INN · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Summit Hotel Properties, Inc. reported revenue of $729.5 million in fiscal 2025, after growing 4.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin narrowed from 27.9% in 2016 to 9.0%, and it earned 3.1% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $1.3 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 46.1% went back into the business and 10.5% to dividends; the share count rose 22.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 3 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 2025729.5M+4.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin9.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital3.1%1.6% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay64.8M8.9% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA6.3×net debt 1.4B
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
-250.0M0250.0M500.0M750.0M
2016Revenue 473.9MOperating income 132.3M
2017Revenue 515.4MOperating income 127.1M
2018Revenue 567.3MOperating income 125.2M
2019Revenue 549.3MOperating income 119.4M
2020Revenue 234.5MOperating income -109.4M
2021Revenue 361.9MOperating income -33.3M
2022Revenue 675.7MOperating income 67.8M
2023Revenue 736.1MOperating income 58.8M
2024Revenue 731.8MOperating income 103.5M
2025Revenue 729.5MOperating income 65.7M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+2.6%
+25.5%
+4.9%
Operating income
-1.0%
—
-7.5%
Free cash flow per share
-8.1%
—
-4.9%
Dividend per share
+56.3%
+15.1%
—
Shares
+0.5%
+0.5%
+2.3%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.5%
-10.0%-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%
2016Return on invested capital 7.9%
2017Return on invested capital 5.8%
2018Return on invested capital 5.8%
2019Return on invested capital 5.4%
2020Return on invested capital -5.3%
2021Return on invested capital -1.7%
2022Return on invested capital 0.7%
2023Return on invested capital 2.8%
2024Return on invested capital 3.2%
2025Return on invested capital 3.1%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-300.0M-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M
2016Economic profit 6.5M
2017Economic profit -34.9M
2018Economic profit -36.4M
2019Economic profit -46.2M
2020Economic profit -265.9M
2021Economic profit -184.6M
2022Economic profit -162.9M
2023Economic profit -109.5M
2024Economic profit -98.6M
2025Economic profit -97.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
-1.4%
Return on assets
-0.4%
Asset turnover
0.26×
Overheads (SG&A)
4.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2016Net income 107.8MFree cash flow 94.3MAfter stock-based pay 90.1M
2017Net income 99.2MFree cash flow 110.7MAfter stock-based pay 104.8M
2018Net income 90.9MFree cash flow 95.0MAfter stock-based pay 88.4M
2019Net income 82.6MFree cash flow 89.2MAfter stock-based pay 83.0M
2020Net income -143.3MFree cash flow -64.7MAfter stock-based pay -71.2M
2021Net income -65.6MFree cash flow 45.7MAfter stock-based pay 35.0M
2022Net income 1.2MFree cash flow 93.1MAfter stock-based pay 84.7M
2023Net income -28.1MFree cash flow 64.1MAfter stock-based pay 56.3M
2024Net income 38.9MFree cash flow 77.0MAfter stock-based pay 68.9M
2025Net income -11.7MFree cash flow 73.6MAfter stock-based pay 64.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
1.3B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 46%579.3M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 10%131.7M
Share buybacks 1%15.4M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 42%530.9M
Over the same years it paid 73.3M in stock. The share count rose 22.3%. The buybacks did not even cover what was handed out in stock.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.00$-1.00$0.00$1.00$2.00
2016Earnings per share $1.23Free cash flow per share $1.08
2017Earnings per share $0.99Free cash flow per share $1.11
2018Earnings per share $0.88Free cash flow per share $0.92
2019Earnings per share $0.79Free cash flow per share $0.86
2020Earnings per share $-1.38Free cash flow per share $-0.62Dividend per share $0.18
2021Earnings per share $-0.63Free cash flow per share $0.44Dividend per share $0.00
2022Earnings per share $0.01Free cash flow per share $0.89Dividend per share $0.10
2023Earnings per share $-0.27Free cash flow per share $0.61Dividend per share $0.26
2024Earnings per share $0.29Free cash flow per share $0.58Dividend per share $0.28
2025Earnings per share $-0.11Free cash flow per share $0.69Dividend per share $0.36
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
80.0M100.0M120.0M140.0M
2016Diluted shares 87.3M
2017Diluted shares 99.8M
2018Diluted shares 103.8M
2019Diluted shares 103.9M
2020Diluted shares 104.1M
2021Diluted shares 104.5M
2022Diluted shares 105.1M
2023Diluted shares 105.5M
2024Diluted shares 132.4M
2025Diluted shares 106.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0500.0M1.0B1.5B
2016Net debt 617.7M
2017Net debt 831.7M
2018Net debt 914.6M
2019Net debt 973.9M
2020Net debt 1.1B
2021Net debt 1.0B
2022Net debt 1.4B
2023Net debt 1.4B
2024Net debt 1.4B
2025Net debt 1.4B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
6.3×
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✕ProfitableReturn on assets above zerofailed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (75M) is well below depreciation (150M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
The effective tax rate is -7.8%.
Benign
A favourable geographic mix, or legitimate tax credits.
Worrying
Not sustainable; projecting it forward inflates the valuation.
Net debt is 6.3 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$48.44discounted at 7.5% a year · 69% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
—
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
30.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
9.0×
Free cash flow yield
1.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today2.1B
Everything after, today4.5B
The whole business6.5B
Minus net debt-1.4B
What belongs to shareholders5.2B
Divided among 106.8M shares: <strong>$48.44</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Reported 90.1M
2017Reported 104.8M
2018Reported 88.4M
2019Reported 83.0M
2020Reported -71.2M
2021Reported 35.0M
2022Reported 84.7M
2023Reported 56.3M
2024Reported 68.9M
2025Reported 64.8M
2026Projected 156.6M
2027Projected 191.9M
2028Projected 230.3M
2029Projected 270.6M
2030Projected 311.2M
2031Projected 350.0M
2032Projected 385.0M
2033Projected 413.9M
2034Projected 434.6M
2035Projected 445.5M
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
911.8M
1.1B
1.3B
1.6B
1.8B
2.0B
2.2B
2.4B
2.5B
2.6B
Growth
25.0%
22.5%
20.0%
17.5%
15.0%
12.5%
10.0%
7.5%
5.0%
2.5%
Cash margin
17.2%
17.2%
17.2%
17.2%
17.2%
17.2%
17.2%
17.2%
17.2%
17.2%
Free cash flow
156.6M
191.9M
230.3M
270.6M
311.2M
350.0M
385.0M
413.9M
434.6M
445.5M
Worth today
145.8M
166.2M
185.5M
202.9M
217.1M
227.3M
232.7M
232.7M
227.4M
216.9M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.5%
51
57
65
76
90
7.0%
44
50
56
64
74
7.5%
39
43
48
55
62
8.0%
35
38
42
47
53
8.5%
31
34
37
41
46
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
21.0%
23.0%
25.0%
27.0%
29.0%
13.7%
31
34
38
42
46
15.5%
35
39
43
48
52
17.2%
40
44
48
53
59
18.9%
44
49
54
59
65
20.6%
48
54
59
65
71
All the inputs moving at once
4,998 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.6%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$30.61
Median$48.38
90th percentile$80.26
$50.00$100.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$38.20</b> and <b>$62.76</b>; one in ten below $30.61, one in ten above $80.26.
Does the long run make sense?
12.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 12.0 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
69%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (real estate investment trusts) first, then the rest of real estate.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.