VFC · Consumer discretionary(men's & boys' furnishgs, work clothg, & allied garments) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-03-28
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
V F Corp reported revenue of $9.6 billion in fiscal 2026, after growing 1.5% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 10.5% in 2017 to 6.0%, and it earned 8.0% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $7.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 65.3% went to dividends and 40.0% to acquisitions. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.64 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20269.6B+1.5% a year over 9 years
Operating margin6.0%gross margin 54.8%
Return on invested capital8.0%5.8% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay479.6M5.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.1×net debt 2.7B
Piotroski F-score7/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-5B05B10B15B
2017Revenue 8.4BOperating income 883.4M
2018
2019Revenue 10.3BOperating income 1.2B
2020Revenue 10.5BOperating income 927.8M
2021Revenue 9.2BOperating income 607.6M
2022Revenue 11.8BOperating income 1.6B
2023Revenue 11.1BOperating income 998.7M
2024Revenue 9.9BOperating income -143.9M
2025Revenue 9.5BOperating income 303.8M
2026Revenue 9.6BOperating income 576.6M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-4.7%
+0.8%
+1.5%
Operating income
-16.7%
-1.0%
-4.6%
Net income
+29.1%
-9.0%
-9.3%
Earnings per share
+28.2%
-9.1%
-9.1%
Free cash flow per share
—
-13.1%
-9.1%
Dividend per share
-41.9%
-28.7%
-15.9%
Shares
+0.6%
+0.2%
-0.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 6.1%
-10%0%10%20%
2017Return on invested capital 5.1%
2018
2019Return on invested capital 15.6%
2020Return on invested capital 13.5%
2021Return on invested capital 5.4%
2022Return on invested capital 15.2%
2023Return on invested capital 10.2%
2024Return on invested capital -7.0%
2025Return on invested capital 2.7%
2026Return on invested capital 8.0%
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.0B-0.5B00.5B1.0B
2017Economic profit -57.3M
2018
2019Economic profit 608.6M
2020Economic profit 440.5M
2021Economic profit -60.6M
2022Economic profit 779.4M
2023Economic profit 393.8M
2024Economic profit -962.1M
2025Economic profit -186.3M
2026Economic profit 103.5M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
13.8%
Return on assets
2.7%
Asset turnover
1.03×
Overheads (SG&A)
48.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1B01B2B
2017Net income 614.9MFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2018
2019Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2020Net income 679.4MFree cash flow 586.3MAfter stock-based pay 518.1M
2021Net income 407.9MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2022Net income 1.4BFree cash flow 618.8MAfter stock-based pay 527.5M
2023Net income 118.6MFree cash flow -807.8MAfter stock-based pay -847.8M
2024Net income -968.9MFree cash flow 878.8MAfter stock-based pay 821.0M
2025Net income -189.7MFree cash flow 379.0MAfter stock-based pay 305.7M
2026Net income 254.9MFree cash flow 556.6MAfter stock-based pay 479.6M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2026
7.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 21%1.6B
Acquisitions 40%3.1B
Dividends 65%5.0B
Share buybacks 35%2.7B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -61%-4.7B
Over the same years it paid 626.6M in stock. The share count fell 1.9%. 2.1B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$4-$2$0$2$4
2017Earnings per share $1.52Free cash flow per share $3.31Dividend per share $1.70
2018
2019Earnings per share $3.15Free cash flow per share $3.62Dividend per share $1.92
2020Earnings per share $1.70Free cash flow per share $1.47Dividend per share $1.87
2021Earnings per share $1.04Free cash flow per share $2.84Dividend per share $1.93
2022Earnings per share $3.53Free cash flow per share $1.58Dividend per share $1.97
2023Earnings per share $0.31Free cash flow per share $-2.08Dividend per share $1.81
2024Earnings per share $-2.49Free cash flow per share $2.26Dividend per share $0.78
2025Earnings per share $-0.48Free cash flow per share $0.97Dividend per share $0.36
2026Earnings per share $0.64Free cash flow per share $1.41Dividend per share $0.36
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
385M390M395M400M405M
2017Diluted shares 403.6M
2018Diluted shares 394.3M
2019Diluted shares 400.5M
2020Diluted shares 399.9M
2021Diluted shares 392.1M
2022Diluted shares 392.4M
2023Diluted shares 388.4M
2024Diluted shares 388.4M
2025Diluted shares 392.6M
2026Diluted shares 395.9M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02B4B6B
2017Net debt 1.7B
2018Net debt 1.0B
2019Net debt 1.7B
2020Net debt 1.2B
2021Net debt 4.9B
2022Net debt 3.8B
2023Net debt 5.8B
2024Net debt 5.0B
2025Net debt 3.5B
2026Net debt 2.7B
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.1×
Interest coverage
3× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.84 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
100 days collects in 54d, stock 115d, pays in 69d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.64grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.20 × 6.56+1.29
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.10 × 3.26-0.33
Operating income ÷ assets 0.06 × 6.72+0.42
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.25 × 1.05+0.26
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.61below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.07+0.98
Gross margin slipping 0.98+0.52
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.01+0.90
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.98-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.04-0.21
Leverage rising 0.94-0.31
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (115M) is well below depreciation (281M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
Net debt is 3.1 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$23.47discounted at 6.1% a year · 70% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
36.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
14.0×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.2×
Free cash flow yield
5.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today3.5B
Everything after, today8.4B
The whole business12.0B
Minus net debt-2.7B
What belongs to shareholders9.3B
Divided among 395.9M shares: <strong>$23.47</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1B01B2B
2017Reported 1.3B
2018
2019Reported 1.4B
2020Reported 518.1M
2021Reported 1.0B
2022Reported 527.5M
2023Reported -847.8M
2024Reported 821.0M
2025Reported 305.7M
2026Reported 479.6M
2027Projected 453.9M
2028Projected 459.2M
2029Projected 465.3M
2030Projected 472.3M
2031Projected 480.2M
2032Projected 489.0M
2033Projected 498.8M
2034Projected 509.6M
2035Projected 521.5M
2036Projected 534.5M
2017201920212023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
9.7B
9.8B
9.9B
10.1B
10.3B
10.5B
10.7B
10.9B
11.1B
11.4B
Growth
1.0%
1.2%
1.3%
1.5%
1.7%
1.8%
2.0%
2.2%
2.3%
2.5%
Cash margin
4.7%
4.7%
4.7%
4.7%
4.7%
4.7%
4.7%
4.7%
4.7%
4.7%
Free cash flow
453.9M
459.2M
465.3M
472.3M
480.2M
489.0M
498.8M
509.6M
521.5M
534.5M
Worth today
427.8M
408.0M
389.7M
372.8M
357.2M
342.9M
329.7M
317.5M
306.2M
295.8M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
5.1%
25
29
35
44
59
5.6%
21
24
28
34
43
6.1%
18
20
23
28
34
6.6%
15
17
20
23
27
7.1%
13
15
17
19
22
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-3.0%
-1.0%
1.0%
3.0%
5.0%
3.7%
14
16
18
21
23
4.2%
16
18
21
23
26
4.7%
18
21
23
26
29
5.1%
21
23
26
29
33
5.6%
23
26
29
32
36
All the inputs moving at once
4,941 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$8.11
Median$23.13
90th percentile$49.82
$0.00$25.00$50.00$75.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$14.73</b> and <b>$34.95</b>; one in ten below $8.11, one in ten above $49.82.
Does the long run make sense?
15.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 15.0 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
70%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$1.3M3 purchase(s) by 2 insider(s)
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.