ASB · Financials(state commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Of the $5.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 19.8% went to dividends and 11.2% to acquisitions; the share count rose 11.1%. On the accounting screens, it passes 5 of 6 Piotroski tests; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 2025—
Operating margin—gross margin —
Return on invested capital20.2%13.7% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow—
Net debt ÷ EBITDANet cash405.2M more cash than debt
Piotroski F-score5/6tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2016Revenue 1.1BOperating income 371.9M
2017Revenue 1.1BOperating income 484.2M
2018Revenue 1.2BOperating income 687.9M
2019Revenue 1.2BOperating income 743.4M
2020Revenue 1.3BOperating income 476.9M
2021Revenue 1.1BOperating income 508.6M
2022Revenue 1.2BOperating income 647.6M
2023Revenue 1.1BOperating income 1.1B
2024Operating income 1.2B
2025Operating income 1.5B
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Operating income
+33.8%
+26.6%
+17.2%
Net income
+9.0%
+9.1%
+10.1%
Earnings per share
+5.4%
+7.4%
+8.8%
Dividend per share
+4.5%
+5.1%
+8.4%
Shares
+3.4%
+1.6%
+1.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%50.0%100.0%150.0%
2016Operating 35.1%Net 18.9%
2017Operating 45.1%Net 21.3%
2018Operating 55.7%Net 27.0%
2019Operating 61.1%Net 26.9%
2020Operating 37.3%Net 24.0%
2021Operating 48.1%Net 33.2%
2022Operating 52.2%Net 29.5%
2023Operating 102.0%Net 16.6%
2024
2025
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capital
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2016Return on invested capital 3.7%
2017Return on invested capital 4.7%
2018Return on invested capital 7.5%
2019Return on invested capital 7.9%
2020Return on invested capital 9.1%
2021Return on invested capital 6.5%
2022Return on invested capital 8.5%
2023Return on invested capital 16.0%
2024Return on invested capital 17.0%
2025Return on invested capital 20.2%
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
9.5%
Return on assets
1.1%
Asset turnover
—
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2016Net income 200.3M
2017Net income 229.3M
2018Net income 333.6M
2019Net income 326.8M
2020Net income 306.8M
2021Net income 351.0M
2022Net income 366.1M
2023Net income 183.0M
2024Net income 123.1M
2025Net income 474.8M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025
5.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 0%0
Acquisitions 11%643.3M
Dividends 20%1.1B
Share buybacks 0%0
Kept, or used to pay down debt 69%4.0B
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00
2016Earnings per share $1.34Dividend per share $0.45
2017Earnings per share $1.49Dividend per share $0.50
2018Earnings per share $1.97Dividend per share $0.62
2019Earnings per share $2.02Dividend per share $0.69
2020Earnings per share $2.00Dividend per share $0.73
2021Earnings per share $2.31Dividend per share $0.76
2022Earnings per share $2.43Dividend per share $0.82
2023Earnings per share $1.21Dividend per share $0.86
2024Earnings per share $0.80Dividend per share $0.91
2025Earnings per share $2.85Dividend per share $0.93
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
145.0M150.0M155.0M160.0M165.0M170.0M
2016Diluted shares 150.0M
2017Diluted shares 153.6M
2018Diluted shares 169.7M
2019Diluted shares 161.9M
2020Diluted shares 153.6M
2021Diluted shares 152.0M
2022Diluted shares 150.5M
2023Diluted shares 150.9M
2024Diluted shares 153.3M
2025Diluted shares 166.6M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-1.0B01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2016Net debt 3.2B
2017Net debt 3.1B
2018Net debt 2.8B
2019Net debt 3.1B
2020Net debt 85.7M
2021Net debt 1.2B
2022Net debt 1.4B
2023Net debt 1.1B
2024Net debt 892.2M
2025Net debt -405.2M
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
-0.3×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
5of 6 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.