SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Madison Square Garden Sports Corp.

MSGS · Consumer discretionary (services-miscellaneous amusement & recreation) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-06-30

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Madison Square Garden Sports Corp. reported revenue of $1.2 billion in fiscal 2026, after shrinking 1.5% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from -4.3% in 2017 to 2.5%, and it earned -259.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $1.1 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 69.4% went back into the business and 17.5% to acquisitions. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of -1.66 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2026 1.2B -1.5% a year over 9 years
Operating margin 2.5% gross margin —
Return on invested capital -259.7% -29.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay 39.7M 3.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA 2.9× net debt 94.0M
Piotroski F-score 7/8 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue+9.1%+22.6%-1.5%
Operating income-30.3%——
Net income-45.4%——
Earnings per share-45.5%——
Free cash flow per share-26.1%—-11.4%
Dividend per share-86.0%——
Shares+0.1%+0.1%+0.2%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital Cost of capital today · 5.3%

Economic profit

Economic profit

(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.

Return on equity
—
Return on assets
0.5%
Asset turnover
0.75×
Overheads (SG&A)
24.8% of revenue

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2026

1.1B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 69% 796.5M
  • Acquisitions 17% 200.4M
  • Dividends 15% 172.7M
  • Share buybacks 14% 159.8M
  • More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -16% -181.8M

Over the same years it paid 345.8M in stock. The share count rose 1.7%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.9×
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.50 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

7of 8 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell passed
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before passed
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow failed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

-1.66distress zone
  • Working capital ÷ assets -0.21 × 6.56-1.36
  • Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.08 × 3.26-0.28
  • Operating income ÷ assets 0.02 × 6.72+0.13
  • Equity ÷ liabilities -0.15 × 1.05-0.15

Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

-2.57below the -1.78 line
  • Receivables vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.92
  • Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
  • Soft assets 0.95+0.39
  • Sales growth 1.11+0.99
  • Slower depreciation 0.95+0.11
  • Overheads vs sales 0.97-0.17
  • Profit not in cash -0.04-0.17
  • Leverage rising 1.02-0.33

Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Capital spending (1M) is well below depreciation (3M).

Benign

Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.

Worrying

Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2026

%

revenue grew +22.7% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

interest expense ÷ debt = 8.2%, kept between the risk-free rate and +8 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 56.9%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

80% of the value comes from after year 10: this valuation rests mostly on the long run, which is exactly what is least known.
Value per share, with these assumptions $66.95 discounted at 5.3% a year · 80% of it from after year 10
$-27.9680% of 4,724 simulations$192.66
Cautious $29.99 18.5% growth · 1.5% margin · 6.3% discount · 2.0% forever
Your assumptions $66.95 22.5% growth · 1.7% margin · 5.3% discount · 2.5% forever
Generous $203.48 26.5% growth · 2.0% margin · 4.3% discount · 3.0% forever

Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.

What the value implies, in the usual multiples

At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings209.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA53.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue1.5×
Free cash flow yield2.4%

From cash flows to a value per share

10 years of cash flow, today337.1M
Everything after, today1.4B
The whole business1.7B
Minus net debt-94.0M
What belongs to shareholders1.6B

Divided among 24.3M shares: <strong>$66.95</strong> each.

The projection next to its history

Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.

ReportedProjected
Year by year
2027202820292030203120322033203420352036
Revenue1.4B1.7B2.0B2.3B2.6B2.9B3.2B3.4B3.6B3.7B
Growth22.5%20.3%18.1%15.8%13.6%11.4%9.2%6.9%4.7%2.5%
Cash margin1.7%1.7%1.7%1.7%1.7%1.7%1.7%1.7%1.7%1.7%
Free cash flow24.3M29.2M34.4M39.9M45.3M50.5M55.1M58.9M61.7M63.3M
Worth today23.0M26.3M29.5M32.4M35.0M37.0M38.4M39.0M38.8M37.7M

If the least-known inputs move

Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.

The discount rate and growth forever

discount ↓ · forever →1.5%2.0%2.5%3.0%3.5%
4.3% 70 85 108 150 243
4.8% 58 68 83 106 147
5.3% 49 57 67 81 104
5.8% 43 48 56 66 80
6.3% 38 42 47 55 64

Year-one growth and the final margin

margin ↓ · growth →18.5%20.5%22.5%24.5%26.5%
1.4% 45 49 54 59 64
1.5% 51 55 60 66 72
1.7% 56 61 67 73 79
1.9% 62 67 74 80 87
2.1% 67 73 80 87 95

All the inputs moving at once

4,724 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.

Half of the simulations land between <b>$15.99</b> and <b>$119.84</b>; one in ten below $-27.96, one in ten above $192.66.

Does the long run make sense?

  • 22.6×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 22.6 times that year's EBITDA.
  • Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
  • 80%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
The discount rate, taken apart
  1. What shareholders demand (CAPM): 5.17% risk-free + 1.00 beta × 5.0% premium = <strong>10.17%</strong>.
  2. What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 8.16% × (1 − 35.0%) = <strong>5.30%</strong>.
  3. Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>5.30%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$247,2881 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines340 awards · 23 option exercises · 11 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
16 Sep 2026 Warner BryanSVP, Head of Legal Sold on the open market 628 $393.77 $247,288 0
15 Sep 2026 Lesane Jamaal TChief Operating Officer Exercised options 1,248 — — 8,433
15 Sep 2026 Lesane Jamaal TChief Operating Officer Exercised options 1,251 — — 9,684
15 Sep 2026 Lesane Jamaal TChief Operating Officer Shares withheld for taxes 1,847 $393.27 $726,370 7,837
15 Sep 2026 Lesane Jamaal TChief Operating Officer Exercised options 2,462 — — 10,299
15 Sep 2026 Lesane Jamaal TChief Operating Officer Shares withheld for taxes 1,361 $393.27 $535,240 8,938
15 Sep 2026 Dolan Quentin FPresident & COO, NY Rangers Exercised options 28 — — 397
15 Sep 2026 Dolan Quentin FPresident & COO, NY Rangers Exercised options 50 — — 447
15 Sep 2026 Dolan Quentin FPresident & COO, NY Rangers Shares withheld for taxes 42 $393.27 $16,517 405
15 Sep 2026 Dolan Quentin FPresident & COO, NY Rangers Exercised options 80 — — 485
15 Sep 2026 Dolan Quentin FPresident & COO, NY Rangers Shares withheld for taxes 44 $393.27 $17,304 441
15 Sep 2026 Granville-Smith DavidExecutive Vice President Exercised options 6,503 — — 14,666
15 Sep 2026 Granville-Smith DavidExecutive Vice President Exercised options 1,685 — — 16,351
15 Sep 2026 Granville-Smith DavidExecutive Vice President Exercised options 1,414 — — 17,765
15 Sep 2026 Granville-Smith DavidExecutive Vice President Exercised options 1,418 — — 19,183
15 Sep 2026 Granville-Smith DavidExecutive Vice President Shares withheld for taxes 6,092 $393.27 $2.4M 13,091
15 Sep 2026 Granville-Smith DavidExecutive Vice President Exercised options 4,922 — — 18,013
15 Sep 2026 Granville-Smith DavidExecutive Vice President Shares withheld for taxes 2,645 $393.27 $1.0M 15,368
15 Sep 2026 Dolan James LawrenceExecutive Chairman / CEO Exercised options 5,179 — — 195,208
15 Sep 2026 Dolan James LawrenceExecutive Chairman / CEO Exercised options 6,488 — — 201,696
15 Sep 2026 Dolan James LawrenceExecutive Chairman / CEO Exercised options 6,508 — — 208,204
15 Sep 2026 Dolan James LawrenceExecutive Chairman / CEO Shares withheld for taxes 10,048 $393.27 $4.0M 198,156
15 Sep 2026 Dolan James LawrenceExecutive Chairman / CEO Exercised options 15,134 — — 213,290
15 Sep 2026 Dolan James LawrenceExecutive Chairman / CEO Shares withheld for taxes 8,369 $393.27 $3.3M 204,921
15 Sep 2026 Ripp ChristopherSVP, Controller and PAO Exercised options 51 — — 130
15 Sep 2026 Ripp ChristopherSVP, Controller and PAO Exercised options 50 — — 180
15 Sep 2026 Ripp ChristopherSVP, Controller and PAO Exercised options 75 — — 255
15 Sep 2026 Ripp ChristopherSVP, Controller and PAO Exercised options 64 — — 319
15 Sep 2026 Ripp ChristopherSVP, Controller and PAO Shares withheld for taxes 86 $393.27 $33,821 233
15 Sep 2026 Ripp ChristopherSVP, Controller and PAO Exercised options 149 — — 382
15 Sep 2026 Ripp ChristopherSVP, Controller and PAO Shares withheld for taxes 53 $393.27 $20,843 329
15 Sep 2026 Warner BryanSVP, Head of Legal Exercised options 291 — — 465
15 Sep 2026 Warner BryanSVP, Head of Legal Exercised options 417 — — 882
15 Sep 2026 Warner BryanSVP, Head of Legal Shares withheld for taxes 254 $393.27 $99,891 628
15 Sep 2026 Lesane Jamaal TChief Operating Officer Exercised options 843 — — 7,185

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Which large funds report holding it

From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.

FundSharesValueShare of the fundSince the quarter before
Gates Foundation Trust 30 Jun 2026 592,406 $238.1M 0.7% Unchanged
Norges Bank (Norway's sovereign fund) 30 Jun 2026 171,392 $68.9M 0.0% New
Tudor Investment 30 Jun 2026 2,861 $1.1M 0.0% New

All the funds and what they reported ›

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (services-miscellaneous amusement & recreation) first, then the rest of consumer discretionary.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Size
Revenue1.3B712.4M729.4M603.3M415.7M821.4M887.4M1.0B1.0B1.2B
Revenue growth—-46.0%+2.4%-17.3%-31.1%+97.6%+8.0%+15.7%+1.2%+11.0%
Operating income-56.3M-18.2M-58.2M-93.9M-78.4M86.1M85.2M146.0M14.8M28.9M
Net income-72.7M141.6M11.4M-182.4M-14.0M51.1M47.8M58.8M-22.4M7.8M
Margins
Gross margin——————————
Operating margin-4.3%-2.6%-8.0%-15.6%-18.9%10.5%9.6%14.2%1.4%2.5%
Net margin-5.5%19.9%1.6%-30.2%-3.4%6.2%5.4%5.7%-2.2%0.7%
Free cash flow margin13.6%3.6%-3.8%-59.5%-8.6%21.6%17.0%8.8%8.5%5.3%
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue30.9%40.8%44.9%53.0%49.7%28.0%28.2%25.5%25.6%24.8%
Cash
Free cash flow179.3M25.7M-27.6M-358.9M-35.8M177.1M151.3M90.7M88.0M61.3M
Stock-based pay41.1M47.6M59.5M57.0M30.4M24.2M25.2M21.3M17.9M21.5M
Free cash flow after stock pay138.2M-21.8M-87.1M-415.9M-66.2M152.9M126.1M69.4M70.1M39.7M
Free cash flow to the firm3.8M-132.1M-82.7M-373.3M-204.7M97.0M45.6M82.9M18.8M14.2M
Free cash flow ÷ net income-2.5×0.2×-2.4×2.0×2.6×3.5×3.2×1.5×-3.9×7.9×
Capex ÷ revenue3.4%26.9%25.9%60.1%0.1%0.1%0.1%0.1%0.3%0.1%
Returns
Return on invested capital-2.4%-2.6%-2.7%-79.4%-79.1%55.3%-353.3%209.9%201.2%-259.7%
Return on equity-3.0%5.6%0.4%———————
Return on assets-2.0%3.8%0.3%-14.8%-1.1%3.9%3.6%4.4%-1.5%0.5%
Asset turnover0.4×0.2×0.2×0.5×0.3×0.6×0.7×0.8×0.7×0.8×
Economic profit-192.6M-209.0M-209.6M-121.2M-152.5M51.5M43.9M79.2M18.7M12.7M
Per share
Earnings per share$-3.05$5.94$0.48$-7.62$-0.58$2.10$1.98$2.44$-0.93$0.32
Free cash flow per share$7.52$1.08$-1.15$-14.99$-1.48$7.26$6.25$3.76$3.65$2.53
Dividend per share————$0.00$0.00$7.06$0.03$0.03$0.02
Payout ratio—————0.0%357.6%1.2%—6.1%
Book value per share$100.96$106.37$109.64$-8.65$-8.47$-6.03$-13.94$-11.05$-11.68$-10.86
Diluted shares23.9M23.8M23.9M23.9M24.1M24.4M24.2M24.1M24.1M24.3M
Balance sheet
Net debt104.5M104.6M1.7M272.1M320.1M159.0M284.6M215.9M146.4M94.0M
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.0×1.0×0.0×-540.0×-4.4×1.7×3.2×1.4×8.1×2.9×
Interest coverage-13.4×-5.2×-11.7×-21.0×-7.4×7.3×3.7×5.3×0.7×1.4×
Current ratio1.9×1.8×1.9×0.4×0.5×0.5×0.3×0.4×0.4×0.5×
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—663365857
Altman Z''3.073.513.66-1.64-1.66-0.93-2.06-1.21-1.80-1.66
Beneish M—-2.30-3.04-4.1010.24-2.59-2.80-2.44-2.82-2.57

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.