EXLS · Industrials(services-business services, nec) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2025-12-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
ExlService Holdings, Inc. reported revenue of $2.1 billion in fiscal 2025, after growing 11.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin widened from 9.5% in 2017 to 15.0%, and it earned 20.7% on its invested capital in the latest year. Of the $1.8 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 60.7% went to buybacks and 22.3% back into the business; the share count fell 7.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 7 of 8 Piotroski tests, its Altman Z'' of 7.34 is in the safe zone and its Beneish M-score is below the -1.78 line; none of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 20252.1B+11.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin15.0%gross margin —
Return on invested capital20.7%16.2% on average over 5 years
Free cash flow after stock pay218.7M10.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA0.4×net debt 152.3M
Piotroski F-score7/8tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
5-for-1 before fiscal 2021.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
01.0B2.0B3.0B
2017Revenue 762.3MOperating income 72.7M
2018Revenue 883.1MOperating income 49.8M
2019Revenue 991.3MOperating income 76.5M
2020
2020Revenue 958.4MOperating income 110.0M
2021Revenue 1.1BOperating income 155.9M
2022Revenue 1.4BOperating income 192.2M
2023Revenue 1.6BOperating income 238.8M
2024Revenue 1.8BOperating income 263.6M
2025Revenue 2.1BOperating income 313.8M
2017201820192020202020212022202320242025
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
+13.9%
+16.8%
+11.8%
Operating income
+17.8%
+23.3%
+17.6%
Net income
+20.6%
+22.9%
+19.9%
Earnings per share
+22.3%
+24.4%
+21.0%
Free cash flow per share
+36.8%
+14.5%
+17.1%
Shares
-1.3%
-1.2%
-0.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
0.0%5.0%10.0%15.0%20.0%
2017Operating 9.5%Net 6.4%Free cash flow 10.2%
2018Operating 5.6%Net 6.4%Free cash flow 5.8%
2019Operating 7.7%Net 6.8%Free cash flow 12.9%
2020
2020Operating 11.5%Net 9.3%Free cash flow 16.8%
2021Operating 13.9%Net 10.2%Free cash flow 13.1%
2022Operating 13.6%Net 10.1%Free cash flow 8.6%
2023Operating 14.6%Net 11.3%Free cash flow 9.7%
2024Operating 14.3%Net 10.8%Free cash flow 12.1%
2025Operating 15.0%Net 12.0%Free cash flow 14.3%
2017201820192020202020212022202320242025
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 8.8%
0.0%10.0%20.0%30.0%
2017Return on invested capital 6.3%
2018Return on invested capital 5.2%
2019Return on invested capital 6.9%
2020
2020Return on invested capital 9.0%
2021Return on invested capital 12.8%
2022Return on invested capital 14.3%
2023Return on invested capital 17.0%
2024Return on invested capital 16.4%
2025Return on invested capital 20.7%
2017201820192020202020212022202320242025
Economic profit
Economic profit
-50.0M050.0M100.0M150.0M
2017Economic profit -16.5M
2018Economic profit -32.6M
2019Economic profit -17.4M
2020
2020Economic profit 2.1M
2021Economic profit 37.9M
2022Economic profit 55.1M
2023Economic profit 88.9M
2024Economic profit 92.6M
2025Economic profit 143.4M
2017201820192020202020212022202320242025
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
27.5%
Return on assets
14.7%
Asset turnover
1.23×
Overheads (SG&A)
12.2% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
0100.0M200.0M300.0M
2017Net income 48.9MFree cash flow 78.0MAfter stock-based pay 55.0M
2018Net income 56.7MFree cash flow 51.6MAfter stock-based pay 27.7M
2019Net income 67.7MFree cash flow 127.9MAfter stock-based pay 101.8M
2020
2020Net income 89.5MFree cash flow 160.7MAfter stock-based pay 132.5M
2021Net income 114.8MFree cash flow 147.1MAfter stock-based pay 108.5M
2022Net income 143.0MFree cash flow 121.3MAfter stock-based pay 71.9M
2023Net income 184.6MFree cash flow 158.4MAfter stock-based pay 100.0M
2024Net income 198.3MFree cash flow 222.3MAfter stock-based pay 149.6M
2025Net income 251.0MFree cash flow 298.1MAfter stock-based pay 218.7M
2017201820192020202020212022202320242025
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2025
1.8B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 22%392.5M
Acquisitions 20%360.1M
Dividends 0%0
Share buybacks 61%1.1B
More than it generated: funded with cash or new debt -4%-61.8M
Over the same years it paid 399.8M in stock. The share count fell 7.4%. 667.3M of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
$0.00$0.50$1.00$1.50$2.00
2017Earnings per share $0.28Free cash flow per share $0.44
2018Earnings per share $0.32Free cash flow per share $0.29
2019Earnings per share $0.39Free cash flow per share $0.74
2020
2020Earnings per share $0.52Free cash flow per share $0.93
2021Earnings per share $0.67Free cash flow per share $0.86
2022Earnings per share $0.85Free cash flow per share $0.72
2023Earnings per share $1.10Free cash flow per share $0.94
2024Earnings per share $1.21Free cash flow per share $1.35
2025Earnings per share $1.54Free cash flow per share $1.83
2017201820192020202020212022202320242025
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
160.0M165.0M170.0M175.0M180.0M
2017Diluted shares 175.6M
2018Diluted shares 175.2M
2019Diluted shares 173.7M
2020
2020Diluted shares 172.8M
2021Diluted shares 171.2M
2022Diluted shares 169.2M
2023Diluted shares 168.2M
2024Diluted shares 164.3M
2025Diluted shares 162.5M
2017201820192020202020212022202320242025
How strong is the balance sheet?
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
-100.0M0100.0M200.0M
2017Net debt -26.1M
2018Net debt 188.8M
2019Net debt 115.8M
2020
2020Net debt 8.4M
2021Net debt 124.7M
2022Net debt 131.3M
2023Net debt 63.0M
2024Net debt 135.1M
2025Net debt 152.3M
2017201820192020202020212022202320242025
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
0.4×
Interest coverage
18× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
2.56 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 60d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
7of 8 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✓Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforepassed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
✓Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fellpassed
✕More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforefailed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
7.34safe zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.30 × 6.56+1.95
Retained earnings ÷ assets 0.90 × 3.26+2.94
Operating income ÷ assets 0.18 × 6.72+1.24
Equity ÷ liabilities 1.16 × 1.05+1.21
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
-2.64below the -1.78 line
-1.78
Receivables vs sales 0.99+0.91
Gross margin slipping 1.00 (not reported, set to 1)+0.53
Soft assets 1.00+0.41
Sales growth 1.14+1.01
Slower depreciation 1.01+0.12
Overheads vs sales 1.00-0.17
Profit not in cash -0.06-0.27
Leverage rising 1.02-0.33
Where it misleads: fast growth and acquisitions. Sales growth carries a heavy weight, so a company growing 50% a year scores like a suspect without having done anything. It is a screen from a 1999 study, not an accusation.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
None of the six cross-checks fires for the latest year: receivables and inventory move with revenue, profit turns into cash, investment keeps up with depreciation, the tax rate is ordinary and debt is moderate.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$22.83discounted at 8.8% a year · 60% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
14.8×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
10.4×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.8×
Free cash flow yield
5.9%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today1.6B
Everything after, today2.3B
The whole business3.9B
Minus net debt-152.3M
What belongs to shareholders3.7B
Divided among 162.5M shares: <strong>$22.83</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
0100.0M200.0M300.0M400.0M
2017Reported 55.0M
2018Reported 27.7M
2019Reported 101.8M
2020
2020Reported 132.5M
2021Reported 108.5M
2022Reported 71.9M
2023Reported 100.0M
2024Reported 149.6M
2025Reported 218.7M
2026Projected 154.3M
2027Projected 178.1M
2028Projected 202.6M
2029Projected 227.2M
2030Projected 251.2M
2031Projected 273.7M
2032Projected 293.8M
2033Projected 310.6M
2034Projected 323.4M
2035Projected 331.4M
2017201920202022202420262028203020322034
Year by year
2026
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
Revenue
2.4B
2.8B
3.2B
3.6B
4.0B
4.3B
4.7B
4.9B
5.1B
5.2B
Growth
17.0%
15.4%
13.8%
12.2%
10.6%
8.9%
7.3%
5.7%
4.1%
2.5%
Cash margin
6.3%
6.3%
6.3%
6.3%
6.3%
6.3%
6.3%
6.3%
6.3%
6.3%
Free cash flow
154.3M
178.1M
202.6M
227.2M
251.2M
273.7M
293.8M
310.6M
323.4M
331.4M
Worth today
141.8M
150.4M
157.2M
162.0M
164.6M
164.8M
162.5M
157.9M
151.1M
142.3M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
7.8%
24
25
28
30
33
8.3%
22
23
25
27
30
8.8%
20
21
23
25
27
9.3%
19
20
21
22
24
9.8%
17
18
19
21
22
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
13.0%
15.0%
17.0%
19.0%
21.0%
5.1%
16
17
19
21
22
5.7%
18
19
21
23
25
6.3%
19
21
23
25
27
7.0%
21
23
25
27
29
7.6%
23
25
27
29
31
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$13.98
Median$22.78
90th percentile$35.37
$20.00$40.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$17.91</b> and <b>$28.75</b>; one in ten below $13.98, one in ten above $35.37.
Does the long run make sense?
5.7×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 5.7 times that year's EBITDA.
5%To grow 2.5% forever while reinvesting 47% of its after-tax operating profit, the business must earn 5% on the new capital — it has earned 16% on average over the last five years.
60%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 5 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market$942,0903 sale(s) by 2 insider(s)
Under pre-arranged plans67%of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Which large funds report holding it
From the Form 13F of the 28 institutions followed on this site, as of the end of their last reported quarter. A 13F is filed up to 45 days later and shows only long positions in US-listed shares.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.