DXC · Technology(services-computer processing & data preparation) · 10 years of annual accounts filed with the SEC · latest fiscal year ended 2026-03-31
Signed in, this page also says what this company is inside your own portfolio: its weight, its share of your risk, and what buying or selling some of it would change. Sign in ›
DXC Technology Co reported revenue of $12.6 billion in fiscal 2026, after growing 5.8% a year over the previous 9 years. Its operating margin held steady at about 7.7% from 2017. Of the $14.4 billion its operations generated over 10 years, 22.2% went to acquisitions and 17.7% back into the business; the share count fell 36.4%. On the accounting screens, it passes 6 of 7 Piotroski tests and its Altman Z'' of 0.81 is in the distress zone; 1 of the six cross-checks between its statements fires.
Revenue, fiscal 202612.6B+5.8% a year over 9 years
Operating margin7.7%gross margin —
Return on invested capital—13.0% on average over 4 years
Free cash flow after stock pay950.0M7.5% of revenue
Net debt ÷ EBITDA—net debt —
Piotroski F-score6/7tests of improvement passed
Share counts are in today's shares. The SEC's filings restate only recent years after a split, so these jumps were read as splits and the older years scaled to match — otherwise per-share figures would compare different units:
2-for-1 before fiscal 2018.
Is it growing?
Revenue and the operating income it turns into. Growth that does not reach operating income is growth bought with margin.
RevenueOperating income
010B20B30B
2017Revenue 7.6BOperating income 618.0M
2018Revenue 21.7BOperating income 3.0B
2019Revenue 20.8BOperating income 3.3B
2020Revenue 19.6BOperating income 2.1B
2021Revenue 17.7BOperating income 1.1B
2022Revenue 16.3BOperating income 1.4B
2023Revenue 14.4BOperating income 1.1B
2024Revenue 13.7BOperating income 1.0B
2025Revenue 12.9BOperating income 1.0B
2026Revenue 12.6BOperating income 970.0M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Compound growth a year
3 yrs
5 yrs
9 yrs
Revenue
-4.3%
-6.5%
+5.8%
Operating income
-5.1%
-2.5%
+5.1%
Free cash flow per share
+5.0%
—
+17.8%
Shares
-7.9%
-6.8%
-4.9%
Falling shares are buybacks: each remaining share owns more of the company.
Does it earn more than its capital costs?
Margins say how much of each sale is kept; return on invested capital says how much the business earns on the money it needs to operate. Growth only creates value when that return is above the cost of the capital.
GrossOperatingNetFree cash flow
-40%-20%0%20%
2017Operating 8.1%Net -1.6%Free cash flow 4.9%
2018Operating 13.8%Net 8.1%Free cash flow 10.8%
2019Operating 15.8%Net 6.1%Free cash flow 7.2%
2020Operating 10.5%Net -27.4%Free cash flow 10.2%
2021Operating 6.2%Net -0.8%Free cash flow -0.8%
2022Operating 8.5%Net 4.4%Free cash flow 7.7%
2023Operating 7.9%Net -3.9%Free cash flow 8.0%
2024Operating 7.4%Net 0.7%Free cash flow 8.6%
2025Operating 7.9%Net 3.0%Free cash flow 8.9%
2026Operating 7.7%Net 0.1%Free cash flow 8.2%
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Return on invested capital
Return on invested capitalCost of capital today · 10.2%
-10%0%10%20%30%
2017Return on invested capital 21.1%
2018Return on invested capital 12.2%
2019Return on invested capital 15.0%
2020Return on invested capital 15.4%
2021Return on invested capital -2.5%
2022Return on invested capital 9.5%
2023Return on invested capital 20.4%
2024Return on invested capital 11.8%
2025Return on invested capital 10.3%
2026
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Economic profit
Economic profit
-2B-1B01B
2017Economic profit 454.0M
2018Economic profit 384.4M
2019Economic profit 841.4M
2020Economic profit 704.6M
2021Economic profit -1.3B
2022Economic profit -72.1M
2023Economic profit 770.0M
2024Economic profit 107.8M
2025Economic profit 3.1M
2026
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
(return on capital − cost of capital) × capital invested: the profit left after paying for the money used. Today's cost of capital is applied to every year, since a past one cannot be rebuilt honestly.
Return on equity
0.6%
Return on assets
0.1%
Asset turnover
0.98×
Overheads (SG&A)
11.1% of revenue
Is the profit cash, and where does the cash go?
Net income is an accounting opinion; free cash flow is what was left in the bank after investing. Stock-based pay does not leave the bank — shareholders pay it through dilution — so it is shown taken off as well.
Net incomeFree cash flowAfter stock-based pay
-6B-4B-2B02B4B
2017Net income -123.0MFree cash flow 373.0MAfter stock-based pay 298.0M
2018Net income 1.8BFree cash flow 2.3BAfter stock-based pay 2.2B
2019Net income 1.3BFree cash flow 1.5BAfter stock-based pay 1.4B
2020Net income -5.4BFree cash flow 2.0BAfter stock-based pay 1.9B
2021Net income -149.0MFree cash flow -137.0MAfter stock-based pay -193.0M
2022Net income 718.0MFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2023Net income -568.0MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.0B
2024Net income 91.0MFree cash flow 1.2BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2025Net income 389.0MFree cash flow 1.1BAfter stock-based pay 1.1B
2026Net income 18.0MFree cash flow 1.0BAfter stock-based pay 950.0M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Where 10 years of operating cash went, 2017–2026
14.4B generated by the business. Each band is its share of that total.
Reinvested in the business 18%2.5B
Acquisitions 22%3.2B
Dividends 5%729.0M
Share buybacks 17%2.5B
Kept, or used to pay down debt 38%5.5B
Over the same years it paid 849.0M in stock. The share count fell 36.4%. 1.6B of the buybacks went beyond offsetting that dilution.
Per share
Earnings per shareFree cash flow per shareDividend per share
-$30-$20-$10$0$10
2017Earnings per share $-0.44Free cash flow per share $1.33Dividend per share $0.28
2018Earnings per share $6.04Free cash flow per share $8.09Dividend per share $0.60
2019Earnings per share $4.47Free cash flow per share $5.28Dividend per share $0.75
2020Earnings per share $-20.76Free cash flow per share $7.73Dividend per share $0.83
2021Earnings per share $-0.59Free cash flow per share $-0.54Dividend per share $0.21
2022Earnings per share $2.81Free cash flow per share $4.89Dividend per share $0.00
2023Earnings per share $-2.48Free cash flow per share $5.01Dividend per share $0.00
2024Earnings per share $0.46Free cash flow per share $5.93
2025Earnings per share $2.10Free cash flow per share $6.22
2026Earnings per share $0.10Free cash flow per share $5.80
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Shares outstanding
Diluted shares
150M200M250M300M
2017Diluted shares 280.8M
2018Diluted shares 289.8M
2019Diluted shares 281.4M
2020Diluted shares 258.6M
2021Diluted shares 254.1M
2022Diluted shares 255.2M
2023Diluted shares 229.0M
2024Diluted shares 198.8M
2025Diluted shares 184.9M
2026Diluted shares 178.7M
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Debt and liquidity
Debt is not bad in itself; debt the business cannot service in a bad year is. Net debt is debt minus cash, and below zero the company holds more cash than it owes.
Net debt
02B4B6B
2017Net debt 1.0B
2018Net debt 3.9B
2019Net debt 3.3B
2020Net debt 5.3B
2021Net debt 1.9B
2022Net debt 1.6B
2023Net debt 2.2B
2024Net debt 2.7B
2025Net debt 1.2B
2026
2017201820192020202120222023202420252026
Net debt ÷ EBITDA
—
Interest coverage
4× operating income ÷ interest
Current ratio
1.36 current assets ÷ current liabilities
Cash conversion cycle
— collects in 86d
Three classic screens of the accounts
Each asks a different question of the same statements — is it improving, does it look like a company heading for distress, do the accounts resemble ones that were manipulated. None is a verdict; each shows what moves it.
Piotroski F-score
Is the business improving? Nine yes-or-no tests, this year against last.
6of 7 tests passed
✓ProfitableReturn on assets above zeropassed
✓Cash from operationsOperating cash flow above zeropassed
✕Profitability improvedReturn on assets higher than a year beforefailed
✓Profit backed by cashOperating cash flow above net income (low accruals)passed
–Less long-term debtLong-term debt as a share of assets fell — not reportedno data
✓More liquidCurrent ratio higher than a year beforepassed
✓No new sharesShare count did not growpassed
–Better gross marginGross margin higher than a year before — not reportedno data
✓Sells more per assetAsset turnover higher than a year beforepassed
Where it misleads: it measures change, not level. An excellent business that stood still for a year scores low; a poor one recovering from a disaster scores high.
Altman Z''-score
Does the balance sheet look like those of companies that went bankrupt?
0.81distress zone
1.12.6
Working capital ÷ assets 0.11 × 6.56+0.72
Retained earnings ÷ assets -0.23 × 3.26-0.74
Operating income ÷ assets 0.08 × 6.72+0.51
Equity ÷ liabilities 0.30 × 1.05+0.32
Where it misleads: buybacks. A company that returns so much cash that its equity turns small or negative sinks the last two ratios without being anywhere near bankruptcy. Banks and insurers do not fit the model at all.
Beneish M-score
Do the accounts resemble those of companies that manipulated their earnings?
The accounts lack too many of the lines it needs.
Where the statements disagree
Cross-checks between the income statement, the balance sheet and the cash flow for the latest year, each with the benign reading and the worrying one.
Capital spending (212M) is well below depreciation (1,182M).
Benign
Mature assets, or a business that has become less capital-intensive.
Worrying
Under-investing: today's profit is being held up by consuming tomorrow's capacity.
What is it worth, under which assumptions?
A company is worth the cash it will generate, brought back to today. This model projects revenue with growth that fades over the years, applies a free cash flow margin, and discounts the result at the cost of capital. Every assumption says where it came from, and all of them can be changed.
Value per share, with these assumptions$83.97discounted at 10.2% a year · 45% of it from after year 10
Type a share price on the left to ask the reverse questions: what growth, what margin or what discount rate that price implies.
What the value implies, in the usual multiples
At this model's value
Price ÷ earnings
833.4×
Enterprise value ÷ EBITDA
7.0×
Enterprise value ÷ revenue
1.2×
Free cash flow yield
6.3%
From cash flows to a value per share
10 years of cash flow, today8.2B
Everything after, today6.8B
The whole business15.0B
Minus net debt-0
What belongs to shareholders15.0B
Divided among 178.7M shares: <strong>$83.97</strong> each.
The projection next to its history
Reported free cash flow after stock pay, then the model's. A projection that looks nothing like the past needs a reason.
ReportedProjected
-1B01B2B3B
2017Reported 298.0M
2018Reported 2.2B
2019Reported 1.4B
2020Reported 1.9B
2021Reported -193.0M
2022Reported 1.1B
2023Reported 1.0B
2024Reported 1.1B
2025Reported 1.1B
2026Reported 950.0M
2027Projected 1.5B
2028Projected 1.4B
2029Projected 1.4B
2030Projected 1.3B
2031Projected 1.3B
2032Projected 1.3B
2033Projected 1.3B
2034Projected 1.3B
2035Projected 1.3B
2036Projected 1.4B
2017201920212023202520272029203120332035
Year by year
2027
2028
2029
2030
2031
2032
2033
2034
2035
2036
Revenue
12.0B
11.5B
11.1B
10.8B
10.7B
10.6B
10.6B
10.7B
10.8B
11.1B
Growth
-5.0%
-4.2%
-3.3%
-2.5%
-1.7%
-0.8%
0.0%
0.8%
1.7%
2.5%
Cash margin
12.2%
12.2%
12.2%
12.2%
12.2%
12.2%
12.2%
12.2%
12.2%
12.2%
Free cash flow
1.5B
1.4B
1.4B
1.3B
1.3B
1.3B
1.3B
1.3B
1.3B
1.4B
Worth today
1.3B
1.2B
1.0B
896.4M
799.5M
719.2M
652.4M
596.8M
550.3M
511.7M
If the least-known inputs move
Value per share as two inputs change at a time. Neighbouring cells that differ a lot are the conclusion: the value depends on numbers nobody knows to a point.
The discount rate and growth forever
discount ↓ · forever →
1.5%
2.0%
2.5%
3.0%
3.5%
9.2%
86
91
96
101
108
9.7%
81
85
89
94
100
10.2%
77
80
84
88
93
10.7%
73
76
79
83
87
11.2%
70
72
75
78
82
Year-one growth and the final margin
margin ↓ · growth →
-9.0%
-7.0%
-5.0%
-3.0%
-1.0%
9.8%
61
66
72
78
85
11.0%
66
72
78
85
92
12.2%
71
77
84
91
99
13.4%
76
83
90
98
106
14.6%
81
88
96
104
113
All the inputs moving at once
5,000 valuations, each with growth, final margin, discount rate and growth forever drawn at random around the values on the left (spreads of 3.0%, 2.0%, 1.0% and 0.5%). Not a probability — the spreads are assumptions too — but an honest picture of how wide the answer is.
10th percentile$64.51
Median$84.24
90th percentile$112.38
$75.00$100.00$125.00
Half of the simulations land between <b>$72.99</b> and <b>$97.06</b>; one in ten below $64.51, one in ten above $112.38.
Does the long run make sense?
9.5×The terminal value prices the business in year 10 at 9.5 times that year's EBITDA.
Free growthIn year 10 free cash flow is at or above after-tax operating profit, yet the model grows 2.5% forever. Growth needs reinvestment; this assumes it comes for free, which flatters the terminal value.
45%of the value comes from after year 10. The more of it, the more the answer depends on the part nobody can see.
What lenders charge, after the tax saving on interest: 6.74% × (1 − 35.0%) = <strong>4.38%</strong>.
Weighted by how much of each the company uses (book value (no price given)): <strong>10.24%</strong>, the rate every future cash flow is discounted at.
What it has filed lately
The last twelve months at the SEC, most important first: annual and quarterly reports, events, large holders and insiders.
Every Form 4 filed in the last twelve months, read line by line: 6 filings by 6 people. Open-market purchases and sales are counted apart from awards, option exercises and shares withheld for taxes.
Bought on the open market—none in the period
Sold on the open market—none in the period
Under pre-arranged plans—of the sales followed a 10b5-1 plan set months earlier
A Form 4 says what happened, when, how many shares and at what price. It does not say why: a sale can be diversification, a tax bill or a plan fixed months earlier, and an award is pay, not a purchase. Nothing here is a reason to buy or sell anything.
Companies like this one
Same SEC industry (services-computer processing & data preparation) first, then the rest of technology.
Accounts from the company's own SEC filings; lines some companies do not report are shown as a dash rather than estimated. The risk-free rate is the 10-year US Treasury yield. A DCF is a way of making assumptions explicit, not a forecast: it states what the company would be worth if the assumptions held. The scores are screens that point where to look, not verdicts. Nothing here is a recommendation to buy or sell.