SPXC · Industrials(metalworkg machinery & equipment) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
SPX Technologies, Inc. reported revenue of $2.3 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 5.3% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 4.2% in 2017 to 15.5%, and it earned 12.2% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $1.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 155.8% went to acquisitions and 17.9% back into the business; the share count rose 10.5%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 4.05 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20252.3B+5.3% a year over 9 years
Operating margin15.5%gross margin 40.5%
Return on invested capital12.2%10.5% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay224.5M9.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash360.5M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score6/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01B2B3B
2017Revenue 1.4BOperating income 59.9M
2018
2018Revenue 1.5BOperating income 112.5M
2019Revenue 1.1BOperating income 114.0M
2020Revenue 1.1BOperating income 96.9M
2021Revenue 1.2BOperating income 73.7M
2022Revenue 1.5BOperating income 51.0M
2023Revenue 1.7BOperating income 221.9M
2024Revenue 2.0BOperating income 308.3M
2025Revenue 2.3BOperating income 350.4M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+15.7%
+15.0%
+5.3%
Operating income
+90.1%
+29.3%
+21.7%
Net income
+968.5%
+19.8%
+11.8%
Earnings per share
+951.4%
+18.4%
+10.6%
Free cash flow per share
—
+15.4%
+22.2%
Shares
+1.6%
+1.2%
+1.1%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
-10%0%10%20%30%
2017Return on invested capital -6.2%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 25.2%
2019Return on invested capital 19.1%
2020Return on invested capital 14.1%
2021Return on invested capital 5.6%
2022Return on invested capital 3.4%
2023Return on invested capital 14.2%
2024Return on invested capital 17.3%
2025Return on invested capital 12.2%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-100M-50M050M100M
2017Economic profit -51.9M
2018
2018Economic profit 64.7M
2019Economic profit 45.5M
2020Economic profit 24.7M
2021Economic profit -52.1M
2022Economic profit -73.5M
2023Economic profit 48.3M
2024Economic profit 99.0M
2025Economic profit 44.4M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
10.9%
Return on assets
6.8%
Asset turnover
0.63×
Research & development
2.4% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
21.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200M0200M400M600M
2017Net income 89.3MFree cash flow 35.9MAfter stock-based pay 20.1M
2018
2018Net income 81.2MFree cash flow 98.2MAfter stock-based pay 82.7M
2019Net income 65.3MFree cash flow 135.1MAfter stock-based pay 122.5M
2020Net income 99.0MFree cash flow 111.0MAfter stock-based pay 97.9M
2021Net income 425.4MFree cash flow 165.0MAfter stock-based pay 152.2M
2022Net income 200,000Free cash flow -152.7MAfter stock-based pay -163.6M
2023Net income 89.9MFree cash flow 184.6MAfter stock-based pay 171.2M
2024Net income 200.5MFree cash flow 247.9MAfter stock-based pay 232.9M
2025Net income 244.0MFree cash flow 241.2MAfter stock-based pay 224.5M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
1.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 18%231.7M
Acquisitions 156%2.0B
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 3%33.7M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -76%-989.0M
Over the same years it paid 125.8M in stock. The share count rose 10.5%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$5$0$5$10
2017Earnings per share $2.03Free cash flow per share $0.82Dividend per share $0.00
2018
2018Earnings per share $1.82Free cash flow per share $2.20
2019Earnings per share $1.45Free cash flow per share $3.01
2020Earnings per share $2.16Free cash flow per share $2.43
2021Earnings per share $9.15Free cash flow per share $3.55
2022Earnings per share $0.00Free cash flow per share $-3.30
2023Earnings per share $1.93Free cash flow per share $3.96
2024Earnings per share $4.26Free cash flow per share $5.27
2025Earnings per share $5.03Free cash flow per share $4.97
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
42M44M46M48M50M
2017Diluted shares 43.9M
2018
2018Diluted shares 44.7M
2019Diluted shares 45.0M
2020Diluted shares 45.8M
2021Diluted shares 46.5M
2022Diluted shares 46.2M
2023Diluted shares 46.6M
2024Diluted shares 47.1M
2025Diluted shares 48.5M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-400M-300M-200M-100M0
2017Net debt -123.8M
2018
2018Net debt -50.5M
2019Net debt -49.7M
2020Net debt -56.8M
2021Net debt -375.2M
2022Net debt -145.8M
2023Net debt -82.1M
2024Net debt -129.3M
2025Net debt -360.5M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.8×
Interest coverage
7× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.48 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
100 days collects in 58d, stock 82d, pays in 39d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
4.05safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.19 × 6.56+1.24
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.13 × 3.26+0.44
Operating income ÷ assets 0.10 × 6.72+0.65
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.64 × 1.05+1.72
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.42below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.00+0.92
Gross margin slipping 0.99+0.53
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.14+1.02
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.01-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.02-0.12
Leverage rising 0.83-0.27
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$115.57discounted at 10.2% a year · 53% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
23.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
11.1×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.3×
Free cash flow yield
4.0%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today2.5B
Everything after, today2.8B
The whole business5.2B
Plus net cash360.5M
What belongs to shareholders5.6B
Divided among 48.5M shares: <strong>$115.57</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-200M0200M400M600M
2017Reported 20.1M
2018
2018Reported 82.7M
2019Reported 122.5M
2020Reported 97.9M
2021Reported 152.2M
2022Reported -163.6M
2023Reported 171.2M
2024Reported 232.9M
2025Reported 224.5M
2026Projected 277.0M
2027Projected 314.7M
2028Projected 353.1M
2029Projected 391.4M
2030Projected 428.3M
2031Projected 462.8M
2032Projected 493.7M
2033Projected 519.8M
2034Projected 540.0M
2035Projected 553.5M
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
2.6B
3.0B
3.3B
3.7B
4.0B
4.4B
4.6B
4.9B
5.1B
5.2B
Growth
15.0%
13.6%
12.2%
10.8%
9.4%
8.1%
6.7%
5.3%
3.9%
2.5%
Cash margin
10.6%
10.6%
10.6%
10.6%
10.6%
10.6%
10.6%
10.6%
10.6%
10.6%
Free cash flow
277.0M
314.7M
353.1M
391.4M
428.3M
462.8M
493.7M
519.8M
540.0M
553.5M
Worth today
251.2M
258.9M
263.6M
265.0M
263.1M
257.9M
249.5M
238.3M
224.6M
208.8M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
119
126
133
141
151
9.7%
112
117
124
131
139
10.2%
105
110
116
122
129
10.7%
100
104
109
114
120
11.2%
95
98
102
107
112
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
11.0%
13.0%
15.0%
17.0%
19.0%
8.5%
86
92
99
106
114
9.6%
93
100
107
115
124
10.6%
100
107
116
124
134
11.7%
107
115
124
133
144
12.8%
114
123
132
143
154
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$87.50
Median$115.90
90th percentile$155.52
$100.00$150.00$200.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$99.54</b> and <b>$134.47</b>; one in ten below $87.50, one in ten above $155.52.
Does the long run make sense?
6.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 6.7 times that year's EBITDA.
21%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 12% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 21% on the new capital — it has earned 11% on average over the last five years.
53%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 13.24% × (1 − 21.8%) = <strong>10.35%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.24%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.