SEG · Consumer discretionary(services-miscellaneous amusement & recreation) · 6 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Seaport Entertainment Group Inc. reported revenue of $130.4 million in fiscal 2025. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025130.4M
Operating margin-90.6%gross margin —
Return on invested capital-23.9%-59.9% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash39.5M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-1.00B-0.75B-0.50B-0.25B00.25B
2021
2022Revenue 119.0MOperating income -66.7M
2023Revenue 114.9MOperating income -756.7M
2024
2024Revenue 110.2MOperating income -102.2M
2025Revenue 130.4MOperating income -118.2M
202120222023202420242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
Revenue
+4.3%
—
Shares
+32.1%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-800%-600%-400%-200%0%
2021
2022Operating -56.0%Net -93.5%
2023Operating -658.8%Net -729.7%
2024
2024Operating -92.7%Net -139.0%
2025Operating -90.6%Net -89.5%
202120222023202420242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
-150%-100%-50%0%
2021
2022
2023Return on invested capital -140.4%
2024
2024Return on invested capital -15.4%
2025Return on invested capital -23.9%
202120222023202420242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
-25.6%
Return on assets
-18.0%
Asset turnover
0.20×
Overheads (SG&A)
32.8% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-1.00B-0.75B-0.50B-0.25B0
2021
2022Net income -111.3M
2023Net income -838.1M
2024
2024Net income -153.2M
2025Net income -116.7M
202120222023202420242025
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$200-$150-$100-$50$0
2021
2022Earnings per share $-20.15
2023Earnings per share $-151.77
2024
2024Earnings per share $-16.82
2025Earnings per share $-9.18
202120222023202420242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
4M6M8M10M12M14M
2021
2022Diluted shares 5.5M
2023Diluted shares 5.5M
2024Diluted shares 5.5M
2024Diluted shares 9.1M
2025Diluted shares 12.7M
202120222023202420242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-100M0100M200M
2021
2022
2023Net debt 153.8M
2024
2024Net debt -64.1M
2025Net debt -39.5M
202120222023202420242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.5×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✕Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zerofailed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
The effective tax rate is -0.0%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.