AON · Financials(insurance agents, brokers & service) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Aon plc reported revenue of $17.2 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 6.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 10.7% in 2017 to 25.3%, and it earned 13.9% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $22.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 25.0% went to acquisitions and 18.6% to dividends; the share count fell 16.7%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.13 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202517.2B+6.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin25.3%gross margin —
Return on invested capital13.9%20.2% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay2.8B16.2% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA3.1×net debt 14.1B
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2017Revenue 10.0BOperating income 1.1B
2018
2018Revenue 10.8BOperating income 1.5B
2019Revenue 11.0BOperating income 2.2B
2020Revenue 11.1BOperating income 2.8B
2021Revenue 12.2BOperating income 2.1B
2022Revenue 12.5BOperating income 3.7B
2023Revenue 13.4BOperating income 3.8B
2024Revenue 15.7BOperating income 3.8B
2025Revenue 17.2BOperating income 4.3B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+11.2%
+9.2%
+6.2%
Operating income
+5.8%
+9.3%
+16.9%
Net income
+12.6%
+13.4%
+12.7%
Earnings per share
+11.9%
+15.0%
+15.0%
Free cash flow per share
+1.5%
+5.5%
+24.2%
Dividend per share
+10.1%
+10.4%
+8.4%
Shares
+0.6%
-1.4%
-2.0%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2017Operating 10.7%Net 12.6%Free cash flow 5.5%
2018
2018Operating 14.3%Net 10.9%Free cash flow 13.4%
2019Operating 19.7%Net 13.9%Free cash flow 14.6%
2020Operating 25.1%Net 17.8%Free cash flow 23.9%
2021Operating 17.1%Net 10.3%Free cash flow 16.8%
2022Operating 29.4%Net 20.7%Free cash flow 24.2%
2023Operating 28.3%Net 19.2%Free cash flow 23.8%
2024Operating 24.4%Net 16.9%Free cash flow 17.9%
2025Operating 25.3%Net 21.5%Free cash flow 18.7%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 6.5%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%40.0%
2017Return on invested capital 6.4%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 13.1%
2019Return on invested capital 17.0%
2020Return on invested capital 20.3%
2021Return on invested capital 13.5%
2022Return on invested capital 30.0%
2023Return on invested capital 30.3%
2024Return on invested capital 13.0%
2025Return on invested capital 13.9%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B
2017Economic profit -7.3M
2018
2018Economic profit 689.4M
2019Economic profit 1.1B
2020Economic profit 1.5B
2021Economic profit 738.3M
2022Economic profit 2.4B
2023Economic profit 2.5B
2024Economic profit 1.5B
2025Economic profit 1.8B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
39.5%
Return on assets
7.3%
Asset turnover
0.34×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2017Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 551.0MAfter stock-based pay 232.0M
2018
2018Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2019Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2020Net income 2.0BFree cash flow 2.6BAfter stock-based pay 2.3B
2021Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 2.0BAfter stock-based pay 1.6B
2022Net income 2.6BFree cash flow 3.0BAfter stock-based pay 2.6B
2023Net income 2.6BFree cash flow 3.2BAfter stock-based pay 2.7B
2024Net income 2.7BFree cash flow 2.8BAfter stock-based pay 2.3B
2025Net income 3.7BFree cash flow 3.2BAfter stock-based pay 2.8B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
22.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 8%1.9B
Acquisitions 25%5.6B
Dividends 19%4.2B
Share buybacks 11%2.4B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 37%8.4B
Over the same years it paid 3.5B in stock. The share count fell 16.7%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00$20.00
2017Earnings per share $4.84Free cash flow per share $2.11Dividend per share $1.40
2018
2018Earnings per share $4.75Free cash flow per share $5.85Dividend per share $1.55
2019Earnings per share $6.37Free cash flow per share $6.69Dividend per share $1.70
2020Earnings per share $8.45Free cash flow per share $11.33Dividend per share $1.77
2021Earnings per share $5.55Free cash flow per share $9.04Dividend per share $1.98
2022Earnings per share $12.14Free cash flow per share $14.18Dividend per share $2.17
2023Earnings per share $12.51Free cash flow per share $15.53Dividend per share $2.39
2024Earnings per share $12.49Free cash flow per share $13.26Dividend per share $2.64
2025Earnings per share $17.02Free cash flow per share $14.82Dividend per share $2.90
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
200.0M220.0M240.0M260.0M280.0M
2017Diluted shares 260.7M
2018
2018Diluted shares 247.0M
2019Diluted shares 240.6M
2020Diluted shares 233.1M
2021Diluted shares 226.1M
2022Diluted shares 213.2M
2023Diluted shares 205.0M
2024Diluted shares 212.5M
2025Diluted shares 217.1M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2017Net debt 5.2B
2018
2018Net debt 5.6B
2019Net debt 6.5B
2020Net debt 6.8B
2021Net debt 8.8B
2022Net debt 10.1B
2023Net debt 10.4B
2024Net debt 15.9B
2025Net debt 14.1B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
3.1×
Interest coverage
5× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.11 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 89d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✕Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)failed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.13grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.05 × 6.56+0.33
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.00 × 3.26-0.02
Operating income ÷ assets 0.09 × 6.72+0.57
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.23 × 1.05+0.24
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.36below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.01+0.93
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.94+0.38
Sales growth 1.09+0.98
Slower depreciation 1.06+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash 0.00+0.02
Leverage rising 0.93-0.30
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Net debt is 3.1 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$336.49discounted at 6.5% a year · 70% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
19.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
19.2×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
5.1×
Free cash flow yield
3.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today26.0B
Everything after, today61.2B
The whole business87.1B
Minus net debt-14.1B
What belongs to shareholders73.1B
Divided among 217.1M shares: <strong>$336.49</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Reported 232.0M
2018
2018Reported 1.1B
2019Reported 1.3B
2020Reported 2.3B
2021Reported 1.6B
2022Reported 2.6B
2023Reported 2.7B
2024Reported 2.3B
2025Reported 2.8B
2026Projected 2.8B
2027Projected 3.0B
2028Projected 3.2B
2029Projected 3.5B
2030Projected 3.7B
2031Projected 3.9B
2032Projected 4.0B
2033Projected 4.2B
2034Projected 4.3B
2035Projected 4.4B
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
18.7B
20.3B
21.8B
23.3B
24.7B
26.1B
27.3B
28.3B
29.3B
30.0B
Growth
9.0%
8.3%
7.6%
6.8%
6.1%
5.4%
4.7%
3.9%
3.2%
2.5%
Cash margin
14.8%
14.8%
14.8%
14.8%
14.8%
14.8%
14.8%
14.8%
14.8%
14.8%
Free cash flow
2.8B
3.0B
3.2B
3.5B
3.7B
3.9B
4.0B
4.2B
4.3B
4.4B
Worth today
2.6B
2.7B
2.7B
2.7B
2.7B
2.7B
2.6B
2.5B
2.5B
2.4B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
5.5%
351
404
475
574
722
6.0%
303
344
396
465
562
6.5%
265
297
336
387
455
7.0%
234
260
291
329
379
7.5%
208
229
254
284
323
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
5.0%
7.0%
9.0%
11.0%
13.0%
11.9%
215
240
267
296
328
13.4%
244
272
302
334
369
14.8%
273
303
336
372
411
16.3%
302
335
371
410
452
17.8%
330
367
406
448
494
All the inputs moving at once
4,970 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.2%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$209.25
Median$336.18
90th percentile$587.69
$250.00$500.00$750.00$1,000.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$262.51</b> and <b>$443.41</b>; one in ten below $209.25, one in ten above $587.69.
Does the long run make sense?
14.5×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 14.5 times that year's EBITDA.
10%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 26% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 10% on the new capital — it has earned 20% on average over the last five years.
70%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.