CMG · Consumer discretionary(retail-eating places) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Chipotle Mexican Grill Inc reported revenue of $11.9 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 13.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 0.9% in 2016 to 16.2%, and it earned 52.3% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $11.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 59.8% went to buybacks and 36.8% back into the business; the share count fell 9.8%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.36 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202511.9B+13.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin16.2%gross margin —
Return on invested capital52.3%39.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.3B11.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash350.5M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
50-for-1 before fiscal 2022.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B
2016Revenue 3.9BOperating income 34.6M
2017Revenue 4.5BOperating income 270.8M
2018Revenue 4.9BOperating income 258.4M
2019Revenue 5.6BOperating income 444.0M
2020Revenue 6.0BOperating income 290.2M
2021Revenue 7.5BOperating income 804.9M
2022Revenue 8.6BOperating income 1.2B
2023Revenue 9.9BOperating income 1.6B
2024Revenue 11.3BOperating income 1.9B
2025Revenue 11.9BOperating income 1.9B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+11.4%
+14.8%
+13.2%
Operating income
+18.6%
+46.2%
+56.4%
Net income
+19.5%
+34.0%
+59.5%
Earnings per share
+21.3%
+35.5%
+61.4%
Free cash flow per share
+21.5%
+39.4%
+36.7%
Shares
-1.5%
-1.1%
-1.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2016Operating 0.9%Net 0.6%Free cash flow 2.5%
2017Operating 6.0%Net 3.9%Free cash flow 5.6%
2018Operating 5.3%Net 3.6%Free cash flow 6.9%
2019Operating 7.9%Net 6.3%Free cash flow 6.9%
2020Operating 4.8%Net 5.9%Free cash flow 4.9%
2021Operating 10.7%Net 8.7%Free cash flow 11.1%
2022Operating 13.4%Net 10.4%Free cash flow 9.8%
2023Operating 15.8%Net 12.4%Free cash flow 12.4%
2024Operating 16.9%Net 13.6%Free cash flow 13.4%
2025Operating 16.2%Net 12.9%Free cash flow 12.1%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019Return on invested capital 20.2%
2020Return on invested capital 11.3%
2021Return on invested capital 28.1%
2022Return on invested capital 37.3%
2023Return on invested capital 38.6%
2024Return on invested capital 40.0%
2025Return on invested capital 52.3%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016
2017
2018
2019Economic profit 167.9M
2020Economic profit 23.3M
2021Economic profit 412.8M
2022Economic profit 642.0M
2023Economic profit 869.5M
2024Economic profit 1.1B
2025Economic profit 1.2B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
54.3%
Return on assets
17.1%
Asset turnover
1.33×
Overheads (SG&A)
5.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Net income 22.9MFree cash flow 96.3MAfter stock-based pay 32.2M
2017Net income 176.3MFree cash flow 251.4MAfter stock-based pay 186.2M
2018Net income 176.6MFree cash flow 334.2MAfter stock-based pay 265.0M
2019Net income 350.2MFree cash flow 387.7MAfter stock-based pay 296.3M
2020Net income 355.8MFree cash flow 290.5MAfter stock-based pay 207.9M
2021Net income 653.0MFree cash flow 839.6MAfter stock-based pay 663.2M
2022Net income 899.1MFree cash flow 844.0MAfter stock-based pay 746.0M
2023Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2024Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2025Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
11.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 37%4.2B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 60%6.8B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 3%381.6M
Over the same years it paid 1.0B in stock. The share count fell 9.8%. 5.8B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$0.50$1.00$1.50
2016Earnings per share $0.02Free cash flow per share $0.06
2017Earnings per share $0.12Free cash flow per share $0.18
2018Earnings per share $0.13Free cash flow per share $0.24
2019Earnings per share $0.25Free cash flow per share $0.27
2020Earnings per share $0.25Free cash flow per share $0.20
2021Earnings per share $0.46Free cash flow per share $0.59
2022Earnings per share $0.64Free cash flow per share $0.60
2023Earnings per share $0.89Free cash flow per share $0.88
2024Earnings per share $1.11Free cash flow per share $1.10
2025Earnings per share $1.14Free cash flow per share $1.08
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
1.3B1.4B1.4B1.4B1.5B
2016Diluted shares 1.5B
2017Diluted shares 1.4B
2018Diluted shares 1.4B
2019Diluted shares 1.4B
2020Diluted shares 1.4B
2021Diluted shares 1.4B
2022Diluted shares 1.4B
2023Diluted shares 1.4B
2024Diluted shares 1.4B
2025Diluted shares 1.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.0B-750.0M-500.0M-250.0M0
2016
2017
2018
2019Net debt -480.6M
2020Net debt -608.0M
2021Net debt -815.4M
2022Net debt -384.0M
2023Net debt -560.6M
2024Net debt -748.5M
2025Net debt -350.5M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.2×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.23 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 5d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.36grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.03 × 6.56+0.20
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.07 × 3.26+0.22
Operating income ÷ assets 0.22 × 6.72+1.45
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.46 × 1.05+0.48
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.70below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.03+0.95
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.99+0.40
Sales growth 1.05+0.94
Slower depreciation 1.03+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.89-0.15
Profit not in cash -0.06-0.30
Leverage rising 1.04-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$17.39discounted at 10.2% a year · 53% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
15.2×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
10.0×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.9×
Free cash flow yield
5.7%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today10.8B
Everything after, today12.2B
The whole business23.0B
Plus net cash350.5M
What belongs to shareholders23.4B
Divided among 1.3B shares: <strong>$17.39</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2016Reported 32.2M
2017Reported 186.2M
2018Reported 265.0M
2019Reported 296.3M
2020Reported 207.9M
2021Reported 663.2M
2022Reported 746.0M
2023Reported 1.1B
2024Reported 1.4B
2025Reported 1.3B
2026Projected 1.2B
2027Projected 1.4B
2028Projected 1.5B
2029Projected 1.7B
2030Projected 1.9B
2031Projected 2.0B
2032Projected 2.1B
2033Projected 2.3B
2034Projected 2.3B
2035Projected 2.4B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
13.7B
15.6B
17.5B
19.4B
21.2B
22.9B
24.4B
25.7B
26.7B
27.4B
Growth
15.0%
13.6%
12.2%
10.8%
9.4%
8.1%
6.7%
5.3%
3.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
8.8%
Free cash flow
1.2B
1.4B
1.5B
1.7B
1.9B
2.0B
2.1B
2.3B
2.3B
2.4B
Worth today
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.2B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
1.0B
981.3M
912.9M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
18
19
20
22
23
9.7%
17
18
19
20
21
10.2%
16
17
17
18
19
10.7%
15
16
16
17
18
11.2%
14
15
15
16
17
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
11.0%
13.0%
15.0%
17.0%
19.0%
7.0%
13
14
15
16
17
7.9%
14
15
16
17
19
8.8%
15
16
17
19
20
9.7%
16
17
19
20
22
10.5%
17
19
20
22
23
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$12.52
Median$17.42
90th percentile$24.16
$10.00$20.00$30.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$14.65</b> and <b>$20.61</b>; one in ten below $12.52, one in ten above $24.16.
Does the long run make sense?
6.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.1 times that year's EBITDA.
9%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 29% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 9% on the new capital — it has earned 39% on average over the last five years.
53%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 23.6%) = <strong>5.11%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.