HHH · Real estate(real estate investment trusts) · 6 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Howard Hughes Holdings Inc. reported revenue of $1.5 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $641.8 million its operations generated over 6 years, 75.6% went to buybacks and 33.0% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 4 of 7 Piotroski tests; 2 of the six cross-checks between its statements fire.
Revenue, fiscal 20251.5B
Operating margin22.5%gross margin —
Return on invested capital2.9%3.5% on average over 3 years
Free cash flow after stock pay397.8M27.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA7.1×net debt 3.6B
Piotroski F-score4/7tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
0500.0M1.0B1.5B2.0B
2020
2021Revenue 1.4BOperating income 241.9M
2022Revenue 1.5BOperating income 424.2M
2023Revenue 908.8MOperating income 216.2M
2024Revenue 1.8BOperating income 559.9M
2025Revenue 1.5BOperating income 331.5M
202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
Revenue
-0.3%
—
Operating income
-7.9%
—
Net income
-12.4%
—
Earnings per share
-15.4%
—
Free cash flow per share
+10.1%
—
Shares
+3.5%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 6.6%
0.0%2.0%4.0%6.0%8.0%
2020
2021
2022
2023Return on invested capital 2.0%
2024Return on invested capital 5.5%
2025Return on invested capital 2.9%
202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-400.0M-300.0M-200.0M-100.0M0
2020
2021
2022
2023Economic profit -383.4M
2024Economic profit -84.7M
2025Economic profit -332.3M
202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
3.3%
Return on assets
1.2%
Asset turnover
0.14×
Overheads (SG&A)
8.3% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-750.0M-500.0M-250.0M0250.0M500.0M
2020
2021Net income 48.9MFree cash flow -319.9MAfter stock-based pay -329.8M
2022Net income 184.5MFree cash flow 282.1MAfter stock-based pay 270.2M
2023Net income -551.8MFree cash flow -298.7MAfter stock-based pay -315.1M
2024Net income 197.7MFree cash flow 348.6MAfter stock-based pay 332.6M
2025Net income 123.9MFree cash flow 417.6MAfter stock-based pay 397.8M
202020212022202320242025
Where 6 years of operating cash went, 2020–2025
641.8M generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 33%212.0M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 76%485.0M
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -9%-55.2M
Over the same years it paid 74.0M in stock. 411.0M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-15.00$-10.00$-5.00$0.00$5.00$10.00
2020
2021Earnings per share $0.90Free cash flow per share $-5.85
2022Earnings per share $3.65Free cash flow per share $5.58
2023Earnings per share $-11.12Free cash flow per share $-6.02
2024Earnings per share $3.96Free cash flow per share $6.99
2025Earnings per share $2.21Free cash flow per share $7.45
202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
48.0M50.0M52.0M54.0M56.0M58.0M
2020
2021Diluted shares 54.6M
2022Diluted shares 50.6M
2023Diluted shares 49.6M
2024Diluted shares 49.9M
2025Diluted shares 56.0M
202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2020
2021
2022
2023Net debt 4.7B
2024Net debt 4.5B
2025Net debt 3.6B
202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
7.1×
Interest coverage
2× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
— current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
—
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
4of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕No new sharesShare count did not growfailed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
The accounts lack a line it needs (retained earnings, current assets or liabilities).
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (45M) is well below depreciation (183M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
Net debt is 7.1 times EBITDA.
Benign
A stable sector with predictable cash flows and comfortable maturities.
Worrying
Little room if earnings fall; the maturity schedule is what to check.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$113.97discounted at 6.6% a year · 67% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
51.6×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
19.5×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
6.8×
Free cash flow yield
6.2%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today3.3B
Everything after, today6.7B
The whole business10.0B
Minus net debt-3.6B
What belongs to shareholders6.4B
Divided among 56.0M shares: <strong>$113.97</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-500.0M-250.0M0250.0M500.0M750.0M
2020
2021Reported -329.8M
2022Reported 270.2M
2023Reported -315.1M
2024Reported 332.6M
2025Reported 397.8M
2026Projected 433.2M
2027Projected 438.2M
2028Projected 444.1M
2029Projected 450.7M
2030Projected 458.2M
2031Projected 466.6M
2032Projected 476.0M
2033Projected 486.3M
2034Projected 497.6M
2035Projected 510.1M
20202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
1.5B
1.5B
1.5B
1.6B
1.6B
1.6B
1.6B
1.7B
1.7B
1.8B
Growth
1.0%
1.2%
1.3%
1.5%
1.7%
1.8%
2.0%
2.2%
2.3%
2.5%
Cash margin
29.1%
29.1%
29.1%
29.1%
29.1%
29.1%
29.1%
29.1%
29.1%
29.1%
Free cash flow
433.2M
438.2M
444.1M
450.7M
458.2M
466.6M
476.0M
486.3M
497.6M
510.1M
Worth today
406.3M
385.6M
366.6M
349.0M
332.9M
318.0M
304.2M
291.6M
279.9M
269.1M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
5.6%
120
142
171
212
271
6.1%
100
117
139
167
207
6.6%
84
97
114
135
163
7.1%
71
82
95
111
132
7.6%
60
69
79
92
108
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-3.0%
-1.0%
1.0%
3.0%
5.0%
23.3%
60
71
84
97
112
26.2%
72
85
99
114
130
29.1%
85
99
114
131
148
32.0%
97
112
129
147
167
34.9%
109
126
144
164
185
All the inputs moving at once
4,977 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 4.4%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$59.31
Median$113.90
90th percentile$219.91
$100.00$200.00$300.00$400.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$81.85</b> and <b>$159.50</b>; one in ten below $59.31, one in ten above $219.91.
Does the long run make sense?
20.8×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 20.8 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
67%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market$1.7M2 purchase(s) by 2 insider(s)
Sold on the open market$907,5951 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.