ITW · Industrials(general industrial machinery & equipment) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Illinois Tool Works Inc reported revenue of $16.0 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 1.4% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 24.1% in 2019 to 26.3%. Of the $20.7 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 52.3% went to dividends and 45.8% to buybacks; the share count fell 10.2%. On the accounting screens, it passes 2 of 2 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 8.54 is in the safe zone; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202516.0B+1.4% a year over 9 years
Operating margin26.3%gross margin 44.1%
Return on invested capital—
Free cash flow after stock pay2.6B16.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.5×net debt 6.8B
Piotroski F-score2/2tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
05.0B10.0B15.0B20.0B
2019Revenue 14.1BOperating income 3.4B
2020Revenue 12.6BOperating income 2.9B
2021Revenue 14.5BOperating income 3.5B
2022Revenue 15.9BOperating income 3.8B
2023Revenue 16.1BOperating income 4.0B
2024
2024
2024Revenue 15.9BOperating income 4.3B
2025
2025Revenue 16.0BOperating income 4.2B
2019202020212022202320242024202420252025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
—
-0.1%
+1.4%
Operating income
—
+0.9%
+2.4%
Net income
—
+0.7%
+2.2%
Earnings per share
—
+1.5%
+3.4%
Free cash flow per share
—
-1.8%
+1.4%
Dividend per share
—
+2.8%
+4.6%
Shares
—
-0.8%
-1.2%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Needs a cost of capital, which comes from the valuation below.
Return on equity
95.0%
Return on assets
19.0%
Asset turnover
0.99×
Research & development
1.9% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
01.0B2.0B3.0B4.0B
2019Net income 2.5BFree cash flow 2.7BAfter stock-based pay 2.6B
2020Net income 2.1BFree cash flow 2.6BAfter stock-based pay 2.5B
2021Net income 2.7BFree cash flow 2.3BAfter stock-based pay 2.2B
2022Net income 3.0BFree cash flow 1.9BAfter stock-based pay 1.9B
2023Net income 3.0BFree cash flow 3.1BAfter stock-based pay 3.0B
2024
2024
2024Net income 3.5BFree cash flow 2.8BAfter stock-based pay 2.8B
2025
2025Net income 3.1BFree cash flow 2.7BAfter stock-based pay 2.6B
2019202020212022202320242024202420252025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2019–2025
20.7B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 12%2.6B
Acquisitions 6%1.2B
Dividends 52%10.8B
Share buybacks 46%9.5B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -16%-3.4B
Over the same years it paid 398.0M in stock. The share count fell 10.2%. 9.1B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$5.00$10.00$15.00
2019Earnings per share $7.74Free cash flow per share $8.20Dividend per share $4.06
2020Earnings per share $6.63Free cash flow per share $8.08Dividend per share $4.33
2021Earnings per share $8.51Free cash flow per share $7.15Dividend per share $4.62
2022Earnings per share $9.77Free cash flow per share $6.23Dividend per share $4.96
2023Earnings per share $9.74Free cash flow per share $10.16Dividend per share $5.32
2024
2024
2024Earnings per share $11.71Free cash flow per share $9.55Dividend per share $5.69
2025
2025Earnings per share $10.49Free cash flow per share $9.26Dividend per share $6.11
2019202020212022202320242024202420252025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
290.0M300.0M310.0M320.0M330.0M
2019Diluted shares 325.6M
2020Diluted shares 318.3M
2021Diluted shares 316.4M
2022Diluted shares 310.7M
2023Diluted shares 303.6M
2024
2024
2024Diluted shares 297.8M
2025
2025Diluted shares 292.3M
2019202020212022202320242024202420252025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02.0B4.0B6.0B8.0B
2019Net debt 5.8B
2020Net debt 5.6B
2021Net debt 6.0B
2022Net debt 6.0B
2023Net debt 6.6B
2024
2024
2024Net debt 6.1B
2025
2025Net debt 6.8B
2019202020212022202320242024202420252025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.5×
Interest coverage
14× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.21 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
120 days collects in 73d, stock 68d, pays in 21d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
2of 2 tests passed
–ProfitableReturn on assets above zero — not reportedno data
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
–Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
–More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–No new sharesShare count did not grow — not reportedno data
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
–Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year before — not reportedno data
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
8.54safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.56+0.44
Retained earnings ÷ assets 1.87 × 3.26+6.09
Operating income ÷ assets 0.26 × 6.72+1.75
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.25 × 1.05+0.26
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
The SEC accounts lack the lines needed for revenue, free cash flow or the share count, so there is no DCF for this company.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.