SUNB · Industrials(services-equipment rental & leasing, nec) · 4 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-04-30
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Sunbelt Rentals Holdings, Inc. reported revenue of $2.5 billion in fiscal 2026. Of the $11.3 billion its operations generated over 4 years, 16.2% went to buybacks and 12.8% to dividends. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.23 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20262.5B
Operating margin86.9%gross margin -173.6%
Return on invested capital10.7%11.5% on average over 2 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.7×net debt 7.6B
Piotroski F-score6/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01B2B3B
2023
2024Revenue 2.8BOperating income 2.5B
2025Revenue 2.4BOperating income 2.5B
2026Revenue 2.5BOperating income 2.2B
2023202420252026
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-200%-100%0%100%200%
2023
2024Gross -128.1%Operating 89.7%Net 56.2%
2025Gross -169.2%Operating 104.0%Net 64.6%
2026Gross -173.6%Operating 86.9%Net 52.8%
2023202420252026
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0%5%10%15%
2023
2024
2025Return on invested capital 12.3%
2026Return on invested capital 10.7%
2023202420252026
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
17.9%
Return on assets
6.0%
Asset turnover
0.11×
Overheads (SG&A)
65.8% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
00.5B1.0B1.5B2.0B
2023
2024Net income 1.6B
2025Net income 1.6B
2026Net income 1.3B
2023202420252026
Where 4 years of operating cash went, 2023–2026
11.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 11%1.2B
Dividends 13%1.4B
Share buybacks 16%1.8B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 60%6.8B
Over the same years it paid 163.0M in stock. 1.7B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0$1$2$3$4
2023
2024Earnings per share $3.58Dividend per share $0.99
2025Earnings per share $3.55Dividend per share $1.24
2026Earnings per share $3.15Dividend per share $1.10
2023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
420M425M430M435M440M
2023
2024Diluted shares 439.3M
2025Diluted shares 437.0M
2026Diluted shares 421.0M
2023202420252026
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02B4B6B8B
2023
2024
2025Net debt 7.5B
2026Net debt 7.6B
2023202420252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.7×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.90 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
227 days collects in 243d, stock 10d, pays in 25d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.23grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.01 × 6.56-0.07
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.34 × 3.26+1.12
Operating income ÷ assets 0.10 × 6.72+0.66
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.50 × 1.05+0.52
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.93below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.08+0.99
Gross margin slipping 0.97+0.51
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.04+0.93
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.14-0.20
Profit not in cash -0.11-0.52
Leverage rising 1.04-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 10 filings by 10 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.