SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Citizens Financial Group Inc

CFG · Financials (state commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Citizens Financial Group Inc reported revenue of $1.6 billion in fiscal 2025, after shrinking 12.2% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 38.9% in 2016 to 500.4%, and it earned 17.1% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $20.5 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 33.0% went to buybacks and 29.8% to dividends; the share count fell 16.6%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 7 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 1.6B -12.2% a year over 9 years
Operating margin 500.4% gross margin —
Return on invested capital 17.1% 12.3% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow —  
Net debt ÷ EBITDA Net cash 1.4B more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score 7/7 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue+8.0%+8.6%-12.2%
Operating income+30.2%+31.6%+16.7%
Net income-4.1%+11.6%+6.4%
Earnings per share-1.1%+11.2%+8.6%
Dividend per share+2.0%+1.9%+15.8%
Shares-2.9%+0.4%-2.0%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
7.0%
Return on assets
0.8%
Asset turnover
0.01×

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025

20.5B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 4% 749.0M
  • Acquisitions 5% 1.1B
  • Dividends 30% 6.1B
  • Share buybacks 33% 6.8B
  • Kept, or used to pay down debt 28% 5.8B

Over the same years it paid 648.0M in stock. The share count fell 16.6%. 6.1B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.2×
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

7of 7 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell passed
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +8.6% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

no cash flow lines to measure it

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

interest expense ÷ debt = 51.9%, kept between the risk-free rate and +8 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 21.3%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market$1,1162 purchase(s) by 1 insider(s)
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines65 awards · 0 option exercises · 1 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
1 Sep 2026 Boss MatthewHead of Consumer Banking Shares withheld for taxes 10,778 $68.87 $742,281 73,824
13 Aug 2026 Alexander LeeDirector Received as an award 162 — — 26,289
13 Aug 2026 Lillis TerranceDirector Received as an award 246 — — 39,909
13 Aug 2026 Wade Claude E.Director Received as an award 47 — — 7,654
13 Aug 2026 Swift ChristopherDirector Received as an award 162 — — 26,289
13 Aug 2026 Zuraitis MaritaDirector Received as an award 269 — — 58,062
2 Jun 2025 Swift ChristopherDirector Bought on the open market 20 $40.06 $801 26,319
6 Feb 2024 Swift ChristopherDirector Bought on the open market 10 $31.47 $315 26,299

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Which large funds report holding it

From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.

FundSharesValueShare of the fundSince the quarter before
Norges Bank (Norway's sovereign fund) 30 Jun 2026 5.9M $415.3M 0.0% New
Bridgewater Associates 30 Jun 2026 847,858 $59.4M 0.2% Added to
Soros Fund 30 Jun 2026 287,540 $20.1M 0.3% Reduced
Tudor Investment 30 Jun 2026 57,164 $4.0M 0.0% New

All the funds and what they reported ›

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (state commercial banks) first, then the rest of financials.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue5.3B5.7B1.1B1.2B1.1B1.3B1.3B1.3B1.5B1.6B
Revenue growth—+8.6%-80.4%+4.7%-7.8%+22.7%-2.0%-2.5%+21.1%+6.7%
Operating income2.0B2.7B3.4B3.8B2.1B3.3B3.7B6.0B7.5B8.2B
Net income1.0B1.7B1.7B1.8B1.1B2.3B2.1B1.6B1.5B1.8B
Margins
Gross margin——————————
Operating margin38.9%46.6%304.6%326.5%191.6%250.3%285.1%473.4%490.6%500.4%
Net margin19.9%28.9%153.8%152.8%97.9%175.0%159.6%127.0%98.4%112.0%
Free cash flow margin25.7%28.6%137.2%134.0%——————
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue——————————
Cash
Free cash flow1.4B1.6B1.5B1.6B——————
Stock-based pay23.0M48.0M41.0M41.0M48.0M59.0M84.0M87.0M97.0M120.0M
Free cash flow after stock pay1.3B1.6B1.5B1.5B——————
Free cash flow to the firm1.8B2.5B2.9B3.6B——————
Free cash flow ÷ net income1.3×1.0×0.9×0.9×——————
Capex ÷ revenue2.6%4.4%20.7%10.8%——————
Returns
Return on invested capital3.8%6.6%7.1%8.3%5.4%8.5%7.3%12.4%16.4%17.1%
Return on equity5.3%8.1%8.3%8.1%4.7%9.9%8.8%6.6%6.2%7.0%
Return on assets0.7%1.1%1.1%1.1%0.6%1.2%0.9%0.7%0.7%0.8%
Asset turnover0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×
Economic profit——————————
Per share
Earnings per share$1.99$3.28$3.58$3.97$2.47$5.43$4.34$3.37$3.33$4.19
Free cash flow per share$2.58$3.24$3.20$3.48——————
Dividend per share$0.46$0.64$0.98$1.37$1.57$1.57$1.63$1.70$1.70$1.73
Payout ratio23.1%19.5%27.4%34.5%63.6%28.9%37.6%50.2%51.0%41.2%
Book value per share$38.57$41.30$44.67$51.26$53.07$55.48$48.12$52.19$55.05$61.31
Diluted shares523.9M503.7M480.4M451.2M428.2M427.4M477.8M476.7M453.5M436.9M
Balance sheet
Net debt13.4B11.4B13.2B10.9B-4.1B-2.2B5.3B2.3B1.8B-1.4B
Net debt ÷ EBITDA5.3×3.6×3.4×2.5×-1.6×-0.5×1.3×0.4×0.2×-0.2×
Interest coverage4.0×3.6×2.8×2.4×2.7×9.8×3.5×1.5×1.3×1.4×
Current ratio——————————
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—746463567
Altman Z''——————————
Beneish M——————————

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.