GTES · Industrials(general industrial machinery & equipment) · 9 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Gates Industrial Corp Ltd. reported revenue of $3.4 billion in fiscal 2025. Of the $3.0 billion its operations generated over 9 years, 24.8% went to buybacks and 22.6% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 3.80 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20253.4B
Operating margin13.5%gross margin 39.8%
Return on invested capital6.8%6.9% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay377.7M11.0% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA2.1×net debt 1.4B
Piotroski F-score7/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2017
2018Revenue 3.3BOperating income 496.8M
2019Revenue 3.1BOperating income 346.8M
2021Revenue 2.8BOperating income 211.1M
2022Revenue 3.5BOperating income 484.1M
2022Revenue 3.6BOperating income 384.0M
2023Revenue 3.6BOperating income 460.1M
2024Revenue 3.4BOperating income 472.2M
2025Revenue 3.4BOperating income 465.3M
201720182019202120222022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
8 yrs
Revenue
-1.1%
+4.3%
—
Operating income
+6.6%
+17.1%
—
Net income
+4.4%
+25.9%
—
Earnings per share
+7.9%
+28.8%
—
Free cash flow per share
+33.4%
+12.6%
—
Shares
-3.2%
-2.3%
—
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.9%
-10.0%-5.0%0.0%5.0%10.0%
2017
2018
2019Return on invested capital -9.2%
2021Return on invested capital 2.8%
2022Return on invested capital 8.1%
2022Return on invested capital 6.5%
2023Return on invested capital 7.3%
2024Return on invested capital 5.9%
2025Return on invested capital 6.8%
201720182019202120222022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-1.0B-750.0M-500.0M-250.0M0250.0M
2017
2018
2019Economic profit -963.3M
2021Economic profit -283.8M
2022Economic profit 9.3M
2022Economic profit -80.3M
2023Economic profit -35.5M
2024Economic profit -108.9M
2025Economic profit -62.6M
201720182019202120222022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
7.5%
Return on assets
3.5%
Asset turnover
0.48×
Research & development
2.1% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
25.4% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2017
2018Net income 245.3MFree cash flow 147.4MAfter stock-based pay 141.4M
2019Net income 690.1MFree cash flow 276.8MAfter stock-based pay 261.8M
2021Net income 79.4MFree cash flow 250.8MAfter stock-based pay 231.0M
2022Net income 297.1MFree cash flow 304.7MAfter stock-based pay 280.1M
2022Net income 220.8MFree cash flow 188.2MAfter stock-based pay 143.9M
2023Net income 232.9MFree cash flow 419.8MAfter stock-based pay 392.4M
2024Net income 194.9MFree cash flow 296.5MAfter stock-based pay 267.7M
2025Net income 251.4MFree cash flow 404.9MAfter stock-based pay 377.7M
201720182019202120222022202320242025
Where 9 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
3.0B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 23%669.2M
Acquisitions 0%0
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 25%733.6M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 53%1.6B
Over the same years it paid 193.1M in stock. 540.5M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$1.00$2.00$3.00
2017
2018Earnings per share $0.84Free cash flow per share $0.51
2019Earnings per share $2.37Free cash flow per share $0.95
2021Earnings per share $0.27Free cash flow per share $0.86
2022Earnings per share $1.00Free cash flow per share $1.02
2022Earnings per share $0.77Free cash flow per share $0.65
2023Earnings per share $0.84Free cash flow per share $1.52
2024Earnings per share $0.74Free cash flow per share $1.12
2025Earnings per share $0.96Free cash flow per share $1.55
201720182019202120222022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
260.0M270.0M280.0M290.0M300.0M
2017
2018Diluted shares 291.7M
2019Diluted shares 291.6M
2021Diluted shares 292.1M
2022Diluted shares 297.3M
2022Diluted shares 287.6M
2023Diluted shares 275.6M
2024Diluted shares 264.7M
2025Diluted shares 260.5M
201720182019202120222022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2017
2018
2019Net debt 2.3B
2021Net debt 2.2B
2022Net debt 1.9B
2022Net debt 1.9B
2023Net debt 1.7B
2024Net debt 1.7B
2025Net debt 1.4B
201720182019202120222022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
2.1×
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
3.37 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 79d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✕Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforefailed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
3.80safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.24 × 6.56+1.60
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.23 × 3.26+0.75
Operating income ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.72+0.44
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.96 × 1.05+1.01
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.57below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.02+0.94
Gross margin slipping 1.00+0.53
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.01+0.90
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 0.99-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.15
Leverage rising 0.92-0.30
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (73M) is well below depreciation (214M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$33.07discounted at 7.9% a year · 60% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
34.3×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
14.8×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
2.9×
Free cash flow yield
4.4%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today4.0B
Everything after, today6.1B
The whole business10.0B
Minus net debt-1.4B
What belongs to shareholders8.6B
Divided among 260.5M shares: <strong>$33.07</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0200.0M400.0M600.0M800.0M
2017
2018Reported 141.4M
2019Reported 261.8M
2021Reported 231.0M
2022Reported 280.1M
2022Reported 143.9M
2023Reported 392.4M
2024Reported 267.7M
2025Reported 377.7M
2026Projected 510.6M
2027Projected 532.4M
2028Projected 554.0M
2029Projected 575.2M
2030Projected 596.0M
2031Projected 616.2M
2032Projected 635.7M
2033Projected 654.4M
2034Projected 672.3M
2035Projected 689.1M
2017201920222023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
3.6B
3.8B
3.9B
4.1B
4.2B
4.3B
4.5B
4.6B
4.7B
4.9B
Growth
4.5%
4.3%
4.1%
3.8%
3.6%
3.4%
3.2%
2.9%
2.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
14.2%
14.2%
14.2%
14.2%
14.2%
14.2%
14.2%
14.2%
14.2%
14.2%
Free cash flow
510.6M
532.4M
554.0M
575.2M
596.0M
616.2M
635.7M
654.4M
672.3M
689.1M
Worth today
473.0M
457.0M
440.6M
423.9M
406.9M
389.8M
372.5M
355.3M
338.2M
321.1M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.9%
34
38
42
47
54
7.4%
31
34
37
41
46
7.9%
28
30
33
36
40
8.4%
26
28
30
32
36
8.9%
24
25
27
29
32
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
0.5%
2.5%
4.5%
6.5%
8.5%
11.3%
22
24
27
30
33
12.8%
24
27
30
33
36
14.2%
27
30
33
36
40
15.6%
30
33
36
40
44
17.0%
32
36
39
43
48
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.1%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$22.73
Median$33.13
90th percentile$50.72
$20.00$40.00$60.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$27.14</b> and <b>$41.06</b>; one in ten below $22.73, one in ten above $50.72.
Does the long run make sense?
13.6×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 13.6 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
60%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 4 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$497,8803 sale(s) by 1 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans0%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.