PZZA · Consumer discretionary(retail-eating places) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-28
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Papa Johns International Inc reported revenue of $2.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 1.6% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 8.5% in 2017 to 4.3%, and it earned 21.9% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $1.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 64.8% went to buybacks and 43.9% back into the business; the share count fell 9.8%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.75 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20252.1B+1.6% a year over 9 years
Operating margin4.3%gross margin —
Return on invested capital21.9%31.8% on average over 4 years
Free cash flow after stock pay46.3M2.3% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.8×net debt 680.8M
Piotroski F-score4/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2017Revenue 1.8BOperating income 151.0M
2018
2018Revenue 1.7BOperating income 31.6M
2019Revenue 1.6BOperating income 24.5M
2020Revenue 1.8BOperating income 90.3M
2021Revenue 2.1BOperating income 168.2M
2022Revenue 2.1BOperating income 109.0M
2023Revenue 2.1BOperating income 147.1M
2024Revenue 2.1BOperating income 156.7M
2025Revenue 2.1BOperating income 89.1M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-0.8%
+2.5%
+1.6%
Operating income
-6.5%
-0.2%
-5.7%
Net income
-23.3%
-12.0%
-12.6%
Earnings per share
-21.2%
-12.1%
-11.6%
Free cash flow per share
+19.0%
-16.6%
-2.1%
Dividend per share
+6.6%
+15.6%
+9.2%
Shares
-2.7%
+0.1%
-1.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%2.5%5.0%7.5%10.0%
2017Operating 8.5%Net 5.7%Free cash flow 4.6%
2018
2018Operating 1.9%Net 0.1%Free cash flow 3.0%
2019Operating 1.5%Net 0.3%Free cash flow 1.5%
2020Operating 5.0%Net 3.2%Free cash flow 8.3%
2021Operating 8.1%Net 5.8%Free cash flow 5.6%
2022Operating 5.2%Net 3.2%Free cash flow 1.9%
2023Operating 6.9%Net 3.8%Free cash flow 5.5%
2024Operating 7.6%Net 4.1%Free cash flow 1.7%
2025Operating 4.3%Net 1.5%Free cash flow 3.0%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 4.4%
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%80.0%
2017Return on invested capital 33.2%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 6.4%
2019Return on invested capital 61.7%
2020
2021
2022Return on invested capital 29.1%
2023Return on invested capital 39.4%
2024Return on invested capital 37.0%
2025Return on invested capital 21.9%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
050.0M100.0M150.0M
2017Economic profit 99.4M
2018
2018Economic profit 5.8M
2019Economic profit 20.0M
2020
2021
2022Economic profit 76.5M
2023Economic profit 104.3M
2024Economic profit 101.8M
2025Economic profit 47.2M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
—
Return on assets
3.6%
Asset turnover
2.45×
Overheads (SG&A)
11.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
050.0M100.0M150.0M200.0M
2017Net income 102.3MFree cash flow 82.4MAfter stock-based pay 72.0M
2018
2018Net income 2.5MFree cash flow 50.4MAfter stock-based pay 40.5M
2019Net income 4.9MFree cash flow 24.0MAfter stock-based pay 8.7M
2020Net income 57.9MFree cash flow 150.8MAfter stock-based pay 134.5M
2021Net income 120.0MFree cash flow 116.1MAfter stock-based pay 99.2M
2022Net income 67.8MFree cash flow 39.4MAfter stock-based pay 21.0M
2023Net income 82.1MFree cash flow 116.4MAfter stock-based pay 98.5M
2024Net income 83.5MFree cash flow 34.1MAfter stock-based pay 24.6M
2025Net income 30.5MFree cash flow 61.3MAfter stock-based pay 46.3M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
1.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 44%528.7M
Acquisitions 1%7.7M
Dividends 33%392.9M
Share buybacks 65%780.3M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -42%-505.8M
Over the same years it paid 129.8M in stock. The share count fell 9.8%. 650.5M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2017Earnings per share $2.80Free cash flow per share $2.26Dividend per share $0.84
2018
2018Earnings per share $0.08Free cash flow per share $1.56Dividend per share $0.90
2019Earnings per share $0.15Free cash flow per share $0.76Dividend per share $0.90
2020Earnings per share $1.77Free cash flow per share $4.61Dividend per share $0.90
2021Earnings per share $3.40Free cash flow per share $3.29Dividend per share $1.14
2022Earnings per share $1.90Free cash flow per share $1.10Dividend per share $1.53
2023Earnings per share $2.48Free cash flow per share $3.51Dividend per share $1.76
2024Earnings per share $2.54Free cash flow per share $1.04Dividend per share $1.85
2025Earnings per share $0.93Free cash flow per share $1.86Dividend per share $1.86
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
30.0M32.0M34.0M36.0M38.0M
2017Diluted shares 36.5M
2018
2018Diluted shares 32.3M
2019Diluted shares 31.6M
2020Diluted shares 32.7M
2021Diluted shares 35.3M
2022Diluted shares 35.7M
2023Diluted shares 33.2M
2024Diluted shares 32.8M
2025Diluted shares 32.9M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2017Net debt 444.2M
2018Net debt 439.9M
2018Net debt 587.9M
2019Net debt 339.4M
2020Net debt 218.1M
2021Net debt 410.1M
2022Net debt 549.7M
2023Net debt 716.8M
2024Net debt 703.7M
2025Net debt 680.8M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.8×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.82 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 18d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.75distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.06 × 6.56-0.42
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.25 × 3.26+0.82
Operating income ÷ assets 0.11 × 6.72+0.72
Equity ÷ liabilities -0.35 × 1.05-0.37
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-3.11below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.02+0.94
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.96+0.39
Sales growth 1.00+0.89
Slower depreciation 0.75+0.09
Overheads vs sales 1.29-0.22
Profit not in cash -0.11-0.53
Leverage rising 1.04-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Net debt is 3.8 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
83% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions$121.03discounted at 4.4% a year · 83% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
130.6×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
25.7×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.3×
Free cash flow yield
1.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today793.7M
Everything after, today3.9B
The whole business4.7B
Minus net debt-680.8M
What belongs to shareholders4.0B
Divided among 32.9M shares: <strong>$121.03</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
050.0M100.0M150.0M
2017Reported 72.0M
2018
2018Reported 40.5M
2019Reported 8.7M
2020Reported 134.5M
2021Reported 99.2M
2022Reported 21.0M
2023Reported 98.5M
2024Reported 24.6M
2025Reported 46.3M
2026Projected 90.0M
2027Projected 92.3M
2028Projected 94.6M
2029Projected 96.9M
2030Projected 99.3M
2031Projected 101.8M
2032Projected 104.4M
2033Projected 107.0M
2034Projected 109.7M
2035Projected 112.4M
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
2.1B
2.2B
2.2B
2.3B
2.3B
2.4B
2.4B
2.5B
2.6B
2.6B
Growth
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
2.5%
Cash margin
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
4.3%
Free cash flow
90.0M
92.3M
94.6M
96.9M
99.3M
101.8M
104.4M
107.0M
109.7M
112.4M
Worth today
86.2M
84.6M
83.0M
81.5M
80.0M
78.5M
77.1M
75.6M
74.3M
72.9M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
3.4%
126
174
273
603
—
3.9%
96
124
170
268
591
4.4%
76
94
121
167
263
4.9%
62
74
92
118
163
5.4%
51
60
73
90
116
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-1.5%
0.5%
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
3.4%
75
85
95
106
118
3.9%
86
97
108
120
134
4.3%
97
108
121
135
150
4.7%
107
120
134
149
165
5.1%
118
132
147
163
181
All the inputs moving at once
4,040 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$29.76
Median$100.25
90th percentile$230.97
$0.00$100.00$200.00$300.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$59.55</b> and <b>$157.96</b>; one in ten below $29.76, one in ten above $230.97.
Does the long run make sense?
25.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 25.7 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
83%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.