RYAN · Financials(insurance agents, brokers & service) · 8 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Ryan Specialty Holdings, Inc. reported revenue of $3.0 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $2.5 billion its operations generated over 8 years, 114.7% went to acquisitions and 14.2% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 7 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 0.34 is in the distress zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20253.0B
Operating margin16.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital9.0%9.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay571.2M19.1% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA6.3×net debt 3.2B
Piotroski F-score5/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2018
2019Revenue 765.1MOperating income 101.0M
2020Revenue 1.0BOperating income 158.5M
2021Revenue 1.4BOperating income 186.6M
2022Revenue 1.7BOperating income 289.5M
2023Revenue 2.0BOperating income 359.1M
2024Revenue 2.5BOperating income 427.8M
2025Revenue 3.0BOperating income 493.6M
20182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
7 yrs
Revenue
+20.5%
+24.1%
—
Operating income
+19.5%
+25.5%
—
Net income
+1.3%
-1.4%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-10.0%0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2018
2019Operating 13.2%Net 8.4%Free cash flow 19.5%
2020Operating 15.6%Net 6.7%Free cash flow 12.8%
2021Operating 13.0%Net 4.6%Free cash flow -4.9%
2022Operating 16.9%Net 3.6%Free cash flow 19.1%
2023Operating 17.7%Net 3.0%Free cash flow 23.5%
2024Operating 17.4%Net 3.9%Free cash flow 21.0%
2025Operating 16.5%Net 2.1%Free cash flow 21.4%
20182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2018
2019
2020
2021Return on invested capital 7.9%
2022Return on invested capital 10.7%
2023Return on invested capital 11.6%
2024Return on invested capital 9.2%
2025Return on invested capital 9.0%
20182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
9.8%
Return on assets
0.6%
Asset turnover
0.28×
Overheads (SG&A)
15.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2018
2019Net income 64.2MFree cash flow 149.4MAfter stock-based pay 141.3M
2020Net income 68.1MFree cash flow 130.2MAfter stock-based pay 119.4M
2021Net income 65.9MFree cash flow -69.7MAfter stock-based pay -137.2M
2022Net income 61.1MFree cash flow 327.8MAfter stock-based pay 250.3M
2023Net income 61.0MFree cash flow 477.2MAfter stock-based pay 407.5M
2024Net income 94.7MFree cash flow 514.9MAfter stock-based pay 435.9M
2025Net income 63.4MFree cash flow 640.7MAfter stock-based pay 571.2M
20182019202020212022202320242025
Where 8 years of operating cash went, 2018–2025
2.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 14%359.2M
Acquisitions 115%2.9B
Dividends 6%142.6M
Share buybacks 0%0
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -35%-874.1M
Over the same years it paid 382.2M in stock.
Per share
Shares outstanding
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2018
2019
2020Net debt 689.6M
2021Net debt 450.4M
2022Net debt 989.8M
2023Net debt 1.1B
2024Net debt 2.7B
2025Net debt 3.2B
20182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
6.3×
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.98 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 60d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
–No new sharesShare count did not grow — not reportedno data
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.34distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.01 × 6.56-0.08
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.01 × 3.26+0.04
Operating income ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.72+0.31
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.07 × 1.05+0.07
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.51below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.03+0.95
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.03+0.42
Sales growth 1.22+1.09
Slower depreciation 1.03+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.06-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.26
Leverage rising 1.00-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (3M) is well below depreciation (13M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
Net debt is 6.3 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$1.7M2 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.