WTW · Financials(insurance agents, brokers & service) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Willis Towers Watson plc reported revenue of $9.5 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 1.7% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 6.3% in 2017 to 23.5%, and it earned 13.1% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $12.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 79.9% went to buybacks and 24.5% to dividends; the share count fell 27.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 1.50 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20259.5B+1.7% a year over 9 years
Operating margin23.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital13.1%6.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay1.4B14.6% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.3×net debt 3.2B
Piotroski F-score6/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.5B5.0B7.5B10.0B
2017Revenue 8.2BOperating income 516.0M
2018
2018Revenue 8.4BOperating income 809.0M
2019Revenue 8.3BOperating income 1.1B
2020Revenue 8.6BOperating income 859.0M
2021Revenue 8.8BOperating income 2.2B
2022Revenue 8.7BOperating income 1.2B
2023Revenue 9.3BOperating income 1.4B
2024Revenue 9.7BOperating income 627.0M
2025Revenue 9.5BOperating income 2.2B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+2.9%
+2.2%
+1.7%
Operating income
+23.8%
+21.1%
+17.7%
Net income
+16.7%
+10.0%
+12.2%
Earnings per share
+21.6%
+16.2%
+16.3%
Free cash flow per share
—
—
+15.9%
Dividend per share
+3.2%
+6.3%
+6.6%
Shares
-4.0%
-5.3%
-3.5%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-20.0%0.0%20.0%40.0%60.0%
2017Operating 6.3%Net 6.9%Free cash flow 6.9%
2018
2018Operating 9.6%Net 8.3%Free cash flow 12.1%
2019Operating 12.7%Net 12.6%
2020Operating 10.0%Net 11.6%
2021Operating 24.9%Net 47.8%
2022Operating 13.5%Net 11.6%
2023Operating 14.7%Net 11.3%Free cash flow 11.9%
2024Operating 6.4%Net -1.0%Free cash flow 13.0%
2025Operating 23.5%Net 16.9%Free cash flow 16.2%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.6%
-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2017Return on invested capital 2.8%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 4.7%
2019Return on invested capital 5.4%
2020Return on invested capital 3.9%
2021Return on invested capital 9.9%
2022Return on invested capital 6.8%
2023Return on invested capital 7.7%
2024Return on invested capital -4.2%
2025Return on invested capital 13.1%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-2.0B-1.0B01.0B
2017Economic profit -703.1M
2018
2018Economic profit -416.7M
2019Economic profit -350.3M
2020Economic profit -603.1M
2021Economic profit 407.2M
2022Economic profit -123.7M
2023Economic profit 15.0M
2024Economic profit -1.6B
2025Economic profit 784.8M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
20.1%
Return on assets
5.4%
Asset turnover
0.32×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Net income 568.0MFree cash flow 562.0MAfter stock-based pay 495.0M
2018
2018Net income 695.0MFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 970.0M
2019Net income 1.0B
2020Net income 996.0M
2021Net income 4.2B
2022Net income 1.0B
2023Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 978.0M
2024Net income -98.0MFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2025Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
12.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 10%1.3B
Acquisitions 14%1.7B
Dividends 25%3.1B
Share buybacks 80%10.0B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -28%-3.5B
Over the same years it paid 880.0M in stock. The share count fell 27.2%. 9.1B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$0.00$10.00$20.00$30.00$40.00
2017Earnings per share $4.18Free cash flow per share $4.13Dividend per share $2.04
2018
2018Earnings per share $5.27Free cash flow per share $7.73Dividend per share $2.32
2019Earnings per share $8.03Dividend per share $2.53
2020Earnings per share $7.66Dividend per share $2.66
2021Earnings per share $32.73Dividend per share $2.90
2022Earnings per share $9.01Dividend per share $3.29
2023Earnings per share $9.95Free cash flow per share $10.41Dividend per share $3.32
2024Earnings per share $-0.96Free cash flow per share $12.42Dividend per share $3.47
2025Earnings per share $16.21Free cash flow per share $15.62Dividend per share $3.62
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
90.0M100.0M110.0M120.0M130.0M140.0M
2017Diluted shares 136.0M
2018
2018Diluted shares 132.0M
2019Diluted shares 130.0M
2020Diluted shares 130.0M
2021Diluted shares 129.0M
2022Diluted shares 112.0M
2023Diluted shares 106.0M
2024Diluted shares 102.0M
2025Diluted shares 99.0M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Net debt 3.5B
2018
2018Net debt 3.5B
2019Net debt 4.7B
2020Net debt 3.6B
2021Net debt 101.0M
2022Net debt 3.5B
2023Net debt 3.8B
2024Net debt 3.4B
2025Net debt 3.2B
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.3×
Interest coverage
9× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.20 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 104d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
1.50grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.10 × 6.56+0.64
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.01 × 3.26-0.03
Operating income ÷ assets 0.08 × 6.72+0.51
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.37 × 1.05+0.39
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.46below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.11+1.02
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 0.94+0.38
Sales growth 0.98+0.87
Slower depreciation 1.05+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.01-0.03
Leverage rising 1.03-0.34
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$81.81discounted at 7.6% a year · 61% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
5.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
4.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.2×
Free cash flow yield
17.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today4.4B
Everything after, today6.9B
The whole business11.3B
Minus net debt-3.2B
What belongs to shareholders8.1B
Divided among 99.0M shares: <strong>$81.81</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2017Reported 495.0M
2018
2018Reported 970.0M
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023Reported 978.0M
2024Reported 1.1B
2025Reported 1.4B
2026Projected 584.6M
2027Projected 596.6M
2028Projected 609.2M
2029Projected 622.4M
2030Projected 636.2M
2031Projected 650.7M
2032Projected 665.9M
2033Projected 681.8M
2034Projected 698.5M
2035Projected 715.9M
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
9.7B
9.9B
10.1B
10.3B
10.6B
10.8B
11.1B
11.3B
11.6B
11.9B
Growth
2.0%
2.1%
2.1%
2.2%
2.2%
2.3%
2.3%
2.4%
2.4%
2.5%
Cash margin
6.0%
6.0%
6.0%
6.0%
6.0%
6.0%
6.0%
6.0%
6.0%
6.0%
Free cash flow
584.6M
596.6M
609.2M
622.4M
636.2M
650.7M
665.9M
681.8M
698.5M
715.9M
Worth today
543.3M
515.3M
489.0M
464.3M
441.1M
419.3M
398.8M
379.5M
361.3M
344.2M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.6%
86
96
110
126
149
7.1%
75
84
94
107
124
7.6%
66
73
82
92
105
8.1%
59
65
72
80
90
8.6%
52
57
63
70
78
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-2.0%
0.0%
2.0%
4.0%
6.0%
4.8%
48
56
63
72
81
5.4%
56
64
73
82
92
6.0%
64
72
82
92
103
6.6%
71
81
91
102
114
7.2%
79
89
100
112
125
All the inputs moving at once
4,998 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$37.10
Median$81.66
90th percentile$150.28
$100.00$200.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$56.79</b> and <b>$113.60</b>; one in ten below $37.10, one in ten above $150.28.
Does the long run make sense?
4.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 4.7 times that year's EBITDA.
4%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 69% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 4% on the new capital — it has earned 7% on average over the last five years.
61%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.