NTRS · Financials(state commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Northern Trust Corp reported revenue of $5.0 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 0.1% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 34.2% in 2016 to 94.7%. Of the $20.9 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 29.3% went to buybacks and 25.6% to dividends; the share count fell 16.1%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 6 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20255.0B+0.1% a year over 9 years
Operating margin94.7%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay5.3B106.3% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score4/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Revenue 5.0BOperating income 1.7B
2017Revenue 3.4BOperating income 2.0B
2018Revenue 3.8BOperating income 2.7B
2019Revenue 3.9BOperating income 2.8B
2020Revenue 4.0BOperating income 1.8B
2021Revenue 4.4BOperating income 2.0B
2022Revenue 4.4BOperating income 2.8B
2023Revenue 4.4BOperating income 6.8B
2024Revenue 4.7BOperating income 4.8B
2025Revenue 5.0BOperating income 4.8B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+4.2%
+4.7%
+0.1%
Operating income
+19.9%
+21.0%
+12.1%
Net income
+9.1%
+7.5%
+5.9%
Earnings per share
+12.2%
+9.3%
+8.0%
Free cash flow per share
+37.9%
+27.5%
+18.6%
Dividend per share
-5.0%
+1.9%
+8.7%
Shares
-2.7%
-1.7%
-1.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2016
2017
2018
2019
2020
2021
2022
2023
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
13.4%
Return on assets
1.0%
Asset turnover
0.03×
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B
2016Net income 1.0BFree cash flow 1.4BAfter stock-based pay 1.3B
2017Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.6BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2018Net income 1.6BFree cash flow 1.7BAfter stock-based pay 1.5B
2019Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 2.4BAfter stock-based pay 2.3B
2020Net income 1.2BFree cash flow 1.8BAfter stock-based pay 1.7B
2021Net income 1.5BFree cash flow 1.3BAfter stock-based pay 1.2B
2022Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 2.3BAfter stock-based pay 2.1B
2023Net income 1.1BFree cash flow 2.5BAfter stock-based pay 2.4B
2024Net income 2.0BFree cash flow -587.5MAfter stock-based pay -706.9M
2025Net income 1.7BFree cash flow 5.5BAfter stock-based pay 5.3B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
20.9B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 5%1.1B
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 26%5.4B
Share buybacks 29%6.1B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 40%8.3B
Over the same years it paid 1.1B in stock. The share count fell 16.1%. 5.0B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-10.00$0.00$10.00$20.00$30.00
2016Earnings per share $4.51Free cash flow per share $6.10Dividend per share $1.45
2017Earnings per share $5.22Free cash flow per share $7.09Dividend per share $1.55
2018Earnings per share $6.93Free cash flow per share $7.44Dividend per share $1.81
2019Earnings per share $6.92Free cash flow per share $11.29Dividend per share $2.46
2020Earnings per share $5.79Free cash flow per share $8.43Dividend per share $2.80
2021Earnings per share $7.40Free cash flow per share $6.03Dividend per share $2.79
2022Earnings per share $6.40Free cash flow per share $10.84Dividend per share $3.59
2023Earnings per share $5.33Free cash flow per share $12.09Dividend per share $2.99
2024Earnings per share $10.06Free cash flow per share $-2.91Dividend per share $2.98
2025Earnings per share $9.03Free cash flow per share $28.40Dividend per share $3.08
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
190.0M200.0M210.0M220.0M230.0M
2016Diluted shares 229.2M
2017Diluted shares 229.7M
2018Diluted shares 224.5M
2019Diluted shares 215.6M
2020Diluted shares 209.0M
2021Diluted shares 208.9M
2022Diluted shares 208.9M
2023Diluted shares 207.6M
2024Diluted shares 201.9M
2025Diluted shares 192.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (74M) is well below depreciation (779M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$370.69discounted at 10.2% a year · 49% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
41.0×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
12.9×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
14.2×
Free cash flow yield
7.5%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today36.1B
Everything after, today35.1B
The whole business71.3B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders71.3B
Divided among 192.2M shares: <strong>$370.69</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-2.0B02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2016Reported 1.3B
2017Reported 1.5B
2018Reported 1.5B
2019Reported 2.3B
2020Reported 1.7B
2021Reported 1.2B
2022Reported 2.1B
2023Reported 2.4B
2024Reported -706.9M
2025Reported 5.3B
2026Projected 5.1B
2027Projected 5.4B
2028Projected 5.6B
2029Projected 5.8B
2030Projected 6.0B
2031Projected 6.2B
2032Projected 6.4B
2033Projected 6.6B
2034Projected 6.8B
2035Projected 6.9B
2016201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
5.2B
5.5B
5.7B
5.9B
6.1B
6.3B
6.5B
6.7B
6.9B
7.1B
Growth
4.5%
4.3%
4.1%
3.8%
3.6%
3.4%
3.2%
2.9%
2.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
98.1%
98.1%
98.1%
98.1%
98.1%
98.1%
98.1%
98.1%
98.1%
98.1%
Free cash flow
5.1B
5.4B
5.6B
5.8B
6.0B
6.2B
6.4B
6.6B
6.8B
6.9B
Worth today
4.7B
4.4B
4.2B
3.9B
3.7B
3.5B
3.2B
3.0B
2.8B
2.6B
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
383
403
427
454
487
9.7%
359
377
397
420
447
10.2%
338
353
371
391
413
10.7%
319
332
348
365
385
11.2%
302
314
327
342
359
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
0.5%
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
78.5%
269
291
315
341
369
88.3%
292
317
343
372
402
98.1%
315
342
371
402
435
107.9%
338
367
398
432
468
117.7%
361
392
426
462
501
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 14.7%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$256.56
Median$319.11
90th percentile$407.34
$300.00$400.00$500.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$284.08</b> and <b>$361.13</b>; one in ten below $256.56, one in ten above $407.34.
Does the long run make sense?
11.9×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 11.9 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
49%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.68% × (1 − 25.8%) = <strong>4.96%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.18%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.