FLS · Industrials(pumps & pumping equipment) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
Flowserve Corp reported revenue of $4.7 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 2.9% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 8.5% from 2017, and it earned 7.5% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $2.6 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 36.0% went to dividends and 24.2% back into the business. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 9 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 5.33 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20254.7B+2.9% a year over 9 years
Operating margin8.5%gross margin 33.4%
Return on invested capital7.5%8.1% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay396.7M8.4% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA1.6×net debt 814.9M
Piotroski F-score7/9tests of improvement passed
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
02.0B4.0B6.0B
2017Revenue 3.7BOperating income 341.1M
2018
2018Revenue 3.8BOperating income 227.7M
2019Revenue 3.9BOperating income 386.6M
2020Revenue 3.7BOperating income 250.3M
2021Revenue 3.5BOperating income 270.8M
2022Revenue 3.6BOperating income 197.2M
2023Revenue 4.3BOperating income 333.6M
2024Revenue 4.6BOperating income 462.3M
2025Revenue 4.7BOperating income 399.9M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+9.4%
+4.9%
+2.9%
Operating income
+26.6%
+9.8%
+1.8%
Net income
+22.4%
+21.6%
+71.8%
Earnings per share
+22.5%
+21.6%
+71.9%
Free cash flow per share
—
+11.4%
+6.4%
Dividend per share
+1.7%
+1.0%
+1.1%
Shares
-0.1%
-0.0%
-0.0%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 7.4%
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%
2017Return on invested capital 0.2%
2018
2018Return on invested capital 5.1%
2019Return on invested capital 9.5%
2020Return on invested capital 5.0%
2021Return on invested capital 8.5%
2022Return on invested capital 4.6%
2023Return on invested capital 9.7%
2024Return on invested capital 10.3%
2025Return on invested capital 7.5%
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-300.0M-200.0M-100.0M0100.0M
2017Economic profit -234.6M
2018
2018Economic profit -72.5M
2019Economic profit 63.7M
2020Economic profit -82.9M
2021Economic profit 34.4M
2022Economic profit -89.0M
2023Economic profit 70.1M
2024Economic profit 99.4M
2025Economic profit 1.3M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
15.8%
Return on assets
6.1%
Asset turnover
0.83×
Research & development
1.1% of revenue
Overheads (SG&A)
22.5% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2017Net income 2.7MFree cash flow 249.5MAfter stock-based pay 226.6M
2018
2018Net income 104.5MFree cash flow 106.8MAfter stock-based pay 86.9M
2019Net income 238.8MFree cash flow 248.4MAfter stock-based pay 224.5M
2020Net income 130.4MFree cash flow 253.1MAfter stock-based pay 225.9M
2021Net income 125.9MFree cash flow 195.2MAfter stock-based pay 165.7M
2022Net income 188.7MFree cash flow -116.3MAfter stock-based pay -141.8M
2023Net income 186.7MFree cash flow 258.4MAfter stock-based pay 230.6M
2024Net income 282.8MFree cash flow 344.3MAfter stock-based pay 313.8M
2025Net income 346.2MFree cash flow 435.0MAfter stock-based pay 396.7M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
2.6B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 24%629.2M
Acquisitions 14%371.8M
Dividends 36%936.6M
Share buybacks 13%339.6M
Kept, or used to pay down debt 13%326.4M
Over the same years it paid 245.4M in stock. The share count barely moved. 94.2M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$-2.00$0.00$2.00$4.00
2017Earnings per share $0.02Free cash flow per share $1.90Dividend per share $0.76
2018
2018Earnings per share $0.80Free cash flow per share $0.81Dividend per share $0.76
2019Earnings per share $1.81Free cash flow per share $1.89Dividend per share $0.76
2020Earnings per share $1.00Free cash flow per share $1.93Dividend per share $0.79
2021Earnings per share $0.96Free cash flow per share $1.49Dividend per share $0.80
2022Earnings per share $1.44Free cash flow per share $-0.89Dividend per share $0.80
2023Earnings per share $1.42Free cash flow per share $1.96Dividend per share $0.80
2024Earnings per share $2.14Free cash flow per share $2.60Dividend per share $0.83
2025Earnings per share $2.64Free cash flow per share $3.32Dividend per share $0.84
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
130.5M131.0M131.5M132.0M132.5M
2017Diluted shares 131.4M
2018
2018Diluted shares 131.3M
2019Diluted shares 131.7M
2020Diluted shares 131.1M
2021Diluted shares 130.9M
2022Diluted shares 131.3M
2023Diluted shares 131.9M
2024Diluted shares 132.4M
2025Diluted shares 131.0M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
0250.0M500.0M750.0M1.0B
2017Net debt 871.8M
2018
2018Net debt 863.4M
2019Net debt 706.3M
2020Net debt 631.6M
2021Net debt 644.4M
2022Net debt 838.5M
2023Net debt 687.9M
2024Net debt 828.8M
2025Net debt 814.9M
2017201820182019202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
1.6×
Interest coverage
5× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.03 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
107 days collects in 79d, stock 92d, pays in 64d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 9 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✕Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellfailed
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
✓Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year beforepassed
✕Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforefailed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
5.33safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.27 × 6.56+1.77
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.75 × 3.26+2.43
Operating income ÷ assets 0.07 × 6.72+0.47
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.62 × 1.05+0.65
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.60below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 1.02+0.93
Gross margin slipping 0.94+0.50
Soft assets 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.40
Sales growth 1.04+0.93
Slower depreciation 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.05-0.18
Profit not in cash -0.03-0.13
Leverage rising 1.00-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$44.51discounted at 7.4% a year · 63% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
16.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
13.4×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.4×
Free cash flow yield
6.8%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today2.4B
Everything after, today4.2B
The whole business6.6B
Minus net debt-814.9M
What belongs to shareholders5.8B
Divided among 131.0M shares: <strong>$44.51</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-200.0M0200.0M400.0M600.0M
2017Reported 226.6M
2018
2018Reported 86.9M
2019Reported 224.5M
2020Reported 225.9M
2021Reported 165.7M
2022Reported -141.8M
2023Reported 230.6M
2024Reported 313.8M
2025Reported 396.7M
2026Projected 301.9M
2027Projected 316.1M
2028Projected 330.2M
2029Projected 343.9M
2030Projected 357.3M
2031Projected 370.2M
2032Projected 382.6M
2033Projected 394.3M
2034Projected 405.2M
2035Projected 415.3M
2017201820202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
5.0B
5.2B
5.4B
5.7B
5.9B
6.1B
6.3B
6.5B
6.7B
6.8B
Growth
5.0%
4.7%
4.4%
4.2%
3.9%
3.6%
3.3%
3.1%
2.8%
2.5%
Cash margin
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
6.1%
Free cash flow
301.9M
316.1M
330.2M
343.9M
357.3M
370.2M
382.6M
394.3M
405.2M
415.3M
Worth today
281.0M
273.9M
266.2M
258.1M
249.6M
240.7M
231.5M
222.1M
212.4M
202.7M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
6.4%
46
51
58
66
76
6.9%
41
45
50
56
64
7.4%
37
41
45
49
55
7.9%
34
37
40
44
48
8.4%
31
33
36
39
43
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
1.0%
3.0%
5.0%
7.0%
9.0%
4.9%
30
33
36
40
44
5.5%
33
37
40
44
49
6.1%
36
40
45
49
54
6.7%
40
44
49
54
59
7.3%
43
48
53
58
64
All the inputs moving at once
4,998 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$24.27
Median$44.39
90th percentile$76.04
$50.00$100.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$33.16</b> and <b>$59.20</b>; one in ten below $24.27, one in ten above $76.04.
Does the long run make sense?
12.0×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 12.0 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
63%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.