentile$62.75
$0.00$25.00$50.00$75.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$24.86</b> and <b>$49.35</b>; one in ten below $15.03, one in ten above $62.75.
Does the long run make sense?
6.3×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.3 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
50%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.74% × (1 − 24.1%) = <strong>5.12%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.24%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.