SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Western Alliance Bancorporation

WAL · Financials (state commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Western Alliance Bancorporation reported revenue of $135.8 million in fiscal 2025. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 135.8M  
Operating margin 2998.5% gross margin —
Return on invested capital 25.9% 18.4% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow —  
Net debt ÷ EBITDA 0.4× net debt 1.6B
Piotroski F-score 4/7 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue+45.5%——
Operating income+31.5%+41.5%+23.1%
Net income-2.9%+13.8%+9.3%
Earnings per share-3.4%+11.9%+8.8%
Shares+0.6%+1.7%+0.4%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
12.7%
Return on assets
1.0%
Asset turnover
0.00×

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.4×
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

4of 7 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero failed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before passed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) failed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell passed
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow failed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before passed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Reported profit comfortably exceeds the cash generated (969M against -2,679M).

Benign

Growth consuming working capital, or the seasonality of the year-end.

Worrying

Profit held up by accounting entries that do not turn into money.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +37.9% a year over the last 4 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

no cash flow lines to measure it

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

interest expense ÷ debt = 54.7%, kept between the risk-free rate and +8 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 17.9%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines320 awards · 16 option exercises · 0 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
15 Sep 2026 Idnani VishalChief Financial Officer Exercised options 123 — — 11,591
15 Sep 2026 Idnani VishalChief Financial Officer Disposed to the company 123 $79.03 $9,721 11,468
15 Sep 2026 Vecchione KennethChairman, President & CEO Exercised options 539 — — 463,717
15 Sep 2026 Vecchione KennethChairman, President & CEO Disposed to the company 539 $79.03 $42,597 463,178
15 Sep 2026 Vecchione KennethChairman, President & CEO Exercised options 437 — — 463,615
15 Sep 2026 Vecchione KennethChairman, President & CEO Disposed to the company 437 $79.03 $34,536 463,178
15 Sep 2026 Vecchione KennethChairman, President & CEO Exercised options 595 — — 463,773
15 Sep 2026 Vecchione KennethChairman, President & CEO Disposed to the company 595 $79.03 $47,023 463,178
15 Sep 2026 Gibbons DaleVice Chair and CBO, Deposits Exercised options 285 — — 267,378
15 Sep 2026 Gibbons DaleVice Chair and CBO, Deposits Disposed to the company 285 $79.03 $22,524 267,093
15 Sep 2026 Gibbons DaleVice Chair and CBO, Deposits Exercised options 212 — — 267,305
15 Sep 2026 Gibbons DaleVice Chair and CBO, Deposits Disposed to the company 212 $79.03 $16,754 267,093
15 Sep 2026 Gibbons DaleVice Chair and CBO, Deposits Exercised options 229 — — 267,322
15 Sep 2026 Gibbons DaleVice Chair and CBO, Deposits Disposed to the company 229 $79.03 $18,098 267,093
15 Sep 2026 Herndon LynneChief Credit Officer Exercised options 35 — — 1,915
15 Sep 2026 Herndon LynneChief Credit Officer Disposed to the company 35 $79.03 $2,766 1,880
15 Sep 2026 Herndon LynneChief Credit Officer Exercised options 22 — — 1,902
15 Sep 2026 Herndon LynneChief Credit Officer Disposed to the company 22 $79.03 $1,739 1,880
15 Sep 2026 Herndon LynneChief Credit Officer Exercised options 27 — — 1,907
15 Sep 2026 Herndon LynneChief Credit Officer Disposed to the company 27 $79.03 $2,134 1,880
15 Sep 2026 Jarvi Jessica HCLO & Secretary Exercised options 58 — — 13,765
15 Sep 2026 Jarvi Jessica HCLO & Secretary Disposed to the company 58 $79.03 $4,584 13,707
15 Sep 2026 Jarvi Jessica HCLO & Secretary Exercised options 46 — — 13,753
15 Sep 2026 Jarvi Jessica HCLO & Secretary Disposed to the company 46 $79.03 $3,635 13,707
15 Sep 2026 Jarvi Jessica HCLO & Secretary Exercised options 64 — — 13,771
15 Sep 2026 Jarvi Jessica HCLO & Secretary Disposed to the company 64 $79.03 $5,058 13,707
15 Sep 2026 Bruckner Tim RCBO for Regional Banking Exercised options 158 — — 29,226
15 Sep 2026 Bruckner Tim RCBO for Regional Banking Disposed to the company 158 $79.03 $12,487 29,068
15 Sep 2026 Bruckner Tim RCBO for Regional Banking Exercised options 115 — — 29,183
15 Sep 2026 Bruckner Tim RCBO for Regional Banking Disposed to the company 115 $79.03 $9,088 29,068
15 Sep 2026 Bruckner Tim RCBO for Regional Banking Exercised options 142 — — 29,210
15 Sep 2026 Bruckner Tim RCBO for Regional Banking Disposed to the company 142 $79.03 $11,222 29,068

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Which large funds report holding it

From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.

FundSharesValueShare of the fundSince the quarter before
Norges Bank (Norway's sovereign fund) 30 Jun 2026 1.5M $119.9M 0.0% New
Bridgewater Associates 30 Jun 2026 401,678 $33.0M 0.1% Added to
Tudor Investment 30 Jun 2026 86,661 $7.1M 0.0% Reduced

All the funds and what they reported ›

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (state commercial banks) first, then the rest of financials.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2018201920192020202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue—————37.6M44.1M98.6M68.0M135.8M
Revenue growth——————+17.3%+123.6%-31.0%+99.7%
Operating income627.9M—788.8M—717.4M1.2B1.8B2.6B3.6B4.1B
Net income435.8M—499.2M—506.6M899.2M1.1B722.4M787.7M969.0M
Margins
Gross margin——————————
Operating margin—————3279.0%4062.6%2667.3%5309.0%2998.5%
Net margin—————2391.5%2397.5%732.7%1158.4%713.5%
Free cash flow margin——————————
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue——————————
Cash
Free cash flow——————————
Stock-based pay25.7M—26.2M—28.7M35.1M39.8M34.3M47.7M51.4M
Free cash flow after stock pay——————————
Free cash flow to the firm——————————
Free cash flow ÷ net income——————————
Capex ÷ revenue——————————
Returns
Return on invested capital17.3%—21.6%—17.0%15.3%12.3%15.3%23.4%25.9%
Return on equity16.7%—16.5%—14.8%18.1%19.7%11.9%11.7%12.7%
Return on assets1.9%—1.9%—1.4%1.6%1.6%1.0%1.0%1.0%
Asset turnover—————0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×
Economic profit——————————
Per share
Earnings per share$4.13—$4.84—$5.04$8.70$9.83$6.66$7.21$8.85
Free cash flow per share——————————
Dividend per share$0.00—$0.50—$1.01$1.24$1.54$1.58$1.62—
Payout ratio0.0%—10.3%—20.0%14.2%15.7%23.7%22.4%—
Book value per share$24.90—$29.26—$33.97$48.04$49.78$56.02$61.36$69.89
Diluted shares105.4M102.5M103.1M—100.5M103.3M107.6M108.5M109.3M109.5M
Balance sheet
Net debt-7.6M—-434.6M—-2.7B985.6M5.3B5.7B1.5B1.6B
Net debt ÷ EBITDA-0.0×—-0.5×—-3.6×0.8×2.9×2.1×0.4×0.4×
Interest coverage5.3×—4.3×—7.6×11.2×3.8×1.6×1.4×1.4×
Current ratio——————————
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—120223314
Altman Z''——————————
Beneish M——————————

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.