ROL · Industrials(services-to dwellings & other buildings) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Rollins Inc reported revenue of $3.8 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 10.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 16.6% in 2016 to 19.3%, and it earned 27.5% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $4.2 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 47.8% went to dividends and 46.0% to acquisitions; the share count rose 47.9%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 2.48 is in the grey zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20253.8B+10.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin19.3%gross margin —
Return on invested capital27.5%27.8% on average over 2 years
Free cash flow after stock pay610.3M16.2% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.6×net debt 509.8M
Piotroski F-score5/8tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2016Revenue 1.6BOperating income 260.8M
2017Revenue 1.7BOperating income 294.8M
2018Revenue 1.8BOperating income 311.0M
2019Revenue 2.0BOperating income 317.4M
2020Revenue 2.2BOperating income 376.1M
2021Revenue 2.4BOperating income 447.6M
2022Revenue 2.7BOperating income 493.4M
2023Revenue 3.1BOperating income 583.2M
2024Revenue 3.4BOperating income 657.2M
2025Revenue 3.8BOperating income 726.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+11.7%
+11.7%
+10.2%
Operating income
+13.7%
+14.1%
+12.0%
Net income
+12.6%
+14.6%
—
Earnings per share
+13.3%
+14.9%
—
Free cash flow per share
+14.9%
+9.9%
+9.5%
Dividend per share
+16.4%
+15.7%
+8.2%
Shares
-0.6%
-0.3%
+4.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.2%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019Return on invested capital 23.9%
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024Return on invested capital 28.2%
2025Return on invested capital 27.5%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2016
2017
2018
2019Economic profit 161.8M
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024Economic profit 344.2M
2025Economic profit 382.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
38.3%
Return on assets
16.8%
Asset turnover
1.20×
Overheads (SG&A)
30.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
2019Net income 203.3MFree cash flow 292.4MAfter stock-based pay 278.3M
2020Net income 266.8MFree cash flow 412.6MAfter stock-based pay 391.7M
2021Net income 356.6MFree cash flow 374.6MAfter stock-based pay 359.7M
2022Net income 368.6MFree cash flow 435.3MAfter stock-based pay 414.1M
2023Net income 435.0MFree cash flow 495.9MAfter stock-based pay 471.3M
2024Net income 466.4MFree cash flow 580.1MAfter stock-based pay 550.1M
2025Net income 526.7MFree cash flow 650.0MAfter stock-based pay 610.3M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
4.2B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 7%281.3M
Acquisitions 46%1.9B
Dividends 48%2.0B
Share buybacks 15%628.4M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -15%-650.3M
Over the same years it paid 203.9M in stock. The share count rose 47.9%. 424.4M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$0.50$1.00$1.50
2016Free cash flow per share $0.59Dividend per share $0.33
2017Free cash flow per share $0.64Dividend per share $0.37
2018Free cash flow per share $0.55Dividend per share $0.31
2019Earnings per share $0.41Free cash flow per share $0.60Dividend per share $0.31
2020Earnings per share $0.54Free cash flow per share $0.84Dividend per share $0.33
2021Earnings per share $0.72Free cash flow per share $0.76Dividend per share $0.42
2022Earnings per share $0.75Free cash flow per share $0.88Dividend per share $0.43
2023Earnings per share $0.89Free cash flow per share $1.01Dividend per share $0.54
2024Earnings per share $0.96Free cash flow per share $1.20Dividend per share $0.62
2025Earnings per share $1.09Free cash flow per share $1.34Dividend per share $0.68
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
300.0M350.0M400.0M450.0M500.0M
2016Diluted shares 327.4M
2017Diluted shares 327.0M
2018Diluted shares 490.9M
2019Diluted shares 491.2M
2020Diluted shares 491.6M
2021Diluted shares 492.1M
2022Diluted shares 492.4M
2023Diluted shares 490.1M
2024Diluted shares 484.3M
2025Diluted shares 484.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016
2017
2018
2019Net debt 108.7M
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024Net debt 305.7M
2025Net debt 509.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.6×
Interest coverage
25× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
0.60 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 20d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
2.48grey zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets -0.10 × 6.56-0.65
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.24 × 3.26+0.77
Operating income ÷ assets 0.23 × 6.72+1.55
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.78 × 1.05+0.82
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.70below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.93+0.86
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.01+0.41
Sales growth 1.11+0.99
Slower depreciation 0.96+0.11
Overheads vs sales 1.01-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.05-0.23
Leverage rising 1.10-0.36
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (28M) is well below depreciation (125M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$29.80discounted at 8.2% a year · 61% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
27.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
17.6×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
4.0×
Free cash flow yield
4.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today5.8B
Everything after, today9.1B
The whole business14.9B
Minus net debt-509.8M
What belongs to shareholders14.4B
Divided among 484.1M shares: <strong>$29.80</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Reported 181.0M
2017Reported 198.3M
2018Reported 258.5M
2019Reported 278.3M
2020Reported 391.7M
2021Reported 359.7M
2022Reported 414.1M
2023Reported 471.3M
2024Reported 550.1M
2025Reported 610.3M
2026Projected 640.6M
2027Projected 707.8M
2028Projected 775.1M
2029Projected 840.9M
2030Projected 904.0M
2031Projected 962.8M
2032Projected 1.0B
2033Projected 1.1B
2034Projected 1.1B
2035Projected 1.1B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
4.2B
4.6B
5.1B
5.5B
5.9B
6.3B
6.6B
6.9B
7.2B
7.4B
Growth
11.5%
10.5%
9.5%
8.5%
7.5%
6.5%
5.5%
4.5%
3.5%
2.5%
Cash margin
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
15.3%
Free cash flow
640.6M
707.8M
775.1M
840.9M
904.0M
962.8M
1.0B
1.1B
1.1B
1.1B
Worth today
591.8M
604.2M
611.2M
612.7M
608.5M
598.7M
583.6M
563.4M
538.8M
510.2M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.2%
31
33
37
40
45
7.7%
28
30
33
36
40
8.2%
26
28
30
32
35
8.7%
24
25
27
29
32
9.2%
22
24
25
27
29
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
7.5%
9.5%
11.5%
13.5%
15.5%
12.2%
21
23
25
27
29
13.8%
23
25
27
30
32
15.3%
25
27
30
32
35
16.8%
27
30
32
35
38
18.3%
29
32
35
38
41
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.3%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$21.58
Median$29.81
90th percentile$43.44
$20.00$40.00$60.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$25.08</b> and <b>$36.03</b>; one in ten below $21.58, one in ten above $43.44.
Does the long run make sense?
12.1×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 12.1 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
61%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Harkins William Wayne IiPrincipal Accounting Officer
Received as an award
6,112
—
—
20,368
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.