SphinxRisk
Create account
EN

Independent Bank Corp

IBCP · Financials (state commercial banks) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31

Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›

Independent Bank Corp reported revenue of $32.1 million in fiscal 2025. Of the $620.6 million its operations generated over 10 years, 26.1% went to dividends and 17.6% to buybacks; the share count fell 3.3%. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 6 Piotroski tests; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.

Revenue, fiscal 2025 32.1M  
Operating margin 814.7% gross margin —
Return on invested capital —  
Free cash flow after stock pay 67.5M 210.3% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA — net debt —
Piotroski F-score 4/6 tests of improvement passed

Is it growing?

Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.

RevenueOperating income
Compound growth a year
3 yrs5 yrs9 yrs
Revenue+0.5%+5.9%—
Operating income+39.0%+25.0%+23.3%
Net income+2.7%+4.1%+13.0%
Earnings per share+3.5%+5.4%+13.5%
Free cash flow per share-6.8%+6.6%+15.2%
Dividend per share+6.0%+5.5%+13.3%
Shares-0.8%-1.2%-0.4%

Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.

Does it earn more than its capital costs?

Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.

GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow

Return on invested capital

Return on invested capital Cost of capital today · 10.2%

Economic profit

Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.

Return on equity
13.6%
Return on assets
1.2%
Asset turnover
0.01×

Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?

Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.

Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay

Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2016–2025

620.6M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.

  • Reinvested in the business 9% 52.9M
  • Acquisitions 0% 0
  • Dividends 26% 162.2M
  • Share buybacks 18% 108.9M
  • Kept, or used to pay down debt 48% 296.7M

Over the same years it paid 20.3M in stock. The share count fell 3.3%. 88.6M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.

Per share

Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share

Shares outstanding

Diluted shares

How strong is the balance sheet?

Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.

Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
1× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—

Three classic screens of the accounts

Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.

Piotroski F-score

Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.

4of 6 tests passed
  • ProfitableReturn on assets above zero passed
  • Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zero passed
  • Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before failed
  • Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals) passed
  • Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reported no data
  • More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • No new sharesShare count did not grow passed
  • Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reported no data
  • Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before failed

Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.

Altman Z''-score

Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?

The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).

Beneish M-score

Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?

The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.

Where the statements disagree

Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.

Capital spending (6M) is well below depreciation (10M).

Benign

Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.

Worrying

Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.

What is it worth, under which assumptions?

A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.

Revenue
M $

revenue of fiscal 2025

%

revenue grew +5.9% a year over the last 5 years; it fades to the terminal rate by the last year

yrs

ten years for growth to fade to the terminal rate

Cash from each sale
%

free cash flow to the firm after stock-based pay ÷ revenue, last 3 fiscal years together

%

the margin in year ten; by default the business keeps today's

The long run
%

growth forever after year ten, below the risk-free rate: no company outgrows the economy forever

The discount rate
%

10-year US Treasury par yield (U.S. Treasury), 2026-09-25

not measured on this public page, which uses only public filings: 1.0 assumes it moves like the market. Sign in to measure it from prices

%

the extra return demanded for holding shares; it cannot be measured, and 4–6% is the common range

%

no interest line: the risk-free rate + 1.5 points

%

effective rate in the last fiscal year, 15.7%, kept within 0–35%

The price
$

Type the price you see at your broker. It is used only for the reverse questions: what that price implies.

Back to the defaults

SEC from the filings Treasury the 10-year yield measured from prices assumption cannot be measured yours you changed it

Value per share, with these assumptions $136.07 discounted at 10.2% a year · 50% of it from after year 10
$41.7680% of 5,000 simulations$56.99
Cautious $87.97 2.0% growth · 481.2% margin · 11.2% discount · 2.0% forever
Your assumptions $136.07 6.0% growth · 566.1% margin · 10.2% discount · 2.5% forever
Generous $220.74 10.0% growth · 651.0% margin · 9.2% discount · 3.0% forever

Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.

What the value implies, in the usual multiples

At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings40.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA10.3×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue87.2×
Free cash flow yield2.4%

From cash flows to a value per share

10 years of cash flow, today1.4B
Everything after, today1.4B
The whole business2.8B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders2.8B

Divided among 20.5M shares: <strong>$136.07</strong> each.

The projection next to its history

Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.

ReportedProjected
Year by year
2026202720282029203020312032203320342035
Revenue34.0M35.9M37.8M39.6M41.4M43.0M44.6M46.1M47.4M48.6M
Growth6.0%5.6%5.2%4.8%4.4%4.1%3.7%3.3%2.9%2.5%
Cash margin566.1%566.1%566.1%566.1%566.1%566.1%566.1%566.1%566.1%566.1%
Free cash flow192.5M203.3M213.9M224.2M234.2M243.7M252.6M260.9M268.4M275.2M
Worth today174.7M167.5M160.0M152.2M144.3M136.3M128.2M120.2M112.3M104.5M

If the least-known inputs move

Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.

The discount rate and growth forever

discount ↓ · forever →1.5%2.0%2.5%3.0%3.5%
9.2% 140 148 157 167 179
9.7% 132 138 146 154 164
10.2% 124 130 136 143 152
10.7% 117 122 128 134 141
11.2% 111 115 120 126 132

Year-one growth and the final margin

margin ↓ · growth →2.0%4.0%6.0%8.0%10.0%
452.9% 99 107 116 125 135
509.5% 107 116 126 136 147
566.1% 116 126 136 147 160
622.7% 124 135 146 159 172
679.3% 133 144 157 170 184

All the inputs moving at once

5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 84.9%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.

Half of the simulations land between <b>$44.83</b> and <b>$52.69</b>; one in ten below $41.76, one in ten above $56.99.

Does the long run make sense?

  • 8.9×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 8.9 times that year's EBITDA.
  • 14%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 18% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 14% on the new capital.
  • 50%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
The discount rate, taken apart
  1. What shareholders demand (CAPM): 5.17% risk-free + 1.00 beta × 5.0% premium = <strong>10.17%</strong>.
  2. What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.67% × (1 − 15.7%) = <strong>5.62%</strong>.
  3. Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.17%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.

What it has filed lately

The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.

What its own directors and officers did

Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.

Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$104,11211 sale(s) by 3 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
Other lines00 awards · 0 option exercises · 0 tax withholdings
DateWhoWhatSharesPriceValueHolds after
15 Sep 2026 Kessel William BPresident & CEO Sold on the open market 100 $37.10 $3,710 159,736
15 Sep 2026 Kessel William BPresident & CEO Sold on the open market 194 $37.17 $7,211 159,542
15 Sep 2026 Kessel William BPresident & CEO Sold on the open market 200 $37.18 $7,436 159,342
15 Sep 2026 Kessel William BPresident & CEO Sold on the open market 195 $37.19 $7,252 159,147
15 Sep 2026 Kessel William BPresident & CEO Sold on the open market 106 $37.25 $3,948 159,041
15 Sep 2026 Kessel William BPresident & CEO Sold on the open market 405 $37.30 $15,106 158,636
15 Sep 2026 Kessel William BPresident & CEO Sold on the open market 600 $37.36 $22,416 158,036
15 Sep 2026 Kessel William BPresident & CEO Sold on the open market 100 $37.38 $3,738 157,936
15 Sep 2026 Kessel William BPresident & CEO Sold on the open market 100 $37.41 $3,741 157,836
19 Aug 2026 Kreter KristopherFirst Vice Pres. & Controller Sold on the open market 300 $37.11 $11,133 2,207
10 Aug 2026 Twarozynski James JSenior Vice President Sold on the open market 489 $37.67 $18,420 8,195

A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.

Companies like this one

Same SEC industry (state commercial banks) first, then the rest of financials.

Every figure, year by year

10 fiscal years · 30 measures
2016201720182019202020212022202320242025
Size
Revenue——27.1M26.0M24.0M29.1M31.6M32.9M32.0M32.1M
Revenue growth———-4.3%-7.4%+21.1%+8.7%+4.0%-2.8%+0.3%
Operating income39.8M47.6M66.6M84.1M85.7M85.6M97.2M157.0M249.3M261.3M
Net income22.8M20.5M39.8M46.4M56.2M62.9M63.4M59.1M66.8M68.5M
Margins
Gross margin——————————
Operating margin——245.6%324.1%356.7%294.3%307.3%477.2%779.6%814.7%
Net margin——146.9%178.9%233.7%216.1%200.2%179.5%208.9%213.7%
Free cash flow margin——151.4%113.9%226.0%358.5%281.1%211.4%172.6%218.8%
R&D ÷ revenue——————————
SG&A ÷ revenue——————————
Cash
Free cash flow20.2M34.4M41.1M29.6M54.3M104.3M89.0M69.6M55.2M70.2M
Stock-based pay1.6M1.7M1.7M1.9M2.0M1.9M2.1M2.2M2.3M2.7M
Free cash flow after stock pay18.6M32.6M39.3M27.7M52.3M102.4M86.8M67.3M52.9M67.5M
Free cash flow to the firm29.3M28.0M56.2M68.7M74.0M76.0M84.3M129.9M202.6M223.7M
Free cash flow ÷ net income0.9×1.7×1.0×0.6×1.0×1.7×1.4×1.2×0.8×1.0×
Capex ÷ revenue——14.2%19.0%18.2%20.1%17.9%18.3%24.9%20.2%
Returns
Return on invested capital——————————
Return on equity9.1%7.7%11.8%13.3%14.4%15.8%18.2%14.6%14.7%13.6%
Return on assets0.9%0.7%1.2%1.3%1.3%1.3%1.3%1.1%1.3%1.2%
Asset turnover——0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×0.0×
Economic profit——————————
Per share
Earnings per share$1.07$0.96$1.69$2.07$2.57$2.97$3.01$2.83$3.20$3.34
Free cash flow per share$0.95$1.61$1.74$1.31$2.48$4.93$4.22$3.34$2.64$3.41
Dividend per share$0.34$0.42$0.60$0.74$0.81$0.86$0.88$0.93$0.96$1.05
Payout ratio32.0%43.8%35.3%35.6%31.4%28.9%29.3%32.7%30.0%31.5%
Book value per share$11.73$12.42$14.38$15.58$17.82$18.82$16.50$19.41$21.76$24.48
Diluted shares21.3M21.3M23.6M22.5M21.9M21.2M21.1M20.8M20.9M20.5M
Balance sheet
Net debt——————————
Net debt ÷ EBITDA——————————
Interest coverage5.8×5.2×3.8×3.2×5.3×10.3×5.0×1.9×1.5×1.5×
Current ratio——————————
Cash conversion cycle (days)——————————
Scores
Piotroski F-score—344565434
Altman Z''——————————
Beneish M——————————

Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.