INDB · Financials(state commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Of the $2.0 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 33.4% went to dividends and 25.6% to buybacks; the share count rose 74.6%. On the accounting screens, it passes 3 of 6 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025—
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital19.4%13.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay230.0M
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash412.6M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score3/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
00.25B0.50B0.75B1.00B
2016Operating income 130.9M
2017Operating income 152.9M
2018Operating income 181.5M
2019Operating income 272.0M
2020Operating income 187.2M
2021Operating income 170.4M
2022Operating income 377.3M
2023Operating income 504.3M
2024Operating income 808.9M
2025Operating income 971.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Operating income
+37.0%
+39.0%
+24.9%
Net income
-8.0%
+11.1%
+11.6%
Earnings per share
-7.9%
+4.1%
+4.9%
Free cash flow per share
-15.6%
+27.0%
+5.8%
Dividend per share
+3.6%
+4.2%
+8.0%
Shares
-0.1%
+6.8%
+6.4%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0%10%20%30%
2016Return on invested capital 9.2%
2017Return on invested capital 9.4%
2018Return on invested capital 12.0%
2019Return on invested capital 10.6%
2020Return on invested capital 8.0%
2021Return on invested capital 4.2%
2022Return on invested capital 9.5%
2023Return on invested capital 12.7%
2024Return on invested capital 20.6%
2025Return on invested capital 19.4%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
5.8%
Return on assets
0.8%
Asset turnover
—
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0100M200M300M400M
2016Net income 76.6MFree cash flow 82.5MAfter stock-based pay 79.5M
2017Net income 87.2MFree cash flow 105.8MAfter stock-based pay 102.5M
2018Net income 121.6MFree cash flow 130.7MAfter stock-based pay 126.5M
2019Net income 165.2MFree cash flow 199.9MAfter stock-based pay 195.5M
2020Net income 121.2MFree cash flow 52.0MAfter stock-based pay 47.9M
2021Net income 121.0MFree cash flow 165.0MAfter stock-based pay 160.7M
2022Net income 263.8MFree cash flow 399.1MAfter stock-based pay 394.7M
2023Net income 239.5MFree cash flow 261.1MAfter stock-based pay 254.8M
2024Net income 192.1MFree cash flow 209.5MAfter stock-based pay 203.0M
2025Net income 205.1MFree cash flow 239.0MAfter stock-based pay 230.0M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
2.0B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 9%171.4M
Acquisitions 6%112.2M
Dividends 33%672.6M
Share buybacks 26%515.8M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 27%544.3M
Over the same years it paid 49.7M in stock. The share count rose 74.6%. 466.1M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.0$2.5$5.0$7.5$10.0
2016Earnings per share $2.90Free cash flow per share $3.12Dividend per share $1.12
2017Earnings per share $3.19Free cash flow per share $3.87Dividend per share $1.24
2018Earnings per share $4.40Free cash flow per share $4.73Dividend per share $1.45
2019Earnings per share $5.03Free cash flow per share $6.09Dividend per share $1.62
2020Earnings per share $3.64Free cash flow per share $1.56Dividend per share $1.83
2021Earnings per share $3.47Free cash flow per share $4.73Dividend per share $1.80
2022Earnings per share $5.69Free cash flow per share $8.60Dividend per share $2.02
2023Earnings per share $5.42Free cash flow per share $5.91Dividend per share $2.22
2024Earnings per share $4.52Free cash flow per share $4.93Dividend per share $2.26
2025Earnings per share $4.44Free cash flow per share $5.17Dividend per share $2.25
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
25M30M35M40M45M50M
2016Diluted shares 26.5M
2017Diluted shares 27.4M
2018Diluted shares 27.7M
2019Diluted shares 32.9M
2020Diluted shares 33.3M
2021Diluted shares 34.9M
2022Diluted shares 46.4M
2023Diluted shares 44.2M
2024Diluted shares 42.5M
2025Diluted shares 46.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-3B-2B-1B01B
2016Net debt 107.7M
2017Net debt 107.8M
2018Net debt 110.9M
2019Net debt 86.4M
2020Net debt -1.2B
2021Net debt -2.1B
2022Net debt -240.2M
2023Net debt -111.5M
2024Net debt -157.0M
2025Net debt -412.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.4×
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
3of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (12M) is well below depreciation (42M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$979,6573 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.