KRC · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Kilroy Realty Corp reported revenue of $19.1 million in fiscal 2025. Of the $4.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 49.7% went to dividends and 24.0% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 6 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202519.1M
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay431.2M2259.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score5/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2016
2017Revenue 719.0M
2018Revenue 747.3M
2019Revenue 11.0M
2020Revenue 6.1M
2021Revenue 6.0M
2022Revenue 11.0M
2023Revenue 12.0M
2024Revenue 17.5M
2025Revenue 19.1M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+20.3%
+25.7%
—
Net income
+5.3%
+7.9%
—
Earnings per share
+4.8%
+6.9%
—
Free cash flow per share
-3.8%
+5.7%
—
Dividend per share
+0.9%
+1.9%
—
Shares
+0.5%
+0.9%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%5000.0%10000.0%15000.0%
2016
2017Net 22.9%Free cash flow 36.0%
2018Net 34.6%Free cash flow 32.6%
2019Net 1779.7%Free cash flow 2174.8%
2020Net 3403.3%Free cash flow 5353.6%
2021Net 10898.3%Free cash flow 6546.3%
2022Net 2365.7%Free cash flow 4553.1%
2023Net 1992.9%Free cash flow 4225.1%
2024Net 1330.1%Free cash flow 2517.1%
2025Net 1586.2%Free cash flow 2360.0%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
5.6%
Return on assets
2.8%
Asset turnover
0.00×
Overheads (SG&A)
383.2% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2016
2017Net income 164.6MFree cash flow 258.6MAfter stock-based pay 239.5M
2018Net income 258.4MFree cash flow 243.6MAfter stock-based pay 215.7M
2019Net income 195.4MFree cash flow 238.8MAfter stock-based pay 211.8M
2020Net income 207.3MFree cash flow 326.1MAfter stock-based pay 295.8M
2021Net income 658.9MFree cash flow 395.8MAfter stock-based pay 362.0M
2022Net income 259.5MFree cash flow 499.4MAfter stock-based pay 471.1M
2023Net income 238.3MFree cash flow 505.2MAfter stock-based pay 468.3M
2024Net income 233.0MFree cash flow 440.8MAfter stock-based pay 423.1M
2025Net income 302.6MFree cash flow 450.3MAfter stock-based pay 431.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
4.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 24%1.1B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 50%2.2B
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 26%1.2B
Over the same years it paid 240.0M in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$2.00$4.00$6.00
2016
2017Earnings per share $1.67Free cash flow per share $2.62Dividend per share $3.45
2018Earnings per share $2.57Free cash flow per share $2.42Dividend per share $1.79
2019Earnings per share $1.88Free cash flow per share $2.30Dividend per share $1.89
2020Earnings per share $1.82Free cash flow per share $2.87Dividend per share $1.97
2021Earnings per share $5.63Free cash flow per share $3.38Dividend per share $2.03
2022Earnings per share $2.21Free cash flow per share $4.26Dividend per share $2.11
2023Earnings per share $2.03Free cash flow per share $4.30Dividend per share $2.17
2024Earnings per share $1.97Free cash flow per share $3.73Dividend per share $2.17
2025Earnings per share $2.55Free cash flow per share $3.79Dividend per share $2.17
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
90.0M100.0M110.0M120.0M
2016
2017Diluted shares 98.7M
2018Diluted shares 100.5M
2019Diluted shares 103.8M
2020Diluted shares 113.7M
2021Diluted shares 116.9M
2022Diluted shares 117.2M
2023Diluted shares 117.5M
2024Diluted shares 118.2M
2025Diluted shares 118.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
— operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 244d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (116M) is well below depreciation (349M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.